We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and close to the center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #313 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Recommendable. Very tiny and cosy, be aware of toilets and shower separate. Service not perfect, but hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Where to begin with what was wrong with this hotel? I stayed here during Queen's Day week, which was fantastic. Probably caused some of these problems, but who knows and honestly, should it matter?!?!

Reception...couldn't check me in until 3 hours after check in time.

Room...no air conditioning and the fan they had in the room made more noise than a diesel engine. Air conditioning shouldn't have been a problem, but I couldn't open the windows because of the street party going on all hours below my window. The stairs to room were ridiculous! Narrow, four stories. I had luggage for two weeks with me and struggled to get it upstairs. No help was offered. That said, I'm in pretty good physical shape. Not sure how others less so would make it up those stairs. In way of comfort, this was one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at. Beds were bad. Ammenities were non-existent. This place was so bad I ended up leaving and finding another hotel that was astronomically priced (last minute queen's day), but well worth getting out of this place.

Breakfast...No so good. Granted, Dutch food isn't amazing, but this breakfast was tasteless, basic and tables were very hard to come by.

Location...great. Enough said.

Although this hotel is gay, I didn't feel at home there. I would much rather stay at a nicer hotel and sacrifice what little gay feel this hotel had.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawagner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Where to start?
OK first we start with the good things, witch the location is great!
i find Golden bear on gaycitis.com and it sound good to me, i saw some of the reviews there and i say, let go for it. i did book it for one week.
well i was very exited and i booked the suite ! ( witch end up a real joke room ) .

well i showed up, first sign in, and the rude person in the front desk, show me the stairs up, and smile and say, there is the stairs, you need to go all the way up with your bags, i was like oh, ok, wow. it was really bad way to start, you have to go all the way 3 or 4 flight of stairs round and round , witch wasnt fun and safe at all.
OK, we start here, then you get inside the room, and i was thinking they say a suite, really? what was that? small room, nothing that special , view to the neighbors patio, and that all. really not something that i need to pay like 1200Euro !

well the next day is come, i woke up, and i had to work, i try to log online, well, there is no internet, i called the front desk, i say," good morning sir, mmm i am trying too go online because i have to work from here ( one of the reason i booked that place because the free wifi ) and the guy at the front desk say, oh, so you need to turn your computed off, i say, OK, and then what? and he say, keep it off then. i was like, you kidding or?" the guy was completely Jerk , i did end up paying for the all week, and staying mostly with friends there because the Rude people who work there .

i am not recommended that place to no one.
there is so many better places there , either the one across the st from them. ( witch i will stay there next time)

you can look at my review , i am not a bad person, and mostly nice, but this place! NEVER AGAIN. RUDE, BAD SERVICE !

Room Tip: do not take the suite room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank joey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Friendly & helpful staff. Small hotel, but not beyond expectations - being in Amsterdam. Ask for the "Anne Frank" room on the top floor. Nice size, clean, private on suite. You cannot beat the location. It was a fun stay. Happy to return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FDP_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I had a bad experienc e in this hotel. It was the most expensive of all places I stayed in Europe, almost 100 euros per night for a room where the windows couldn't close properly, not to mention that the curtains were really old and not enough to cover the window. The staff was relatively nice though not overly attentive but the stairs are definitely a safety concern, even more if you have a suitcase. Location was not bad at all and probably the best point for the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AusverGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel was in a good location and the rooms were clean, and comfortable if not a little shabby/dated. The staff were all rude, they didnt even acknowledge guests half the time and the staff on reception were too busy reading magazines to even look up when apporaching the reception desk. The cleaner seemed the most approachable of them all. Would not stay again because of this and there are much better places where they are glad of the custom.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Riche1w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I must say I was a little bit worried after reading all the complaints here about bad service, smelly rooms and steep steps, but I soon found out that all the complaints must be a some kind of hate campaign agains this hotel. Okay, so the steps are very steep, but this is Amsterdam, and the building is old. It's just the way it is.....also, without steep steps, I guess this city would have joined Atlantis a long time ago ;) Dave, the staff member who checked me in and out, is very nice, polite and helpful. The room was very good, the low price concidered. You have to remember that this is a very old hotel, and with the low rates they are operating with, of course there are limitations on how much money they can use on renovation. The walls and ceiling could have been repainted, but hey... it's a low budget hotel, it's not the Hilton. The location is just great. When you step out of the door, you have "coffe shops", bars, restaurants, night clubs, stores, publict transportation and of course the beautiful canals that runs through most parts of the city.

The only thing that really got me frustrated was the wireless internet. The coverage and signal strenght was perfect, but the router kept on crashing every now and then... so guys, if you read this; Pleeeeeeeease buy a better router that doesn't crash all the time.. it costs...€30-40 I guess, and if you can't afford one, find my mailadress in your customer register and send me an email, and I'll buy you a new router as a x-mas gift ;)

All in all, this is great and cheap hotel, with a very friendly staff in a very good location, and I would love to stay here again.

To those of you who are going here; don't do the same mistake as I did, spending a lot of money on an expensive taxi just because you're uncertain on how to get here. If you come from the airport with the airport express train, just exit Amsterdam Centraal through the main entrance/exit and go to the trams on your right hand side, next to the taxi stand (yes there are trams at your left hand side also, but they don't go in your direction). Here you can take tram number 1, 2 or 5 to Prinsengracht. It takes about 10 minutes, and the trams have automatic PA-system announcing the next station all the way. If you are really lucky, you might also get some good jokes on the PA from the tram driver or the conductor :) When you exit the tram, just go 40-50 meters back, and you will find Kerkstraat and The Golden Bear on your left hand side.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#314 of 375 in Amsterdam
669 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#307 of 375 in Amsterdam
491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#237 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#293 of 375 in Amsterdam
303 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#207 of 375 in Amsterdam
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £55 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing