We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Certainly not 5*”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

My comments below in bullet point form:

- Hotel lacking atmosphere (in everything but exterior architecture).
- Room dirty upon arrival (surfaces not clean, nespresso area dirty, mould on surfaces in bedroom and in bathroom, rubbish in cupboard).
- Room was damp and cold (demonstrated by bubbling wallpaper and aforementioned mould on ceiling). Despite having a "deluxe room with city view" the room was so small you had to squeeze past the foot of the bed to get to the far side of the room.
- Heating was unreliable, and room temperature was extremely uncomfortable at times
- Hotel was noisy - there is an old wooden lift system in the hotel which cannot be used for safety resons but for some reason was run all night on a few nights - clattering and clanking away and keeping us awake.
- Service was appalling and staff unhelpful - when reporting cold room temperature to reception they did the bare minimum to help and the problem was ultimately not solved. Despite a refreshed-daily "free" minibar being included in our package the hotel on numerous occasions failed to replenish the minibar. On one day when I actually called reception to ask for the minibar to be filled, at c.8pm (we wanted to have some drinks in our room before heading out for dinner) they said they would not be able to help as "the drinks were locked away and nobody has the key".

To conclude it is a shame that a building with such potential to be a great hotel is being run in such an appalling way. A 5* hotel should never put guests in a dirty, cold room - and nothing should be impossible - especially when the request is as simple as a few beers at 8pm!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BearLobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    1,039
    366
    177
    95
See reviews for
417
2,093
220
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (767)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Koksijde Bad, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Booked on their internet websit for 2 rooms. On the last day, we paid our bill with VISA and straingly enough we couldn't buy anything with our VISA card any more in other shops. After contacting our bank, The amrath took 1330 euro reserve on booking and another 950 euro I have paied for the rooms. Meaning the limit of 2500 euro on my card was nearly reached. With lak of money we had no ther choise than to return home. A few days later the banc account was arranged and the 1330 euro provision was given free. Although it did ruin our last "shopping" day in Amsterdam. Further they charged us 80 euro vallet parking, Since we came by train, this was cancelled, nevertheless, a nice try.
Rooms were quite spacious and pool area very clean. Dispite our negative financial eperience, hotel is well worth its 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senorBakero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This is my second stay at this hotel. It is located about a 10 minute walk from central station in Amsterdam so you can walk to it unless you have a lot of luggage. The check in process went without trouble. The check in staff are professional but could be more friendly and welcoming.
The building is fantastic and the rooms are quite large especially for European hotels. The mini bar is included in the room rate. The room was clean and there were no problems with anything in the room. Breakfast in the dinning room was good although not sure worth the cost. We did have a few drinks in the bar/lounge and the bartender seem somewhat inexperienced. The conceirge was excellent, attentive, helpful and friendly and was probably the best of the staff in the hotel. Internet access was also free which was quite nice .We had no negatives but just do not get the welcoming feeling we have received from other hotels in Europe. I would rate the hotel as more a 4 star than 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCZAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I just wanted to leave a short review, although it's nearly a year since we stayed. I always use the rating system of trip advisor to book my way around the world, and I’ve never been disappointed. The Grand is fantastic, from arrival to departure they look after your every need - we spent little time in the hotel, but what time was spent in the hotel all the staff helped as much as they could. We arrived early evening and was shown to a receptionist who could not help us any more (giving upgrade, thanks) from then on the pure spirit of the hotels past inspired or stay at a truly beautiful hotel

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jase1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in Oct. 2010. The place is very near the train station and is very beautiful. Interior is in 1920 art deco motif. Lovely art, fabrics and colors. The staff is attentive to every issue with fast service. Linens and beds are very comfy and bathrooms are wonderful. Everything has been newly upgraded and decorated. But best of all after a long day of sightseeing.... was the spa and the free mini bar in the room.

We would go back in a heartbeat. We felt like royalty!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alburston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This hotel is amazing. My expectations were high, and they were substantially exceeded. I just cannot say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Amrath Amsterdam.

The hotel, which is in a historic building which previously housed the offices of a shipping company, is beautiful - the old wood panelling, the stained glass, the polished brass - its all still there.

We were able to check in very early and were put in a junior suite. Lovely high ceilings and beautifully appointed room. The bathroom was the highlight was a big, deep bath tub that we made full use of.

The staff went out of their way to help and provide directions, and the hotel is very convenient to the Centraal Station and the old part of Amsterdam.

Why on earth would we stay anywhere else in Amsterdam?

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoziMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We stayed for 4 nights on a short break to Amsterdam in Novermber 2010. Having searched for a suitable hotel, we were glad we chose the Grand Hotel Amrath. First of all, the location is great - being on the waterfront, close to Central Station and all the tram services, as well as ideal for exploring the canals. From here you can walk to a lot of the sights like the Royal Palace, Dam Square, Anne Frank house, etc. The Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum are further afield - walkable for the keen and able, but better to take the short tram ride across the city.

The hotel has a good ambience and, being the former Shipping House, is full of character and original art-deco features. We chose a Superior Deluxe Room, which was on the 3rd floor and a good size with an enormous bath/wetroom. The room was very quiet and the bed was one of the best that we have ever slept in (maybe the best!) for comfort. The minibar was free and re-stocked each day (though they did run out of white wine). However, this has to be offset against the cost of breakfast - good though it was, a bit steep at 25 euro each! Only negatives with the room, were a lightbulb that needed replacing (swiftly replaced after reporting) and the drainage from the shower was a bit slow. We ate out every night so cant comment on the restaurant (other than breakfast), but the staff were really friendly so suspect they would take good care of you for a meal.

All in all, a great hotel for a short break to Amsterdam... and we felt we were staying somewhere with a bit of history and character, which added to the atmosphere of the whole trip.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickxOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing