We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel with lots of history .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with lots of history .”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We loved our stay in Amsterdam. The hotel was fantastic, very central. It had a great Wellness centre downstairs with excellent facilities (Pool, Sauna,gym,steam room etc.)
Our room was so beautiful and very clean, we also had a lovely view of the canal from our window.We ate at the hotel everyday and the food was delicious , very well presented and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and had a canal view room, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about the facilities of our hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed especially the Spa & Wellness and the food served in our Bar/Lounge.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,089
    1,046
    372
    179
    97
See reviews for
423
2,119
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have recently,spent a week at this hotel,which is full of character.

Check-in was pleasant.

Again,I was given a room upgrade which was appreciated.

The breakfast room staff,were very helpful.

The chambermaid/s were excellent and attended to my requests,quickly and with a smile.

The free mini bar,was well stocked and items used replaced daily.

The bar staff know their job well.

Friends of mine stay here too.

I look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: Discuss your needs with the front of house manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We appreciate your nice words and are happy that your stay was everything you wished for. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is a former twentieth century office of the Dutch Shipping industry designed by the then young architect Johan van der Mey. It became the magnificent hotel it is now in 2007.
The offices have been changed into beautiful comfortable bedrooms. Unfortunately when we were there it was very hot and the hotel has what they call a "system of climatization". This is not air conditioning but air circulating with a fan. As this was barely cooling the room they brought us a small fan and it helped a little . Nevertheless it never cooled the room enough.
The mini bar was complementary and replenished once a day. The staff was really friendly and very helpful.The main problem was that at the time of checking in and out there was not enough staffing. We had to wait a long time to have our suitcases removed from the room and even a longer time to get our car from the valet parking. The parking is very expensive in comparison with similar hotels in other capitals of Europe.
We did not eat at the hotel as the dining room was always empty and the neighborhood was abounding with all kinds of restaurants. The situation of the hotel is perfect for visiting the town on foot.
The hotel, although comfortable, is not quite the 5 stars we have known in other cities but its beauty comes from its architecture.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. Due the fact that the hotel is situated in a monumental building we are not able to put an air-conditioning system in place, there for climate control and a van is everything we can offer to cool the room down. We are sorry to read that you had to wait long for checking in and out, but happy to read that you found the staff really friendly and very helpful. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I visited on a solo trip to sightsee Amsterdam - peter took me & my bag to my room ,with a conversation of the buildings history - very interesting - in the room there is a small book of the whole history of how the building has been changed from offices to hotel over the years - it may explain some of the reasons of the unusual layout of the building - my 1st evening i ate in the bar - a steak sandwich - its was perfection - wine & cheese plater too - delightful bar area - i did not take breakfast with this hotel as i dont eat much before swimming & id be too late for breakfast service after my swim -(its not an early finish but i was taking my time to avoid the morning rush we are faced with at home ! )
I used the swim pool & saunas all days in the morning & found it to be spotlessly clean & well cared for.
A good location to all areas of Amster - I walked everywhere because i liked the experience but local transport very clear if you decide to take that.
I was in a basement room - very good size - plush bed with excellent cotton linen - it was very very warm with no opening window - this was my only downside of my stay but weather was hot !
Very good toiletries in bathroom - only thing i felt - the towels didn't look 5* star - a bit grey and frayed on edges ! Thats okay for home but think a wee edit of the towels to match the great standard of everything else will add to 5* lux !!
Room was immaculate on returning at night - compliments to the maid service
Complimentary mini bar bonus & coffee machine ! Its
Worth a visit to this very Grand Hotel
Thank you for looking after me

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LPGDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear valued reviewer, thank you very much for your beautiful words about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. It is our passion to give our guests an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more. We are happy that you had a lovely meal in our Bar/Lounge and enjoyed our Spa and Wellness. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is wonderful, in a great location, peaceful yet right next to the main train station and out the back to the small canals and back streets....beautiful. Being in a wheelchair you never really know until you get to, and check out, the rooms suitability. The room they gave us was perfect....large, spacious, great shower (ok they forgot the shower stool at first but came with one very quickly). But, and it is a big BUT....no AC...no climate control.....and the temperature was around 30 degrees C!! Not easy to sleep at night when you feel like you are sleeping in a sauna. This was the major down point of the hotel. A few minor irritations, we had to ask them to open the back door for me each time we left or entered the hotel, and be careful in the bathroom when you shower.....the floor fills up to nearly 1cm deep of water and takes an age to drain. But apart from that the hotel is beautiful, the peaceful views from the bar and in a great location, the staff were helpful and accomodating and if it is not quite so hot then it would have been nearly perfect...enjoy!

Room Tip: Be aware of the no AC.....dpending upon the time of year and the weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking your time for reviewing Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very pleased to read that the room was suitable for you. We do have climate control in every room, but we can imagine that the temperature was still not pleasant with the high temperatures of last week. Good to read that our staff was helpful and you appreciated their help. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Grand Amrath and found it to be very nice. Location is great, close to the Central Station, the Dam Square and most tourist sites. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable. The bathroom configuration was a bit odd, shower and toilet in one room with double sinks and tub in another room. The fact that there was no booklet to describe the services offered at the hotel , time the pool was open, time breakfast was served or what time the bar closed or even a menu for room service was somewhat of a nuisance. The complimentary mini bar in the room was great and the bathrobes and slippers in the room were also a nice touch . Would recommend this hotel to those going to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floor with a canal view. We had room 108 and even though it was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1014traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Nice to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. Usually all the rooms are equipped with guest directory. I hope our staff was able to assist you with all queries. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best Wishes,

Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

While this is certainly not a five star hotel by international standards, it is an excellent hotel which may be found as part of a deal (I got it as a "secret hotel" through Expedia). The free mini bar (including alcohol) was an excellent amenity, and the location is perfect for seeing the main sights (maybe a little far from the museums, but public transit is nearby).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#35 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,384 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing