We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - it made our holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NE England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous - it made our holiday!”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We obtained a decent rate, about 50% below the published, and that included an extra bed for our 12yo child. Proper 5* service from beginning to end. Great facilities although the leisure centre could have been better supervised to stop one group bringing in a bottle of champagne into the pool area one evening.
Complimentary mini-bar, restocked daily. Fabulous building - I've never wandered around a hotel taking photos of it before.
We didn't eat in at all - not even breakfast- so can't comment on the food I'm afraid - we ate breakfast every day in a smashing cafe just round the corner - the Euro/pound didn't make hotel breakfast at 20 euros pp for a croissant and coffee a viable proposition.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,088
    1,045
    372
    179
    96
See reviews for
422
2,117
220
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (776)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cahors
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

An interesting building, well located, with very nice staff. Room was small, but well appointed, with an excellent bathroom, but traffic noise was really bad. Avoid street-side rooms, especially on the ground floor.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We enjoyed our stay here, our room was huge but a little dark with and only had view of a high rise building outside, the spa wasn't quite open when we went down around 10am the next morning the Jacuzzi was cold and the steam room hadn't been turned on...food and service in the bar was terrible..but overall an enjoyable stay in my favourite city but I think I'd try somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McJanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend in Amsterdam, staying at this great hotel. The location is perfect with access to the Old Centre and the Jewish Quarter on your doorstep, and the trams and canal boats at Central Station 5 minutes walk away.

The room was fantastic, and the bed was out of this world! I read the other reviews on here about the comfy beds, but never believed it could be so different - was I wrong!!

Id recommend to everyone, but if you are suffering from the sterling \ euro exchange rate problem that exists just now, you will find it a bit pricey to eat here - unless of course you find £25 each plus a £7 delivery charge for breakfast in bed cheap!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Arrived on an early flight, knowing that we would need to wait until 2pm check-in. My booking could not be found, when it was it was for the following day! This was not the fault of the hotel, but my own. The girl on reception was extremely helpful and within 15 minutes, my mistake had been fixed and a room allocated. This could all have gone so wrong, but the hotel were nothing but helpful. The room had a city view, was clean, bright and airy. It is worth taking the stairs on occasion to see the marverllous glass work and ceiling.
Less than 1 minute walk from the hotel is a lovely square with cafe bars and restaurants, a few seconds further is the infamous red light area. The location is excellent, particularly for sightseeing as most trams/buses end up at central station, from here you can also get the train to the airport. One thing to watch out for at the airport is that the train ticket machine defaults to the most expensive ticket. A standard ticket only costs €3.20, somewhat cheaper than the ticket on the first screen (just chose other tickets). The pool is one of the best hotel pools I have used, ok it is small but there was rarely anyone in it. We made sure we used this after a days pounding the streets sightseeing. We bought the Amsterdam card, which we made full use of and this comes with a ticket for the trams/bus.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenVAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The hotel is in an amazing building in a fantastic location. It is a great base to see the city. The staff are friendly. The room was ok but for a 5 star hotel you wouldn't expect the sinks to be blocked and dirty! Having stayed in some fantastic 3/4 stars hotels I was expecting a bit more. Having said that the spa was great and if there was another offer on the price to stay at this hotel I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenr2009
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

Very accommodating staff. The room was incredible - they upgraded us because our daughter was joining us for part of the time we were there. Free mini bar & espresso maker added to the overall pleasant experience. Make sure you check out the building itself - it is easy to miss some of the great details (i.e. the ends of the banisters are carved like whales to fit in with the whole nautical theme.) Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,382 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
612 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing