We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Ranked #67 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location, Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Amrath, Amsterdam - it is great and we both really enjoyed staying there.

The hotel is fantastic, the staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean and spacious and the location is superb. It is very unusual for me to be so complimentary about a hotel as I usually find something to complain about......... but on this occasion I couldn't! I am still in shock that the mini bar in the hotel room is re-filled every day - free of charge!

The location is superb it is easy to access the main sites and attractions and the hotel is only 7-10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central Train station - get the train from the airport its really easy and the taxi's are very expensive; 45 euro by taxi each way 8 euro return train ticket (per person)..

Don't be put off by the outside of the hotel building, when you first arrive I was a bit worried as it is rather gothic looking from the outside but inside it is really really nice.

Only thing to be aware of - it is a 5* and you do pay 5* prices in the hotel bar, but then my husband and I found eating and drinking in Amsterdam expensive.

If you want a good meal while you are there I can certainly reccommend the Me Naam Naam Thai resturant and the Aneka Rasa Indonesian resturant - both serve excellent food and drink the service is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsBfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,005
    1,018
    355
    167
    91
See reviews for
400
2,026
218
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (741)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Me and my girlfriend recently stayed at the Grand Amrath for two nights the reason for the choice of hotel was the star rating against the price, We payed under 300(sterling) for 2 nights in a deluxe room without the city view , Which i actually preferred because it faced an inward courtyard type place with plenty of privacy. Also the hotel lived up its name " Grand" Because all the high sealing and lovely art added to the comfortable stay we had, it seemed like we were the only people on our corridor sometimes which added to the privacy. Another reason for the booking of the hotel on my part was the "free mini bar" Which was daily topped up , Only point i will make is that the brand of local beer was not to my taste but the hotel had no problem with you stocking up on your own choice of beer from the supermarket a 1 minute walk away. Again we could not argue with the service provided by this hotel. The Location was a perfect only a ten minute walk from both central station and the lively red light district . Would recommend this hotel to any other couples planning a trip to the fantastic city of Amsterdam. Yours sincerely The_white_leroy

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank the_white_leroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Just returned from a weekend break and as I always read reviews beforehand I thought I had better return the favour:-
Location - excellent, 5 minute walk from the train station and 5 minutes and your in the centre near Dam Square, you more or less have to go through the red light district but can be avoided if you walk around.
Hotel - lovely hotel in a quiet area, great service
Rooms - When we first checked in we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Superior Delux Room, we were not. They lead us down into the basement where the spa was located, although the room was nice, you looked out onto the pavement and everyone walking past could see in. When we complained they moved us to the First Floor which was a beautiful room overlooking the canal side. Beautiful high ceilings and the bathroom was lovely. Even better you can shut a door between the bedroom and the bathroom/front door which means you don't hear anything from outside in the corrider area.
Room Service - Be careful the basics like water was very expensive, I think we paid 30 euro's for 4 small bottles of water. However there is a free minibar which is nice for a drink before you go out.
Spa - Really nice just to relax after a heavy night.
All in all, great hotel, perfect location. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayaholic8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for my birthday . We got the train from Central Station and walked to the hotel (about 10 mins walk) . As soon as we arrived at the hotel there was a lovely man who came running up to us to take out luggage from us as he must have been able to see i was struggling wuth my ridiculously large suitcase i took for 3 days ! Check in was simple, they informed us that they had given us a free upgrade with a canal view which was a nice surprise. Our room was on the top floor (4th) the room was long and narrow , the bed was lovely and big with lots of pillows and cushions. The bathroom was perfect with a lovely deep bath. The best thing about this hotel is the free mini bar which is re stocked daily , red wine , white wine minature bottles of vodka , whisky , Barcardi etc and bottles of beer which my boyfriend enjoyed. The Nespresso machine is fantasic. The breakfast which is also included in the price was amazing , the best scrambled eggs and mushrooms and as much freshly squeezed juices as you want ! The spa is also lovely with a small swimming pool with stars above you , a jacuzzi , saunas and a steam room with lots of comfu beds and chairs you can sit in and relax, we managed to enjoy this with nobody else there which was a bonus! The location is good , right near the red light district with all the bars and restaurants close by but far away enough so you can't hear any noise at all and close to central station and the trams so you can get around easy enough.
This staff at this hotel are so freindly and can't do enough for you, they even put some gorgeous chocolates in my room one night with a card saying happy birthday from all the staff .My mum and dad are also now booking to to stay here in the summer . It really is worth spending a bit more money to stay here , with the breakfasts , free mini bar , nespresso machine and the spa and the lovely staff it would be daft to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manchester3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

After my girlfriend was taken seriously ill whilst on holiday, they tried to charge €160 for a 5 hour late check out. Forcing her to go and sit in the airport. That is pretty poor service and even worse morals. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank davidh96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

stayed for 4 nights in the amrath early feb 2011 hotel was nice and quiet loved the room very high celing, spacious bathroom with shower and bath. bed was amazingly comfortable, free mini bar topped up every day was an added bonus. staff helpful and friendly definitely will be staying here again

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara892010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed at the amrath in october for a night whilst there for a football match.
Check in went smoothly, left our bags at reception and went for a walk around.
Came back an hour later and were taken to our spacious room. The room was a little dark, but fine, with free internet and minibar !!. sadly i didn't make as much use of the minibar as i should, too busy enjoying myself !. The bathroom was a decent size and clean.
The location was ideal, close to central station and to all the nightlife, but far enough away to get a good sleep.
Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dontshootimjoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#30 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Property: Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 108, 1011 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam is a five-star deluxe hotel situated in the monumental Shipping House. You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city center at only 500m from Central Station and 1100m from Dam Square. We have 165 rooms and suites, offering complimentary wireless internet, free minibar with alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and free entrance to the Spa & Wellness center. Facilities furthermore include restaurant Seven Seas, meeting rooms and a bar/lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing