We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing views from huge room window!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Astonishing views from huge room window!”
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The hotel an old transformed boathouse, has a great interior architecture... So are the rooms as well! You sometimes forget you're walking through a hotel, it offers an unusual atmosphere which you hardly find in other hotels. Breakfast was really, really nice! Minibar was free of charge! Even if you are in the city center, the hotel has a relaxing atmosphere!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlandersCitytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,104
    1,054
    375
    181
    102
See reviews for
426
2,136
226
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (784)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

Myself and my husband came back from a weekend in freezing and pouring rain Amsterdam just yesterday. Nevertheless I feel it is my pleasure and obligation to rate this stunning hotel that we have had a chance to stay at. Personay, I rely on opinions that I find on this website greatly, therefore I thought it would be in good manner to spare a few minutes on writing this review.
The hotel both from the outside and the very inside has a great deal of character, the rooms are justr incredible, I would even say very luxorious as per my standarts. In the 4m tall room we were surprised to have found this hig tech espresso machine, automatic courtains, both shower and bath, and many others. Fair enough the hotel is not in the Dam Square, the main square, but that is because the hotel is simply too vast in size, on top it is minutes away from the Central Station, which takes you straight to the airport. I really dont know what to say other that I would definitely go back and I promise you, there is no way you will be disappointed. And believe me, I am a very fussy traveller.

As per Amsterdam , I was slightly disappointed as it turned out to be another big metropoly!!! Fair enough, there are some interesting aspects to it! Coffee shops and sex shows etc, which I both tried and attended. Not so keen on the Amsterdam, still would go back just to stay in Amrath Hotel

Also, I cam asure you that photos of the rooms that I ve found on both Expedfia and the website genuinely reflect the rooms...that s always a good thing

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kedzierskaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

Absolute pleasure to stay in. The best value for money I have ever paid in Europe. All the following was included in the hotel rate:
-Free Internet
-Free Minibar!! (restocked daily with 2 of each: beer, bacardi, scotch, coca cola, sparkling and regular water, coffee, chocolate and lots more). This was a first for me.
-Health club and pool.
I wont be staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. Large rooms too.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stirling, scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

Only minutes from the trains station, you can walk it easily. free mini bar was a great bonus,room good and spacious, pool area great for a relax after a day touring round, would definitly stay here again. No noise from street, staff very pleasant

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abiStirling_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Awesome hotel! Spent two nights of our honeymoon here, and this was the nicest hotel by far. Booked thru expedia a run of house, and we ended up with a suite I guess, a foyer at the entrance, off to the left part of the bathroom with a tub/ with attached shower head, and double sinks, to the right the toilet/ awesome shower with huge shower head, and optional other shower head. Then from the foyer you walked straight ahead into the bedroom with large bed, very comfy we overslept our first night, club chairs and table by the window overlooking the canal, flat screen tv, free minibar, and curtains that have a remote control! The 10 or 12 foot ceilings made the room feel that much bigger. In room coffee and tea were also complementary. They had a host of other things that came with the room. We walked from the central station and so we did stop once on the way to ask directions, but found it. Was pretty easy to walk over to catch the tram at the central station to go to different museums, attractions like the Heineken experience, and for when we had to head to a different hotel to meet up with our river cruise. We had bought a map at the airport of Amsterdam and were finding getting around kind of , well difficult after being in London where everything was so easy, but then the hotel provided us with a free map with the tram lines on it- this is the only map you need! After hearing about the tiny not so clean room some of our friends on the river cruise stayed in at another hotel for not much less money, I'm glad we decided to treat ourselves to a stay here. The pool, hot tub, and especially the sauna areas are also a real treat, but maybe a little tricky to find- keep opening doors and follow the smell of chlorine until you find it! Make sure to try a chocolate covered waffle while you are in Amsterdam. The staff at this hotel are also very helpful- from the bellhop to the front reception to the cleaners.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peggirlsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Close to central station for the traveler. Comfy beds free minibar and close to nightlife

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KERRZY38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Stayed for five days with my family in late October.
Everything was perfect, from the kindly and cunning staff, to the dinner, the room and the relax area.
Close to Nemo, shopping, trams, canal buses, breakfast places, and et cetera.
Would absolutely stay there if going back to Holland.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hans55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#34 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Lastminute, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing