We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, clean, helpful staff - would definitely stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #290 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, helpful staff - would definitely stay there again.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed in The Golden Bear for 3 nights & was pleasantly surprised. Lots of budget hotels to chose from all with mixed reviews so took a gamble on this one and it paid off.
Although this is a gay hotel with mostly older gay male clientele, we are a straight young couple in our 20s and we fitted in fine. Lovely location in the middle of everything, follow the tram line to Dam Sqaure takes about 10 minutes by foot or hop on a canal bus/tram and get there in 2 minutes.
We wanted to be closer to Dam Sq but were glad we chose this hotel as it was nearer all the chic shops and nice boutiques and wasn't really noisy in the nights even though there was lots going on.
Don't know why a few reviews say the staff need customer service training... David at reception was fab and drew us directions on a map. The owner was pleasent and let us leave our bags in reception after checking out, we were really happy with the service. Clean towels every day, clean rooms, shared toilets were lovely and clean. Nice basic budget hotel.
Brekkie was toast, crackers, malt loaf, ham and cheese with a large variety of spreads. In all really happy with the hotel when taking into account cost, location and cleanliness. Would definitely stay there again when I return to Amsterdam.

Tips to first time visitors of Amstetdam like we were - take sensible walking shoes!! My feet were cut to pieces because we walked everywhere, there is so much do and see. Visit the zoo, best zoo ever they have a massive variety of animals and a huge aquarium. Take a sat nav, I downloaded a Netherlands sat nav free on my iPhone off the apps store and it was a god send. All the streets look the same in Amsterdam and its really easy to get lost. Maps are confusing as its so hard to tell if your facing north! Don't be surprised by steep stairs, it's the same everywhere in Amsterdam.
Enjoy your trip x

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magicbean87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    108
    94
    38
    46
See reviews for
9
162
67
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

All the reviews are pretty much correct, very conveniently located hotel which was nice and clean, great Dutch breakfast, very steep stairs and a couple of grouchy bears. But all in all if you are looking for a cheap clean central hotel and service without a smile I would recommend a stay in the golden bear

A great quick lunch can be had just round the corner, B&B Lunchroom, delicious soups/sandwiches.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douzepoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Golden Bear over Queens Day weekend as everything else was so expensive. Why was this so cheap? The location was amazing, right in the middle of it all. We were worried. Ok, so it's not the fanciest of places and those stairs ARE killer, but the price was right, the room was clean, and the bath and shower were just down the way. We had a room facing the back (32) so noise wasn't a problem. We did visit the front facing room occupied by two friendly Canadians and it was a bit loud. Request one at the back if you're there on a party weekend. We arrived pretty early but our room was ready. I think it was luck of the draw as some people who arrive after us couldn't get their room til 3. Breakfast was great - we could never finish it all and they serve til almost noon - they know their crowd. It was nice meeting other travelers and comparing notes. Staff was friendly though they didn't have all the answers vis a vis how much taxis might be, where to get this or that, etc. The location was wonderful and I would go back. If you want a clean room, reasonable cost (at least when we went compared to the rest of the city), and a communal breakfast, give it a try. If you want service, your own bathroom, a concierge and a bell hop, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: back rooms were dead quiet. there was a party going on all afternoon and we were able to nap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IncurableTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel is rated as 1 star but I would say its probably 2. Theo was a friendly enough host but his colleague certainly wasn't. Breakfast was MASSIVE with cheese, meats and breads. The hotel is FOR SALE as I suspect Theo isn't wanting to deal with the required refurbishments. The rooms are ok but could definitely do with a little spruce up. I only paid 77 euro which is double the price of a local hostel but still worth the extra bucks! It is just down from Club Church if you want a nice bar :)

Room Tip: A lower level if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jourdan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
regensburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Recommendable. Very tiny and cosy, be aware of toilets and shower separate. Service not perfect, but hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#293 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#280 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#278 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing