We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good you won't care.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #308 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 8 September 2011

I said to my boyfriend one night, "When I'm with you, it's like I'm talking to myself." As weird as that may sound, it just means I feel that comfortable with him. And as with my stay at The Golden Bear, which was a business trip, I felt right at home. I stayed in the top private room for two weeks where there was a separate washroom, a separate shower room and a view into the courtyard like atmosphere. The view is very cool too. You can see the old tower which has red neon lights (not the red light district) "FORBIDDEN perfume" (really, it's not the red light district). The breakfast was nice, and Theo and his staff are such hospitable hosts. The sheets are cleaned daily around noon so you never have to think of making your bed (you're on vacation, give yourself a break), and you strp out of the door and voila! Next door you have your first "coffee shop". The most popular and fabulous club "CHURCH" is doors away and the main street connecting to the streetcar, called tram in Holland, is full of quick souvenier shops, a drug store, a grocery store, and fashion stores. It's the perfect place to be. I just wanted a place to stay that was cheap and close by work. I found it, and it was every euro spent well. Enjoy! Proost! (and people, talk to one another when you're having breakfast downstairs! You meet fabulous people, because YOU are fabulous!)

Things that they had which was nice (in the private room):
- small fridge
- couch
- place to work with chair
- tv
- dvd player
- private washroom
- private shower
- queen size bed
- light switch on both ends of the room
- closet
- wardrobe
- comfort chair
- full size mirror
- beautiful view in courtyard
- water heater (you can adjust to your own comfort)

Things I wished they had:
- netted screen window to keep the mosquitoes out
- 24/7 service (instead of 8a to 10p)

Room Tip: Be nice when you call. If you're mean, you get mean service. Kapeesh?
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexfiscalini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Golden Bear
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Golden Bear is a comfortable hotel in the center of the action in Amsterdam. Although ostensibly gay, there are frequently young straight couples staying here. The GB is close -- walking distance -- to almost anything you want to do in Amsterdam. And three major tram lines stop just a three minute walk away. Ten minutes by tram (2 or 5) from Central Station, the GB is a great point from which to explore the best attractions in Amsterdam. It's a few minutes walk from the best bars in the city and excellent restaurants abound in the same area.

The staff is nice, a small breakfast -- plenty -- is provided. The rooms are comfortable, airy and bright, some surprisingly large. Free WiFi is provided. The GB is not about luxury, it is about incredible location, though if you have a street facing room and stay over on a Saturday night, remember that Amsterdam parties on the street until 4 or 5 in the morning! Best to just give up and go out and join the fun!

It's a nice hotel; I always try to stay here when I am in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I have a favorite which I won't give up, but street side can be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I did considerable research before selecting this B&B for our short stay in Amsterdam. The one thing I kept coming across in almost every review was complaints about the stairs. I am from NYC so I didn't think much about it. However everything that was said about the small, narrow and steep winding stairs is true. They are tight and it's something to get used to. It's not easy to carry suitcases up and down these stairs. That's it. But, it's a great little hotel, in a great spot for exploring the best of Amsterdam. It's run by gay men, and has mostly gay clientelle. The staff can be very helpful but they aren't overly friendly (as opposed to your average American hotel receptionist)--so don't expect them to ask you 10 times if there's anything else they can do for you. They aren't a Crowne Plaza or Hilton. Be nice and they'll be nice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed three nights and chose this hotel based on comments from TAdvisor.

For a one star, its fine. You want good pressure running water, clean bed and bathrooms and tvs that work. This hotel ticks all those boxes. Hotel is in a great location in Amsterdam, right near shops and transport...maybe a little too close to tram line. Its a good 15 mins walk to the red light area but very close to Van Gogh and Riks.

If you are a light sleeper, this hotel will drive you crazy. It is four doors from the corner intersection where the tram line runs. There is a break in the tram track at the intersection and all you hear all night is the the constant thud of the trams running along the track.

Hotel staff answered questions when asked but did not go out of their way AT ALL.

Overall very average even based on what I paid. Wish I paid a bit extra and got something on a canal or away from tram tracks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Furree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The rooms we found extremely clean & tidy along with all the shower / toilet facilities.
Traditional Dutch breakfast includd in tghe price which is a great start to to the day.
Will reccommend this hotel to others & will definately retuen when next in Amdam.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCrucible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

As the title says, the price is good. The location as well. But there were quite a few minor, and easy-to-fix, things that would have made the experience more enjoyable.

For instance, soap in the bathroom/showers, instructions on how to get the WiFi working (which wasn't that good after all), a warmer approach from staff (most of the staff seemed hung-over for most of our stay for some reason - but maybe it's just Amsterdam!), more breakfast.

But overall is was quite average. It looks like a B&B - but doesn't feel like one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amaral82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Any review of this Hotel must mention the stairs, they are intimidating but not so hard to climb. The staff were all helpful and efficient. The breakfast was relaxed and satisfying. I would suggest walking down the street and renting bicycles from Mikes' bikes. Bicycling from this location was fun and easy to get to anyplace in the city. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soujourner711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#132 of 371 in Amsterdam
453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#304 of 371 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#280 of 371 in Amsterdam
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#275 of 371 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht Hotel
#176 of 371 in Amsterdam
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £78 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing