We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #296 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & welcoming”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to all places in Amsterdam, it was close to a lot of the gay venues. The breakfast was good and no issue with getting any further food, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    108
    98
    40
    48
See reviews for
9
167
67
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

From Barcelona we stayed at the hotel five days to visit our son who works in Amsterdam. I had to order some extra service without any problem. No problem with language, because my English is not too fluid, were at all times very friendly. At any time you could you prepare a tea, a coffee, a soup in the same room. I would recommend to anyone for its good location and good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank menujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I will stay somewhere else the next time I am in Amsterdam. The staircases are dangerous and steep and the WIFI is horrendous. I had to walk downstairs to use the WIFI. It was not accessible on the 3rd and 4th floors.

I knew we had shared bathrooms as well, but there were fewer than 1 per floor. 50% chance you have to take the dangerous stairs to use the bathroom.

No elevator, which can be an issue if you are stuck on the 3rd or 4th floors. I do NOT have mobility issues, but the stairs were a problem, especially since I had to use them to get WIFI.

Breakfast was APPROPRIATELY later, which is a plus. One morning was bread, ham, bologna looking meat, and cheese. Another morning had eggs cooked to order. Being in Amsterdam, with late nights, it was nice to have breakfast go until 11am or noon.

Room Tip: Request the 1st 2 floors and the BACK of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctrever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have spent a considerable time, seeking convenient accommodation in Amsterdam and elected to stay at the Golden Bear. I made my booking via booking.com and received back confirmation of my booking which I have printed.
Shortly after ( and when other special offers had been snatched up), I received an e mail from the Golden Bear to tell me my booking had overlapped on the system and I did not now have the booking as described in my confirmation.
It seems to be the case that, when I submit my credit card details and enter into that contract with the Golden Bear, that I cannot cancel that without loosing money.The Golden Bear however can cancel that booking without any cost to them but at a cost to me.
To add insult to injury the manager corrected me for referring to this as a mistake and insisted it is not a "mistake"? - Discuss!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedkingNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

If there is another place to visit with cheaper rates and an attached toilet pls do so......I have no complaints about having to use a toilet outside but if there isnt any soap or a clean shower room then I would have to pass....its not easy waking up at 4am having to walk the narrow steps to the toilet....having said breakfast was sufficient but not great and in limited quantity.....now for the positive part....the location is good....with the trams just 2 minutes walk away and De Klos restaurant just above the street which serves the best pork ribs and lamb shank.

Rooms facing the street are almost impossible to sleep so beware

Should be paying less for the facilities

Room Tip: Take the top floors to sleep peacefully but beware the toilet is on the lower floor, only a sink in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanashi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

A small traditional hotel well situated in central Amsterdam. The room was a small double on the second floor rear. Access is difficult in these small Dutch hotels and this was no different with steep winding staircase almost like a ladder. The room needed a total makeover for the price and the black mould on the ceiling and wall did not make it a smart room. The shared toilet and shower facilities were very clean if small. The shower was in need of a new shower head but was hot and powerful. Breakfast was simple and good enough, though the dining area is very small and cannot accommodate all the hotel guests at one time, so you might end up waiting for a space. The Dutch owners are pleasant and very Dutch, so can seem brusque, but it's just their way, they are friendly if you scratch under the surface.

I will not stay here again..

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SipandSample
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#112 of 368 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 368 in Amsterdam
281 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#301 of 368 in Amsterdam
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 368 in Amsterdam
468 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#315 of 368 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 368 in Amsterdam
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing