We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic building and nice hotel. Still room for improvement though...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #75 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2009

The first thing to say is that this is without doubt the most beautiful hotel in Amsterdam. The building is fantastic and stuffed full of history. We ended up with a great room - spacious with a lovely view over the canal. Beware though as there is a lot of variation in rooms in the same categories - the first room we were given was a poky attic room with windows too high to see out of. The reception staff were wonderful when we asked if there was a different room we could move to. We loved using the pool and sauna after a busy day of walking and cycling around Amsterdam. Try to go early as it gets very crowded down there though. My only real complaint was the service we received from the concierge who was indifferent verging on rude, didn't order taxis when asked (politely), was lazy and unimaginative about restaurant recommendations and worst of all when we needed (urgently to get to a pharmacy on a Sunday) simply lied and made up the location of an open pharmacy. All he needed to do was download the pharmacy rota, but he couldn't be bothered. Laziness about taxis and restaurants is one thing, but about medical emergencies it is something else. I would definitely recommend this hotel, but don't bother dealing with the concierge.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,023 - 3,029 of 3,962 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2009

Everything in the hotel was pretty much perfect (we didn’t eat in the restaurant, so we cannot comment on that). The room was large and well furnished (colour scheme, a little unusual), with a very comfortable bed (great pillows), free well-stocked mini-bar, large TV (with BBC channels), good bathroom (with jacuzzi), etc, etc. The most impressive aspect of all was the quality of service from all staff we encountered -the best we have known from any hotel anywhere in the world! Very conveniently close to Centraal railway station.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

Amstel and Pulitzer move over. The Amrath will soon be known as the most luxurious, coolest hotel in Amsterdam. This historic achitectual gem across from Centraal Station has 20 foot ceilings and huge windows, modern bathrooms, comfy linens and lots of extras. There are so many "trainees" on staff, you can always get what you need. The location is perfect for tourists. Complimentary mini-bar includes hard and soft drinks, and a few snacks...a wonderful touch. Wellness center is beautiful and clean. Didn't try the restaurant, but it looks lovely. We booked this hotel because we got a great deal, but I'd choose it over the other Amsterdam "greats" any day.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisewoman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband and I loved this hotel and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else when in Amsterdam. Excellent service provided by a courteous and very helpful staff. We stayed for 8 days, our room was very quiet, spacious (for Amsterdam) and had a very comfy king bed. It was located on the 4th floor on the Binneykant side.which overlooked a canal. Rooms have flat screen tv, free internet, a small wet bar that is restocked daily free of charge and a newspaper deliverd to your room each morning. The room was spotless and cleaned every day. Hotel has an indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. You can get massage if you desire. Hotel has a breakfast room and a restaurant with superb food, The hotel is in an excellent location. A short walk to anywhere you wanna go and about a 2 minuute walk to Centraal Station. I can't say enough good things about The Grand Amrath ... it is a 5 star hotell and like the old saying goes, "ya get whatcha pay for" and if you stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutz4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Stayed here 5 nights and everything about the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TexasSlimOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Easy walking distance to the Red Light District, the train station, multiple museums, and restaurants. The mini bar is complimentary and is stocked daily with a variey of nuts, beer, liquor, wine, chocolate, and sparkling water. The downside is that A/C only comes on if it's above a certan temperature outside (>73 degrees F I think).

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbugsince2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2009

Had a great stay - helpful staff, lovely room, free minibar and great expresso machine in room. Spacious tasteful room, nice breakfast. 5 mins walk from station, 5 mins to red light district and bars etc. If you get a good rate go for it. I am checking it out already for next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank turnleftonplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#36 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,489 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#18 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#83 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,332 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £146 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing