We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hostel Ever, Do Not Stay Here”
Review of Hostel Aroza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Aroza
Ranked #207 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Hostel Ever, Do Not Stay Here”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Worst hostel I have ever been to. Knowing the price I had low expectations, but it was very still very disappointing. We checked in, no towels or sheets like we had been promised. Honestly all I wanted was a place to crash and keep my stuff safe, but with no lock on our room's door and only lockers in basement I did not feel safe. On top of that they overbooked and kicked us out on the second night even though we paid and had a receipt. The service was awful, needless to say. Not reliable or safe, but dirt cheap.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collegekid415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    18
    15
    37
See reviews for
1
5
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We were a group of friends and stayed at Hotel Aroza at begin of July. We only stayed one night and at this time it´s hard to find a hotel in Amsterdam - especially when it´s only for a night. They were confused about the reservations but we got our room - only two other guests were put in another room - or at least their belongings.
We shared an eight bed room and the beds were comfortable. The room had it´s own bathroom with good water supply. The breakfast was sparsely, two pieces of bread with jam and a cup of coffe or thea. But there was a time regulation for breakfast. One of us, was 4 minutes late and so he would have to pay extra for his breakfast.
All in all the hotel was a little bit filthy and dark, but tolerable. The price of 35 Euro per night is quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Arrived in Amsterdam 20.30 no place to stay, Usual place I stay booked out walked a short distance found this place. Went in found a young friendly Scottish lassie Cheryl working behind the counter. That swung it for me!!! Got 3 nights in a double room for 210 Euro, For the bird and I. Not bad 70 a night. Got the room MASSIVE king size comfy bed it (came in handy) some cool art work on the walls and a bathroom stayed in worse!! Just try Jimmy's down the road......
Second night roof in bathroom had a big leak informed johnny and he promptly sorted it and cleaned up.
No drink behind the bar just buy the cheap drink next door at Albert Hiza the Asda of the dam and drink it in the hostel bar. Can smoke Grass and Hash in bar but no stinky Fags!!!
There is a couple of bongs that can be used in hostel sadly there was no Goz sorted that as soon as I could.
There is 2 computers half hour for 1 Euro.
Conclusion: Very nice, friendly and helpful staff (and 1 is Scottish), Hostel in an excellent location and had great atmosphere in the place itself. Bong was good could maybe supply wipes or something, Couple of good bars couple of doors down, Very nice room and was good to have a bathroom in the room for a change you will know what i mean if you have been to the dam on the cheap a few times.
The only real bad point about this place was i was ravaged by bed bugs my bird swears it was not her..... But honestly 4 days after coming home and im still itching away. So overall 8/10 for budget travellers.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caperstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

yes recently i stayed at the hotel aroza in amsterdam in which i was awakened in the morning with huge bumps in my head and on my back and face..not only was there no compensation for the night however there was after a long explanation of why the bed bugs are there and how they exterminate for them every 3rd week which means they aware of the bugs and do not inform customers of this fact i was then accused of bringing the bugs with em because no one else in the room had bites.. this is ridiculous and very unprofessional and now i have the problem of cleaning all of my clohes and throwing out my suitcase bcause of this and then refuse to give me a refund for this noght!!!! i would highly not recommend this space.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bitten111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

This place was booked at the last minute but if you can afford to pay a little extra get a 1star hotel or maybe 3 for the price because we had the unfortunate experience of seeing RATS.

When we told the receptionist he ignored us.


Typical - definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EventTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

I stayed here last minute and if you're looking around last minute then this is directed at you.

This hostel is basic in terms of amenities there's "breakfast" included but it's pretty terrible. But at the end of the day this is a clean, secure, well located hostel with a cool, friendly vibe.

The bar is alcohol free (smoking is very welcome) and there's couches and a pool table. There's not much nightlife in the hostel itself but you're very well positioned to go out and get some. And there's no lock-out.

Basically there are many hostels which sound like they are bigger, with better breakfasts and bars on site where you can mingle with dozens of backpackers but all of these get booked out months in advance.

But if you're looking last minute this place is a good bet - it's basic but clean and the price is fair. Everyone who stayed there while I did was happy with it.

If you rock up around 10.30am (after people have checked out) you can just ask over the counter for a bed and you should be right.

Helpful?
4 Thank Gemima33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#229 of 367 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 367 in Amsterdam
922 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#123 of 367 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,412 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Aroza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Aroza

Property: Hostel Aroza
Address: Nieuwendijk 23, 1012 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ónly a few minutes walk from the Central Station a cosy small budget hostel at the famous shopping street Nieuwendijk, with a lot of restaurants, bars and coffeeshops. Located in the centre of town near the CS with all its connections our hostel offers you a lot of possibilities to explore our city and its surroundings. Just walk, rent a bike, or take public transport or canalboat to visit a site in the city. To other places in Holland the traveling time is limited, so you'll have ample opportunities to discover the beauties of our wonderful country. Since 1989 we accommodate guests from all over the world, both young and old, mainly backpackers.Every room/dorm has its own en-suite bathroom with shower. In the lobby we serve hot and cold drinks, and there is a Tv, pool table and internet. Our staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Aroza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing