We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, room and service - minutes from train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Natchez, Mississippi
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Great location, room and service - minutes from train station”
Reviewed 15 December 2008

This is a hotel I wish I could have stayed longer in. From check in to check out the service was impeccable and the room excellent. The location, a five-minute walk from the train station and right next to the historic area of Amsterdam, was outstanding. The room was very large with a desk, flat screen TV and free mini-bar. The architectural details of the building were also impressive – the lobby area is worth a visit.

Denver Mullican, New Orleans

  • Liked — Great location and outstanding service
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Denver_Mullican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Amrath hotel for 4 nights and we loved it. We found the concierge and the staff to be extremely helpful, friendly and pleasant. The service was quick. We ordered ice for the room and it was delivered in less than 5 minutes.

The beds were very comfortable with great bedding. Loved the free mini bar. The bathroom was very unique. The only improvement I could add is that the extra toilet paper should be moved. It is right in front of the shower (which has no door) and we soaked it every day.

I would definitely stay there again. It is within walking distance of many of the sites. There was a restaurant right around the corner called Looks that I would recommend.

  • Liked — The hotel has done an excellent job of preserving the history of the hotel.
  • Disliked — Loved it all
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I'd classify this as a 3/4 star hotel as opposed to a 5*, but nevertheless we enjoyed our stay.

Location is good as it's close to Central station.
We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food.
Staff were friendly.
Facilities - only experienced the gym and pool which was ok (when we found them)
Room - ok, but view was rubbish as our window overlooked the building next door which looked like a hospital stair case!

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — The view from the room
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wmtdp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2008

This hotel is simply the very best hotel in Amsterdam. Its interior is breathtaking, excellent fresh breakfast (with very friendly staff) and you just sense in all details (tiles in the bathroom, original elevators etc) that this hotel is run with loving care. In the same week, I stayed in the Eden Hotel near the Rembrandt Square. Did not sleep at all. Too noisy, and towels just a tad flimsy. Just spend the extra 50-100 Euros or dollars and relax in this hotel.

  • Liked — the relaxed atmosphere in an amazing building
  • Disliked — my room key did not work, but the porter walked with me to my room to make sure I was OK
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Ended up having to pick a hotel at the last minute and immediately came to TripAdvisor.com for advice. The all-inclusive minibar, I have to admit, was a bigggg selling point and the 5-star rating helped as well. We were pleasantly surprised thoughout our stay with how friendly and thorough the hotel staff were. The concierge was amazing in helping us arrange everyhing from dinner (try Looks!) to canal cruises to tours of the RLD to tickets to the Van Gogh Museum! The reviews saying that this hotel is a bit out of the way are correct, but it really isn't that far at all (just another canal over from all the action and I actually enjoyed the quiet for the rare times I was sleeping. The only con was that housekeeping forgot to stock the minibar the day before we were due to check out. Other than that, I loved this place.

  • Liked — Minibar included in room charge (duh!)
  • Disliked — business center was a little spooky
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AmazonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

The Grand Amrath is a stunning building that has had no expense spared on it. Silk wallpaper in rooms, luxury bathrooms and very comfortable beds.

Staff on the whole were very good - especially concierge who coped well with requests and were very helpful. Things got a little manic at busy breakfasts but overall the customer service was very good indeed.

The location is perfect for a short walk to the station as it is midway between the central station and landmark Nemo Science Museum at Oosterdok.

Be seduced by the quality of the building - you do get a free minibar which is well stocked but rooms are expensive even by Amsterdam standards.

I would wholly recommend this hotel for a stay in Amsterdam which is a splurge or something special. The staff are very helpful on the whole and it is well located for most of the sights you would want to see if you are going for more than voyeurism in a certain area of the centre...

  • Liked — The stunning 1920s luxury
  • Disliked — cost of our room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

Nowhere near a 5 star. Service was poor. Having a cute building isnt enough. Was there for business meeting in Hotel and they obviously dont major in that either.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Alphatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing