We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #305 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay”
Reviewed 19 December 2006

I stayed at the Golden Bear earlier this year and will highly recommend it to everyone. It is a small hotel in comparison to the others, but becasue of that, it was more personable and just the best time. The staff (who spoke better english than I) was VERY helpful.

Okay... I stayed in the top-top room. It was a pain to get up to, but ABSOLUTELY THE MOST ROMANTIC PLACE TO STAY (stay there - it's a little more money - but more than worth it). It overlooks the tops of the buildings and even gets a sunrise. You can open the window and there isn't a huge amount of traffic or noise. The best afternoon was when we came home from the Van Gogh Museum and went to the room, opened the window and was able to hear a kids birthday party next door - you can't get that in one of the big hotels.

I just got back from Amsterdam, in November, and stayed at one of the big hotels and HATED it. EVERY time I passed the Golden Bear, I cried to stay there. I plan to go for Queens day in 07 and will stay at the Golden Bear.

AGAIN, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. I plan to spend part of my honeymoon there.... now... to get a husband...

  • Liked — The room was amazing, above everything on the street
  • Disliked — The staris to go up to the top-top room are VERY steep
  • Tips/Secrets — BOOK EARLY
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juju-BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    109
    100
    42
    50
See reviews for
9
170
67
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Hudson Valley, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2006

I have read all the current reviews of this hotel, and am shocked by the negative experiences of some guests; theirs does not match mine at all. I found the hotel in 2001, and have stayed there for two weeks every year in September through 2006. I find the facility perfect for my needs, the staff is always friendly, courteous and helpful, and that is everyone. I have spent much time chatting with them, we joke and laugh and have good conversations, and I even email them throughout the year; I look forward to seeing them again on my next visit. I stay in the same room each time because it is perfect for me, and now feels like 'home'. The room is immaculate, comfortable and pleasant; I always feel safe and secure. I share a toilet and shower, and that has never been a problem. They are always pristine, probably cleaner than my home bathroom. Breakfast is served late, always plentiful and fresh, with an ample variety, and eggs and ham on Sundays. Yes, the stairs are steep. That is the Amsterdam style. One should travel lightly anyway. Never had a problem with locks, keys or securtiy, and I suspect the guest who lost money and a cell phone was the victim of pick-pockets throughout the city, not the staff or other guests at the hotel! Location is superb; it is quiet and very convenient. Mosquitos have only been an occassional problem, but Amsterdam does not know from screens, and the staff provided an aerosol spray which was helpful. In summation, the hotel is a great value - best price for a small comfortable hotel I know, and I've never met another guest who wasn't enjoying their stay at The Golden Bear, and why anyone would not be happy there is beyond my comprehension.

  • Liked — clean, convenient and resonable rates
  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — book early, stay late
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rupe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2006

Great little hotel with friendly staff always ready for a laugh. I stay here several times a year, and have never had a serious problem at all. Good location, very clean, and with a good breakfast. I feel at home when I am here.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank tallguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2006

I enjoyed my 10 day stay in Amsterdam at Hotel The Golden Bear in Nov 2006, and I'm happy to report that my visit was overall very positive. In fact, I'm planning on returning next year for another stay. (When I first booked my room, I was a worried having read the negative reviews on TripAdvisor, so I decided it would be helpful to include my experience here.)

Positive:
-Warm-hearted staff, bent over backwards to be accomodating
-Excellent free fast Wi-Fi in every room
-Clean showers, bathrooms and room
-friendly cleaning staff, who I trusted to be in my room
-small safes in every room
-Reasonable cancellation policy
-wonderful central location
-Contemporary IKEA style furnishings
-comfortable matresses and pillows
-room prices are a good value

Negative:
-Doors don't lock automatically, so remember to deadbolt lock your door using your key.
-I slept soundly when I used earplugs after discovering that the sound of doors being locked/unlocked, and the stairway were loud enough to wake me up the first night. (obviously this varies on your room location, and the hotel is a bit noisier on weekends.
-The hotel does not offer non-smoking rooms, however they are exploring this for next year I'm told. I found the smell of smoke in the 2 rooms I stayed in to be minimal to non-existant. Large windows make it easy to air out the room.
-staircases are the extremely steep narrow Amsterdam spiral kind. I traveled with 1 carryon suitcase so it was no problem for me. However, I can see trying to take a 50 lb, larger checked bag could be challenging.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank urhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2006

We agree with Kosporo, Toronto, very surprised at the negative feedback. This is a wonderful place to stay. It is ideally situated for the trams and nightlife, the rooms are clean (and cleaned daily), of a decent size, do not smell, the doors lock, the bathrooms are great, the decor is clearly recently re-done and well planned, the staff are very accomodating and friendly, (as is the cat), the breakfasts are delicious and just what you'd expect in Amsterdam. The price is on par with other similarly rated hotels, and we would not hesitate in staying here again nor in recommending it to our friends.
Lets face it, if you want to roll in drunk and leave your door unlocked thats nobodys fault but your own.
Just visit their website, it's great!
Russell & Mark, UK. xx

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — the spiral staircase
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank russelluk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2006

Surprised to read the negative reviews of the Golden Bear. I stayed there for four nights and found it to be a great little place. It's well located, the staff are friendly, the breakfast was great (a typical Dutch-style breakfast, served until a decent hour!!), and the room was comfortable.
The web-site gives lots of info, and the place was pretty much as I expected from what I had seen on-line: I had no problems with smells, and the room was cleaned every day.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone I knew who was visiting Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Location and Staff
  • Disliked — No gripes!
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the web-site
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasproso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Where to begin? The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is good. Beds are ok and bathrooms not bad. I didn't have a problem with noise or mosquitos, but other travellers certainly did. The rooms are smallish and smoke-infested. My friend's room didn't get cleaned one day, which they claimed was because they were too busy. The breakfast is kind of horrible but better than nothing.

Worst problem is the room doors don't automatically lock. My friend came in tired and drunk Saturday night and neglected to lock his door. In the morning he couldn't find his mobile phone nor his money! Disastrous.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — theives, price, smoke
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MutsuiJackarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdambear, owner at Hotel The Golden Bear, responded to this review, 6 December 2006
It is very difficult to get the smoke smell out of the room. Sometimes guests smoek hasj or something else and that makes it even more difficult.
As from 2007 on we will start with some smoke-free rooms as more and more guests are asking for it.
The friend did not report anything about the theft to the receptionist. He was drunk, so need I to say more?
Maybe he already lost his money and phone in a bar somewhere!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#131 of 369 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#274 of 369 in Amsterdam
579 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 369 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#307 of 369 in Amsterdam
653 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#279 of 369 in Amsterdam
289 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#325 of 369 in Amsterdam
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing