We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Ranked #2 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in this beautiful accommodation. The hospitality and standard of comfort were outstanding. The Red room bed was extremely comfortable. The rain shower to die for after a day of avoiding cyclists. Breakfast was delicious and the pleasure of sitting and relaxing in our room overlooking the Singel canal is not to be underestimated. Superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
341
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Wows:

1) The hosts including the most gentle dog.
2) The lounge/breakfast area with a great view and the library.
3) The actual breakfast including the presentation.
4) Decor of the room and the facilities.
5) The awesome location by the canal, shopping & dining options.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zatazoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We have been to Amsterdam a couple of times before and this was by far the best place that we have stayed. Lovely, friendly hosts, beautiful room which was very comfortable and a good size for Amsterdam and in a brilliant spot away from the really touristy bit but close to everything. Worth every penny and in my opinion a much more relaxing way to stay in Amsterdam than a big hotel. Next time we go back, this will be the place that we stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen2588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent three lovely nights here, and it will certainly be one of our favorite memories of a wonderful trip. Peter and Wolter were gracious hosts (and extremely helpful sources of information and recommendations); the location of the B&B was perfect; the decor and ambiance was gorgeous; the breakfasts were delicious (and beautiful). It felt like we were staying with friends. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Walter,Peter and Sir Tommie
We are fortunate to be able to travel a great deal and it is always a pleasure when a destination or accommodation exceeds expectations. Such was the case in our recent visit to Amsterdam. It's charms from serene tree lined canals to the raucous Red Light District were wonderful to experience. A bonus however was our accomodation at Kamer01. If you are looking for a warm and distinctive place to stay complemented by thoughtful service look no further.

We stayed in the cooly decorated Blue Room which is on the top floor.It afforded a great view of the bustling street.The room is spacoius enough to include; a small sitting area which is equipped with a Mac computer, a private glass enclosed washroom and a unique circular bed.

While most attractions are easy to walk to in Amsterdam, Kamer01 is strategically located. Attractions such as Anne Franks House,the Van Gogh museum etc seldom took more than 15-20 minutes and the walks were pleasurable.

Breakfasts were always healthy (yoghurt and fruit) and artistically presented. Additionally, alcohol is available at no additional cost.We found this particularly enjoyable when we returned from our daily touring or simply wished to enjoy some wine in our room.

Finally, to save the best for last, the owners Walter and Peter and their trusty leader Tommie the Beagle are amazing hosts.They have a wealth of knowledge and are always willing to share it whether it be arranging restaurant reservations, or providing directions to attractions. We particularly enjoyed our "table sessions" when we returned from a day of touring. They regularly joined us in discussing a range of topics and made us feel very welcome and comfortable in their home.

In summary, Kamer01 is great place to stay. It will enhance your Amsterdam visit and you will likely leave with three new friends; Peter,Walter and of course Tommie the Beagle.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_and_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I have traveled pretty extensively and have seen many fabulous hotels and B & B's over the years, but our "Blue Room" at Kamer01 was absolutely exceptional. I did not add pics, as the Blue Room is already posted, but it is just the most amazing room. Peter's vision as an interior designer shines with the design and decor in this room. Every detail is meticulously thought out. It has a round bed, which takes a little getting used to, but is fun in and of itself if you don't lose your pillow off the edge! :) The view of the canal from the third story is beautiful. I know that you might want to sleep in, but in the early morning, the streets in front of the B & B are quiet and peaceful. the breakfast room/main foyer on the second floor has the same beautiful view while you enjoy an outstanding breakfast, artfully and deliciously prepared by Peter. Every detail and comfort is seen to. One word of advance warning, though, the stairs (which my husband and I thought enchanting) could be down-right dangerous to someone with disabilities or age-related mobility issues. They are so steep (I am including a few pics of the stairs) that it is almost a ladder-type system, and the Blue Room is on the 3rd floor. We did not hoist the luggage up (thanks, Peter), but when we left, my husband muscled the bags down. Wow! Splurge! Stay at the Kamer01 while in Amsterdam! You cannot find better.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We had been very much looking forward to our visit to Kamer01, but the reality far exceeded our expectations.

The location is great, the Red Room sumptuously decorated with very comfortable bed and impressive bathroom. The views over Singel were lovely and the addition of the i-Mac in the bedroom much appreciated.

The food was fantastic and the fridge a place of wonders...

However, what really made this place stand out were our hosts, Wolter and Peter (and Tommie the dog!). They are incredibly hospitable, fun and knowledgeable, and some of our best memories are of sitting around the kitchen table, drinking and chatting with them. They really made us feel welcome and special.

We are already planning our next trip back. Oh yes, Amsterdam wasn't bad either!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,265 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,037 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Property: Boutique B&B Kamer01
Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Boutique B&B, Kamer 01 is the perfect choice to enjoy your stay in the iconic Canal District. The Canal House is situated in a spectacular panoramic bend of the beautiful Singel Canal. In close proximity, you will find the historic courtyard Begijnhof, the lively Spui with the one of the oldest bars in the city, the trendy Nine Streets district, and the world-famous Amsterdam Flower Market. Your hosts at Kamer 01, Peter and Wolter, have a discriminating eye for details, design, and personal attention. Hence their award-winning philosophy: Don't be a tourist, be our Guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing