We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

From arrival to departure this hotel ticks all the boxes. The hotel is very central, and very quirky. Each room was different but fabulously decorated and furnished. The beds were comfortable and the room was stocked up, with the minibar being replaced daily. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The swimming pool and saunas etc, were so clean and welcoming. Loved it!! Only one observation, its a bit of a maze with no clear signs to find lift etc.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were spacious and really nice. The hotel custmerservice was excellent. breakfast was really nice.

Unfortunately what really spoiled my stay was when I was using through spa facilities I and a number of other guests saw a couple having sex in the sauna ! I and other guests were absolutely mortified! There were young children also in the spa which made it even worse.

I had to leave the spa and went straight to reception to complain. The staff were helpful and I hope they asked the couple to either leave or stop.

Apart from this the hotel itself and service great

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chloe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter and try to prevent this in the future. Once more I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and want to offer you our sincere apologies. We are looking forward to welcome you back, in order for us to show you our five star quality.

Best regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napoli
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Booked the Amrath hotel from Expedia with a super discounted price. Since the room we booked was not available we were upgraded free of charge to a suite with complementary mini bar! The hotel is very nice with a unique style. Swimming pool and sauna are comfortable and clean. The only con is the reception. It is small and crowded.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fsax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about our hotel it is our passion to give our guests an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights.  The hotel is located very conveniently near the station, and well within walking distance to many attractions.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were clean and quiet when we used them.
The room was very clean and the historic value of the hotel was fantatsic, really charming and beautiful how they've preserved the features. The rooms were quiet and the mini bar was great value!

Our only issues were that the hotel only served light dinners as the restaurant wasn't yet open, and we had to wait about ten minutes in a queue to check out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise6732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

It is not often you come across large hotel rooms in city centre locations. The Amrath is the exception to this rule. Due to it's previous use a century ago, as offices for 9 shipping companies, the rooms are very big and the ceiling is very high, perhaps 3 times as high as a regular room. The fact it is a listed building means the interior layout cannot be modified, which means the rooms are a great size but the building is a bit of a maze to get around.

The reception area is in a room of it's own and you sit across a large table whilst talking to a receptionist which I found somewhat awkward. We called in advance to confirm we had a twin room, and also asked if it was possible to be on a high floor - we were promised a third floor twin room, perfect. Upon arrival, however, we were checked into a ground floor room which we were told was twin but it was in fact a king sized bed. We were told this would be fixed by the time we arrived back after going out for a wander and a meal. When we arrived back to our room the bed issue hadn't been resolved so we had to go back to reception and move rooms again. No apology was given and the concierge was instructed by the receptionist to help us with our bags however he left me whilst I was walking to my room after determining I didn't have enough bags to need any help with?

Once we moved to the second room, everything was fine. Despite the rooms having a very traditional look and style, the bathrooms are incredibly modern. The baths are huge and there is a double sink which is useful. Everything was very clean. The door to the bathroom is frosted glass and doesn't 'seal' which can be awkward if with friends as opposed to a partner. Body wash, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap, vanity kits, sewing kits etc. is offered and is of good quality. The shower isn't the strongest but the large bath makes up for it.

The beds were very comfortable, one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in fact. The pillows were large squares instead of rectangles. The minibar is free, and is stocked with coca-cola, diet coke, sprite, Absolut, Gordon's, tonic and some other spirits as well as wine, popcorn and a Nespresso coffee machine with a variety of coffees to choose from. Free wifi is also offered - although it is considerably slow during peak times (8am-11am, 5pm-midnight).

The curtains were electric, which never lost it's novelty. The climate control in the room allows either 3 degrees below room temp up to 3 degrees above room temp and I found it controlled the temperature of the room well. There is a UK 3-pin plug socket in every room which is very useful. Room service is expensive and has a €7,50 surcharge which seems hefty.

The breakfast buffet offered a huge variety of foods, including cooked eggs, bacon, sausage, beans etc. as well as continental meats and cheeses, pastries, fresh bread/toast, cereal, smoked salmon, pancakes, smoothies, juices, yoghurts.

Despite some poor service and some blunt staff members (which may have been a cultural difference), our stay was good. I would recommend it to a friend and I would stay again. If I could offer one piece of feedback to the hotel it would be to improve attentiveness to guests needs and to be a politer.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking the river as the courtyard isn't the best view, despite it bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam. We are very sorry that we could not meet all your expectations. We have been in contact with the departments involved in order to avoid experiences like this in the future. Further we are happy that you enjoyed the Art-Nouveau décor of the hotel and that you had such a comfortable night. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This was a birthday treat from my partner, so he booked this as a surprise. We had the BEST time here. A completely romantic break !

Breakfasts were excellent....LOTS of choice.
The place is just outside the station, but perfectly positioned so there is no noise.
Rooms are spacious and mini bar included in the price, as well as the most excellent coffee makers..
We went to the spa and that was a treat. Not too busy, lots of space.
Just be sure to allow extra time for booking in and out, that can take a while.
Staff were friendly and very helpful.
Brilliant place. Highly recommended for a romantic treat in Amsterdam ..
We had the most. Beautiful walk across Amsterdam to the rijksmuseum on a fresh morning... Meant we were there before the crowds and saw Amsterdam in early light... Beautiful... I'm coming back as soon as possible !

Room Tip: I cannot fault the room we had x Look around the hotel, thee are some beautiful nooks and crannies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 121Aimee121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your beautiful words about our hotel. It is our passion to give our guests an unforgettable experience, good to hear we managed to do this once more.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam.

Best wishes,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I didn't get to stay in the hotel but a friend booked afternoon tea for our party - well what can I say ?? the service and staff were very slow - we were served with sandwiches and cakes and I really cant explain how awful they were - we had 3 types of tea and they all tasted like dishwasher !!! so when is asked the staff for a coffee - 30 mins later - the coffee was not much better - at a price of 40 euros per person I will not be coming back - what a waste of money !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amrathamsterdam, Sales Department at Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. We would appreciate, if you could contact us on sales@amrathamsterdam.com so we can go further into depth on this matter and try to prevent this in the future.

We are looking forward to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Sales Department - Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing