We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly beautiful hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Amazing art nouveau hotel, beautifully decorated, almost worth staying just for the decor! I only stayed one night ...our room was small but well appointed, a spacious shower, comfortable bed and helpful staff. We didn't eat breakfast or use the facilities but I was impressed by what I saw. A great location, not far to walk from the station.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopsMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed all the historical characters of the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam and introduce you to the rest of our facilities.

Warm regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,088
    1,045
    372
    179
    96
See reviews for
422
2,117
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights sightseeing museums etc.The room was fine, but its breakfast is completely non 5 star, terrible. Only streaky bacon cooked to a crisp and only cocktail sized sausages completely undercooked! I made the mistake of asking for a tea bag as they had none available! and 5 minutes later had to ask again, where I was treated like a problem and not a customer! Excuse me for expecting available tea bags in a 5 star hotel and a properly cooked breakfast. A bad joke I think so would look for an alternative hotel to stay in especially if you dont want a poor quality breakfast. I had to endure 5 of these and was very disappointed every morning be warned. Location ideal however.

Room Tip: dont buy breakfast its rubbish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations, especially regarding our breakfast buffet. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter and try to prevent this in the future. Once more I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and want to offer you our sincere apologies.

Best regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Before arrival we read the terrible, poor and average reviews and as a consequence we weren't expecting much from this establishment. At arrival we were greeted by friendly personnel directing us towards the small reception room. Our requested room with a view turned out to be located in the basement overlooking the parking lot. This was easily changed by the concierge who was more than helpful, and we got a nice room overlooking the canal. I should also mention that it was my wife's birthday, and we had complimentary chocolate and macaroons waiting for us at the first room with a handwritten note from the hotel manager. Nice touch!

Here ends the good management. It's too many incidents to go into detail, but throughout our stay it was obvious that this is not a five star hotel in the true meaning of the word.

The pool area is very nice, but gets a bit crowded at times. The rooms have large bathrooms and are clean but feel a bit dated.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. If you want to inform us more in detail about your experiences you are welcome to get in contact with us via sales@amrathamsterdam.com. We are looking forward to your reply and welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting the city for a concert. The hotel was an interesting building and it was nice to be in a hotel with character (unlike mist we stay in). The spa was well maintained and the jet they had in the small pool meant that I could have a good morning swim. The minimal gym was not well maintained and a number of pieces of equipment were out of order but this gave me the excuse not to exercise! It was great to have decent coffee making facilities in the room (nespresso) and it was a surprise to find a well stocked complementary minibar in the room. The room itself was well maintained and although not perfect as there were blemishes on some of the furniture it was still of a very good standard. The bed was comfortable and the toiletries that were supplied in the bathroom were also more then adequate. I found all of the staff I spoke to more than helpful even to the extent that when I asked where the nearest hair salon was, an appointment was booked for me within seconds. I would certainly visit the hotel again and I plan to bring some friends to the hotel when they visit in the future, as it's a fun place to stay that has some very positive qualities.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are happy you enjoyed all the historical characters of the hotel. I am sorry to hear that not all the equipment was working in the gym during your stay. Since you stayed in February, we solved the problems in the meantime and we do our best to have all the equipment working all year round. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I typically stay at 4-5+ star hotels. The Grand Hotel Amrath fell far short of the 4-5 star rating. Our room was lovely, yet there were disappointments: 3 hangers in the closet and a plugged drain in the bathroom sink. The sink issue was never resolved and after a few attempts to get hangers, I found a housekeeper myself and got them. Also, they missed our room for turn-down service even though it was brought to the managers attention the first night. The most unsavory part of our stay was the moldy bread that we were served at breakfast - yes, it was on top of the bread basket, however, it was brought to our table anyway. The breakfast manager was extremely apologetic. We met with the general manager of the hotel to let him know of our experiences. He said he was grateful that we told him and that he would "make things right". He acknowledged the housekeeping issues and also said he would fix the breakfast/kitchen situation. Imagine our surprise when we checked out and did not receive any credit - and we were charged for the breakfast we could not eat. We travel quite a bit and this experience goes in the "not to be recommended" bucket. The Amrath staff need to be better trained.

Room Tip: Upper level in the back facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabrbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and solve the problems during your stay. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter
and try to prevent this in the future. Once more I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and want to offer you our sincere apologies.

Looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Grand Hotel Amrath is in a very beautiful historic building. We travelled as a family and had a great time. The rooms are stylish with modern bathrooms (Ritual bath products). The location is perfect, close to central station as we arrived by train and in walking distance you can experience everything that Amsterdam has to offer; cafe's, restaurants, museums, shopping, canal cruises etc. The staff at the hotel are very friendly & helpful, our kids loved the yummy breakfast. The perfect place to stay in Amsterdam, we would love to come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. It is our passion to give our guest an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have just visited this hotel for 2 nights my self and 5 others . We traveled on ferry then drove to hotel which we was greeted outside by the concierge . They take the cars round to the car park for you and someone takes your baggage too. Took us a while to get checked in but we did arrive 4 hrs early so we got a free upgrade to a deluxe room as ours wasn't ready . Bonus ! The hotel is very unique and big ! We got lost loads haha very hard to find way round . I loved the decor but my hubby didn't he said it looked to old fashioned . Rooms was fantastic ! Huge ! Very very clean and the baths are brilliant . Probably the most comfy beds ever ! The only prob I had was the vents for climate control was always on auto so wen I was bed it felt like I was in gale force winds in Artic ! Which led to us bring upgraded again as they cudnt turn off . Free bar in rooms which is fab ! Also spa is free and open till 11pm! It was beautiful in there . Pool , saunas , steam . Whirl pool was cold though , wasn't any water around though to drink . It's not supervised . But we was ok .
Staff was brilliant they recommend numerous of places to visit and always polite and helpful .
Breakfast is very expensive in my eyes but was very nice .
This hotel is perfect location walking distance every where ! Just beware of cycle route straight outside door we was forever stood in them haha
Brilliant break . Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are happy you appreciated the Art-Nouveau style of the hotel. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Spa & Wellness, and we will take this into consideration. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Sales Department – Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
612 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing