We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #66 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This is a great hotel in a very central location of Amsterdam. Being near to the train station is perfect for taking the train to and from the airport, as well as being near all of the public transportation. Interestingly, the think that I liked most was the free minibar. It was nice to be able to take a soda or a water without paying 5 euros. Great hotel and one that I would definitely stay in next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent_Small
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,065
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,092
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Beautiful hotel in a great location just 2 blocks from the red light district. Best hotel in the area. Beautiful pool and spa. The food in the bar was wonderful. Beautiful place to walk around also. One of the best things about this hotel is the free minibar that is restocked daily!! Enough alcohol for 2 people!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigelows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kew Gardens, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2009

My husband and I stayed in Amsterdam during Easter week. We chose the Amrath based on the mainly excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We wanted a really nice hotel, centrally located, with a swimming pool. The Amrath met all these requirements. We arrived from the U.S. in the morning, about 9 a.m. We were taken care of immediately. We were offered a room on the canal side but were told it wouldn't be available until later in the afternoon, so we opted instead for a room facing the front of the hotel. We were on the top floor, and noise was not a problem at all, either from the street or from the corridor. In fact, this hotel was the quietest we have ever stayed in. We never heard any noise whatsoever from the hallways.

Any problems we had were immediately taken care of. On Easter Sunday, for example, the room hadn't been cleaned when we returned at 5 p.m. We called to let them know, and the maid came up in about ten minutes, whereupon we went down to the pool and relaxed for about an hour or so. When we returned to the room, it had been cleaned.

I'm writing this letter now, because I'm shocked at the negative reviews of this hotel. We loved the expresso coffee maker, the free mini bar, the pool and spa, and unlimited towels. The hotel is across the road from the Central Station and all the trams begin and end there, making it very easy to get around and find your way back later.

We loved Amsterdam, and if we ever return, we would definitely stay at the Amrath.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsdKewGardens_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We ended up booking this hotel on hotwire the night before our trip. I was so nervous as I have had bad hotwire experiences. 5 Star for $126 a night. WOW! We were so thrilled with the results! This hotel was great! The room was very sexy with 18 foot ceiling, an incredible bed, awesome bathroom with a bath big enough for two and...a FREE minibar! After a late night in Amsterdam we could not wait to get back to the room!!!!

The only problem...and someone else had mentioned this in their review...you can hear through the doors. So in the morning, I was disturbed numerous times by the sound of the housekeeping staff chatting and cleaning. It was very annoying.

But for $126 and such a fabulous room...I could not bring myself to complain to the management! The free minibar kept me satisfied!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HipAndsavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed at the Amrath for 1 week from 06/21 through 06/27, the last 4 days I had my elderly father from another country joining us. We arrive from NYC on an early AM flight (7AM) but the hotel was unable to find us a room until 11AM, despite of being informed ahead of time (1 month) of the early arrival. The breakfast is ridiculously expensive and nothing to brag about, you may as well walk 3 blocks to the flea market where In De Waag is and get breakfast for 7-10 euros at one of the local cafes. Our room was well appointed, had a mini lobby and a double door, my father's was simple and he was often bothered by the early AM/late night noise from the corridors. The cleaning was efficient but always forgetting something, if not the toilet paper then the towels, if not the towels then the water in the minibar. The hotel's lobby is mediocre at its best, staff is polite but cold. The room service works on/off -one time they tried to explain that being to busy during the day they had no food left for the night, yet in 2 hours they served a full breakfast cooked on the premises. The minibar is supposedly stocked daily with water, sodas, beers, liquor, peanuts, nougat bar. Well, it only happened every other day, something was always missing. Perhaps if it wouldn't be free, they would stock it twice daily. The concierge is efficient and polite yet hurried at times due to being understaffed. The rooms facing the main avenue are noisy and the view is disappointing-construction site across the street and heavy traffic, the one facing the inner yard are quiet yet exposed to corridor noise and have no view, the ones facing the canal are lovely, quiet all the way and with a relaxing view. The amenities are clean, and the bar at the entrance is chic but pricey. The Seven Seas restaurant may seem steep in the beginning but after you see the prices elsewhere it is not that bad. The food, however, is average, nothing to write home about. Just over the second bridge over the canal above mentioned, in the corner, there is a lovely cafe with a view, open from 12 till midnight, excellent beer on tap-Gulpener, the best in my humble opinion, varied and nice crowd, with very decent prices for a quick bite. Around that corner, there is an Italian restaurant, Cuccina Italiana Oggi, that may be the best deal in town in terms of Italian food, large enough compared with other Italian restaurants, food priced OK for Amsterdam, the wine list decent -stick with the Cannonau di Sardegna, you won't regret it, and you cannot go wrong with the ravioli with porcinni mushrooms. Other Italian restaurants like Pasta e Basta (their staff is really taking turns to sing, it's 90% pop and Broadway, and only 10% opera, but those 10% can be pretty damn fine) or Toscaninni are show-offs, nothing substantial in food quality over Cuccina Oggi. The Red Light district is very close, 2-3 blocks, from the hotel and you pass through their Chinatown before reaching the light, err, Red Light. In Chinatown your best net would be to eat at the New King restaurant, fabulous dumplings! The city is very walkable, don't worry about the cars, they wont run you over, but the bicycles will!! If you want in on a little secret, well, not really a secret since I found it in a travel book, cross over the Amstel and head south towards two of the trendiest neighborhoods devoid of so many canals and heavy traffic, with large streets, nice boutiques and restaurants, two areas that resembles a healthy mix of SoHo, Greenwich Village and Montmartre (a minute mix though) more than anything I've seen, those would be on Beethovenstraat and Cornelis Schuytstraat. The highly rated restaurant De Belhammel has a very goodf chef but deficient climate-control and it can get really noisy. You may also enjoy Lucius (seafood) and November (French fare, well sort of, across the street from Lucius), unless, of course, you prefer to dine on a canal then indoors. One last tip: you must, and I mean you must, try the herring or the smoked herring or smoked eel sandwiches sold at a small joint across the street from the Flower Market just the way the Dutch do: with chopped onions and pickles. You'll end up having 2 most likely, then a couple of pints of beer. If you look for supermarkets they are called Albert Heijn, ATM's can be sparse, make sure you have enough cash with you as the closest ATM to the hotel is in Central Station. AMEX cards are widely accepted. Have fun, and don't forget that the Amrath is not really a 5-star hotel but a 4-star with glitches. It is close to the Central Station if a 10 min walk is close for you. I'll have 3 trains every hour departing to the airport and back. Proost!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bsasaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one “special” night for our anniversary during a tour of the Netherlands. My wife and I could not have been happier with our luck. The view of the city and canal was priceless and really gave us a better appreciation of Amsterdam as a whole. The service was also 5-star. We got room service which was excellent in quality and reasonable in price. That is coupled with an outstanding complimentary full mini-bar which we enjoyed to our hearts content. The only problem came with our room temperature. We stayed on a relatively hot day and our room's air conditioner was not working well. After merely voicing a concern to a random stafff member (I refrain from calling it a complaint because I literally only said "it is hot in my room") we were upgraded to a juinor suite. The move reflected the managers concern as well as their attention to the needs of their guests. We secured the room at a discount rate which made the value much greater but even at the hotels standard rate, it would have been a wonderful hotel experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bailiejmLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Just finished 4 nights and the hotel is very nice. In a great building with many lovely details. The room was very nice. Good size with oversized bathroom, full bath and shower. Very high ceilings and a wall of windows. If you pay extra for a city view, be sure to ask for a room facing the canal. The view is much nicer rather then the rooms facing the busy street.

One issue was the service was not up to the 5 star rating. While the staff was friendly and accomodating, there seemed to only be a few on call and if it is busy, you will not be helped. I also ordered room service one evening, and the next day, the tray was never removed from the room, even after cleaning and a turn down service, the tray was still on the floor in the corner of the room.

I got a great rate, so this was no problem and I do highly recommend the hotel. I think, however, I would not have been so happy if I was paying the advertised rack rate of 400 Euro plus per night. My rate was less then half of this.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing