We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheapest Hostel in central Amsterdam.”
Review of Hostel Aroza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostel Aroza
Ranked #204 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
“Cheapest Hostel in central Amsterdam.”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Hostel Aroza was the cheapest night we could find in central Amsterdam and in perfect location. It is clearly signed from Amsterdam Central Station & is in perfect location to Amsterdams attractions.

However, there were some issues with the hostel. When coming back to our room we found other people in the room and all of our property had disappeared. After worrying about our things being stolen, we found out that we had been moved into another room without being informed. We found our things thrown into a pile. On inspection we found that items were missing. It was only later that night that we saw the staff with it. Obviously we weren't very impressed. On another occasion the manager was extremely rude to a member of the group for no apparent reason, shouting in the reception area and smashing a glass in the bin.

The only saving grace for the hostel was the location & price. I wouldn't recommend this hostel to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisFitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    18
    15
    37
See reviews for
1
5
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Hostel Aroza is cheap and cheerful and perfect accommodation for a lads holiday, this is definitely not the place to take your wife or girlfriend, it is a bit run down and a bit of a dump, the dorm was filthy and the bathroom disgusting but the staff were brilliant and it felt relatively secure there. As Hostels go it was probably good - if you want cheap, secure accommodation you could probably do a lot worse and I would recommend it, it is less than 5 minutes walk from the station or the RDL so in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu7119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here, a group of 7 for 3/4 nights. We arrived in Amsterdam, in the height of summer with no where to stay, and we felt lucky that we found a hostel near the centre and train station. It was around €30 a night, which frankly, was a complete rip off. The room was average, bathroom was pretty awful and everything was very basic. No lockers in rooms, but there are some in the basement, although you will need your own padlock.

Staff were nice and friendly, and you get a complimentary breakfast (of toast and jam). The cleaner was a NUTTER, he doesn't speak much english and would burst into our room shouting at us in thai.

Basically, you can do a lot better for €30 a night, but if you're not fussy and just need somewhere to sleep, then this may suit you, but don't expect any niceties.

You can't smoke in rooms which was a down side for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

No hot water, staff was not friendly, I doubt that the rooms were cleaned before we moved in. In other words run away!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chag_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My friend and I came across Aroza hostel when we were looking for a cheap central hostel. Unfortunately, being central and cheap is all it has going for it. From the moment we first checked in we started noticing all the problems.
* One key per dorm, which meant that if other people in your room came home in the middle of the night, they would bang on the door and you are expected to get out of bed and open it for them
*Their "secure" luggage room is the basement where the cleaner/receptionist sleeps on a mattress on the floor. The basment has no lock on the door and is easily accessable to anyone in the hostel.
*Don't expect a warm nights sleep, the thin duvet basically did nothing. Slept with my own towel as an extra blanket (never seemed to find the towel they were meant to supply me), two pairs of trousers with stockings and thermal trousers underneath, two thermal singlets, a long sleeved top, jumper, woolen cardigan, two pairs of socks and my winter coat on top as another blanket and i only just felt warm because of their lack of heating and blankets.
*the bathroom i don't think was cleaned in the three days we were there. It was colder than outside because of the tiles and the bath mats were never changed so you got to step onto a wet floor and wet bath mat before and after shower. the showerhead was not attached to the wall so it was interesting to try and manouver that whilst showering. the toilet paper rolls didn't have a bin you could place them in when empty and of course the empty rolls were in the bathroom the whole time of stay. spare toilet paper is scarce and is kept in the bedroom rather than the bathroom so you might want to hope you can yell out to someone to pass you a spare roll.
*the smoking area was not shut off from the rest of the common room and so if you are a non smoker it definately doesn't feel like that after an hour or so in the common room.
*don't expect any privacy, because you have no lock on the door Johnny (the cleaner/receptionist) tends to burst through the dorm room door at any time. there is obviously no respect or professionalism because he felt it necessary to walk in with any girl who was staying in our dorm when they arrived home and it doesn't make you feel safe or comfortable knowing any staff member can come into the girls dorm whenever they please without even a polite knock on the door.
*One of the girls staying in our dorm told us that the night before we arrived a random lady was apparently allowed to come into the room to sleep in the bunk above her and when she let herself in she almost spewed on the girl sleeping on the bottom bunk and only missed because the girl had woke up from the noise and proceeded to ask her what she was doing and so this random lady spewed on her bed and the floor. wasn't a very comforting story because we saw this lady hanging around the common room for the rest of our stay and she didn't seem to be a guest, more like a friend and so it wasn't a good feeling when you knew anyone could come through your dorm door at any time to do what they please.

Overall the place is dirty, unsafe, and should be shut down.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were four. Mom and dad in 60's and daughter and her boyfriend early 20's. We chose the private room for three nights. I think that this will go down as our best experience of 2012 and we will talk about it for the rest of our lives. If you are looking for cold service, 5 star accommodations don't come here. If you are looking for warm people and a visit to the past this place is AWESOME! Our wall murals were quite a source of speculation and discussion as we chilled out our day. Must go with open mind and you will have a wonderful experience. Thanks for being there from two old hippies.

Room Tip: if you are travelling in a group you can arrange for a private room. Otherwise there are dorms set...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Worst hostel I have ever been to. Knowing the price I had low expectations, but it was very still very disappointing. We checked in, no towels or sheets like we had been promised. Honestly all I wanted was a place to crash and keep my stuff safe, but with no lock on our room's door and only lockers in basement I did not feel safe. On top of that they overbooked and kicked us out on the second night even though we paid and had a receipt. The service was awful, needless to say. Not reliable or safe, but dirt cheap.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collegekid415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Multatuli
Hotel Multatuli
#219 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#128 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#33 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
Renaissance Amsterdam Hotel
#88 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
Amsterdam Hostel Uptown
#197 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Aroza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Aroza

Property: Hostel Aroza
Address: Nieuwendijk 23, 1012 LZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ónly a few minutes walk from the Central Station a cosy small budget hostel at the famous shopping street Nieuwendijk, with a lot of restaurants, bars and coffeeshops. Located in the centre of town near the CS with all its connections our hostel offers you a lot of possibilities to explore our city and its surroundings. Just walk, rent a bike, or take public transport or canalboat to visit a site in the city. To other places in Holland the traveling time is limited, so you'll have ample opportunities to discover the beauties of our wonderful country. Since 1989 we accommodate guests from all over the world, both young and old, mainly backpackers.Every room/dorm has its own en-suite bathroom with shower. In the lobby we serve hot and cold drinks, and there is a Tv, pool table and internet. Our staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Aroza Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing