We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$461
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$333
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
NH Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,171)
Filter reviews
4,171 results
Traveller rating
2,286
1,147
412
204
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,286
1,147
412
204
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barwellness centreshipping houseelectric curtainssuperior deluxe roomshipping companycentral stationsteam roomrestocked dailytrouser pressnespresso machinespa areaseparate showercity viewthe red light districtunique hotelremote control
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,638 - 1,643 of 4,171 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It is not often you come across large hotel rooms in city centre locations. The Amrath is the exception to this rule. Due to it's previous use a century ago, as offices for 9 shipping companies, the rooms are very big and the ceiling is very high, perhaps 3 times as high as a regular room. The fact it is a listed building means the interior layout cannot be modified, which means the rooms are a great size but the building is a bit of a maze to get around.

The reception area is in a room of it's own and you sit across a large table whilst talking to a receptionist which I found somewhat awkward. We called in advance to confirm we had a twin room, and also asked if it was possible to be on a high floor - we were promised a third floor twin room, perfect. Upon arrival, however, we were checked into a ground floor room which we were told was twin but it was in fact a king sized bed. We were told this would be fixed by the time we arrived back after going out for a wander and a meal. When we arrived back to our room the bed issue hadn't been resolved so we had to go back to reception and move rooms again. No apology was given and the concierge was instructed by the receptionist to help us with our bags however he left me whilst I was walking to my room after determining I didn't have enough bags to need any help with?

Once we moved to the second room, everything was fine. Despite the rooms having a very traditional look and style, the bathrooms are incredibly modern. The baths are huge and there is a double sink which is useful. Everything was very clean. The door to the bathroom is frosted glass and doesn't 'seal' which can be awkward if with friends as opposed to a partner. Body wash, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap, vanity kits, sewing kits etc. is offered and is of good quality. The shower isn't the strongest but the large bath makes up for it.

The beds were very comfortable, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in fact. The pillows were large squares instead of rectangles. The minibar is free, and is stocked with coca-cola, diet coke, sprite, Absolut, Gordon's, tonic and some other spirits as well as wine, popcorn and a Nespresso coffee machine with a variety of coffees to choose from. Free wifi is also offered - although it is considerably slow during peak times (8am-11am, 5pm-midnight).

The curtains were electric, which never lost it's novelty. The climate control in the room allows either 3 degrees below room temp up to 3 degrees above room temp and I found it controlled the temperature of the room well. There is a UK 3-pin plug socket in every room which is very useful. Room service is expensive and has a €7,50 surcharge which seems hefty.

The breakfast buffet offered a huge variety of foods, including cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, beans etc. as well as continental meats and cheeses, pastries, fresh bread/toast, cereal, smoked salmon, pancakes, smoothies, juices, yoghurts.

Despite some poor service and some blunt staff members (which may have been a cultural difference), our stay was good. I would recommend it to a friend and I would stay again. If I could offer one piece of feedback to the hotel it would be to improve attentiveness to guests needs and to be a politer.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking the river as the courtyard isn't the best view, despite it being quieter than river-facing rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet all your expectations. We have been in contact with the departments involved in order to avoid experiences like this in the future. Further we are happy that you enjoyed the Art-Nouveau décor of the hotel and that you had such a comfortable night. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a birthday treat from my partner, so he booked this as a surprise. We had the BEST time here. A completely romantic break !

Breakfasts were excellent....LOTS of choice.
The place is just outside the station, but perfectly positioned so there is no noise.
Rooms are spacious and mini bar included in the price, as well as the most excellent coffee makers..
We went to the spa and that was a treat. Not too busy, lots of space.
Just be sure to allow extra time for booking in and out, that can take a while.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Brilliant place. Highly recommended for a romantic treat in Amsterdam ..
We had the most. Beautiful walk across Amsterdam to the rijksmuseum on a fresh morning... Meant we were there before the crowds and saw Amsterdam in early light... Beautiful... I'm coming back as soon as possible !

Room Tip: I cannot fault the room we had x Look around the hotel, thee are some beautiful nooks and crannies which we found when we got a little bit lost .. Stunning building, seeped with history x
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 121Aimee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your beautiful words about our hotel. It is our passion to give our guests an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I didn't get to stay in the hotel but a friend booked afternoon tea for our party - well what can I say ?? the service and staff were very slow - we were served with sandwiches and cakes and I really cant explain how awful they were - we had 3 types of tea and they all tasted like dishwasher !!! so when is asked the staff for a coffee - 30 mins later - the coffee was not much better - at a price of 40 euros per person I will not be coming back - what a waste of money !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter and try to prevent this in the future.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile


We were arrived well in advance of the 2pm check in time, reception were very welcoming and took care of our bags, provided us with a city map and assured us that our room would be ready soon.

The room its self was well appointed, of a good size with a fantastic bathroom with huge bath and separate shower cubical. We were fortunate enough to stay on the 4th floor with a good view of the city skyline and an adjacent canal. The complimentary mini bar was well stocked, including alcohol miniatures, and refilled daily.

I can honestly say the bed was probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, my fiancé would agree.

The spa services on site were of a high standard and never too busy to enjoy.

We chose to have breakfast on one day our stay, it was a good breakfast, typical of such a hotel.

The hotel its self is perfectly located to enable you to enjoy all that Amsterdam has to offer and the staff are very attentive, if you're thinking of staying here I suggest you do!



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James73c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Nice to see that your stay was everything you wished for. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others trough TripAdvisor. We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had just a brief visit to see the architecture which is very special. An early example of the Amsterdam school. A smart hotel in a fantastic buiding, Friendly staff only too willing to show us around.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear visitor, thank you for your beautiful words about Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. As the hotel is based in the old shipping house, designed in the Amsterdam School style, it is worth making a visit to our hotel just to experience the beauty of the building. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews