We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything with a bit more...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Ranked #4 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Everything with a bit more...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We had a fantastic time at Kamer01; as beautifully restored/modernised 16th century canal side houses go, it must be one of the best, and it's a real treat to stay in such a great building. On top of this, Peter was a wonderful host - modest, funny, engaging and helpful - and Tommie, the dog, was a fine friend for a few days, too. We stayed in the Red Room - with an iMac, a view of Singel, a great bed and an amazing bathroom - we couldn't ask for more. Breakfasts were delicious as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
334
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We did a trip around Europe for our honeymoon and stayed at World Heritage Sites and Castles however this was one of the hotels we'll always remember. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were speechless. It is a charming canal house that has been tastefully decorated by Peter and Wolter. Speaking of which, the company of the hosts themselves make staying at this place worth it. They make the best restraunt recommendations for you (we ate at De Kas and Tempo Doeloe), prepare the loveliest breakfasts each day and are just darn fun to talk to! We stayed in the Red Room which has a magnificent bathroom with rainshower and luxe L'Occitane amneties. It had a lovely canal view, a Mac computer with fast internet, lots of good reading material and access to the DVD library and really yummy snacks. Seriously, we found it hard to leave our room everyday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank insearchofcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

A wonderful little B&B in the heart of Amsterdam - lovely rooms and great service! Thanks a million:-)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I adored this B&B, and will definitely be going back. The room was beautiful, incredibly stylish and comfortable with lots of cool and quirky features. There is nothing about this place that we didn't like. Wolter and Peter are natural hosts and were incredibly helpful, they knew every spot we wanted to visit; this coupled with the perfect location of their house (everything is within walking distance) allowed us to see all the places we wanted to visit easily.

As much as we loved Amsterdam we found ourselves eager to get back as the place was so fabulous. It's grown up, stylish and everything so many B&Bs are not!

Thank you Kramer01!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton { - Sussex}
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

We went to Kamer 01 to celebrate a special birthday and had such a wonderful time - we were so well looked after by Peter.
The hotel's position is perfect to wander around the beautiful canals or, if you prefer, there are tram-stops really near by plus bicycle and boat hire places.
The hotel itself is a real gem. The building is a really interesting one - amongst some of the earliest houses built in Amsterdam. It is full of character which its owners have added to, in their understated and luxurious way with attention to detail a prime concern - but always without being in any way pretentious. The 'vibe' is very relaxed, comfortable and fun, with style.
We stayed in The Blue Room at the top of the narrow building's winding staircase. The room is very chic but homely. We felt as though we had our very own little apartment rather than a room in a B&B. The view is wonderful - watch the world go by on the canal and pretty bridge beneath your window. The bathroom is fun to use and well designed and the bed was SO comfortable - the fact that it is circular and surrounded by blue net adding to the fun! We made use of the iMac for music quite a bit and the tv by the bed was great when you finally flop at the end of the day.
Peter was such good company and makes a damn fine breakfast. His dry humour was brilliant and he will either chat for hours if you wish or leave you be. He has lots of interesting tales to tell about the house, Amsterdam or pretty much anything! He is a great source of knowledge for recommending places to visit or to eat too. I wish I had taken a photo of him as he was very much a lovely part of our stay.
The breakfast that is provided is amazing. You have a choice of exquisitely prepared fruits, yoghurt, meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, coffee, tea, freshly squeezed juices - or can have them all if you fancy!! (Which we did!).
The other brilliant thing about Kamer 01 is that you are free to help yourself to anything from the kitchen whilst there and it is included in your price ... we particularly enjoyed the cava, red wine and salted almonds!!! Thanks Peter!!
The city itself is whatever you want it to be ... we enjoyed walking everywhere and particularly liked the Brasserie Harkema restaurant which was a Peter recommendation - we went there 3 times in our 4 day stay!
We would LOVE to return one day ... and really would recommend maybe paying that little bit extra as you will certainly feel that it is worth it....
A fabulous, memorable place.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank latvianandjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

Kamer01 is a typical Amsterdam house wonderfully located on the canalside within easy strolling distance of all the main visitor attractions. The two guestrooms are really special, being individually designed by Peter to bring out the best of the house's features. Don't be in a hurry to rush off after an early breakfast - we ate at 9.30 and enjoyed not only a beautifully prepared, many-coursed breakfast, but the very hospitable company of Peter and Walter. With a complimentary aperitif before setting out in the evening, we enjoyed a delightful selection of restaurants recommended by our hosts.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean,VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

We spent three nights at Kamer 01 in mid-August 2010. It was our first visit to Amsterdam and we selected this B&B on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews. Our stay with Peter, Wolter, and Tommie (the dog) was, simply put, a fabulous experience. We had the red room, which was spacious and very comfortable, and had a spectacular bathroom. Breakfasts were a work of presentation art, accompanied with knowledgeable conversation about the city, its history, places to see, how to get around, and places to eat. The recommendations on restaurants were invariably accurate, and our hosts went out of their way to make us reservations.

We left feeling that we had not stayed long enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birds56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Property: Boutique B&B Kamer01
Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Boutique B&B, Kamer 01 is the perfect choice to enjoy your stay in the iconic Canal District. The Canal House is situated in a spectacular panoramic bend of the beautiful Singel Canal. In close proximity, you will find the historic courtyard Begijnhof, the lively Spui with the one of the oldest bars in the city, the trendy Nine Streets district, and the world-famous Amsterdam Flower Market. Your hosts at Kamer 01, Peter and Wolter, have a discriminating eye for details, design, and personal attention. Hence their award-winning philosophy: Don't be a tourist, be our Guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing