We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Nr 1 Organic Market”
Review of Noordermarkt

Noordermarkt
Ranked #76 of 516 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Your Nr 1 Organic Market”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

This market has been known by locals as the most outstanding local organic market in Amsterdam. The market allows you to buy amazing locale produce and other organic products! If you love organic products; this is the place to visit!!!!

Helpful?
Thank MichaWorldWideTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    94
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing market”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Visite Waterlooplein in the morning and this market in the afternoon. What a difference! The locals go here because the food is fresh and reasonably priced.the market is in two parts with the flea market part being closer to the canal. Really worth going to and a lot of bargains to be had.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Waiariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great shopping and people watching”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had read about the Noordemarkt before our trip and knew we had to check it out for the Monday Market, which has more clothing, antiques, books, shoes, purses, honestly anything! There were some stalls with food items, but the food market is more on Saturday. There were so many tents to wander around and check out all the amazing finds, vintage purses, new shoes and dresses, jewelry, fabric for curtains or making clothes, scarfs, housewares. Honestly I think you could find anything you need or want here. It was a great way to immerse yourself in the Dutch culture and see all the interesting types of people and things. I purchased a beautiful ring and we bought a leather bound notebook for our friend. There are many musicians around so the air is filled with music and chatter. The little pubs and restaurants aroung the market are brimming with people eating delicious apple pies and carrot cakes with their biers and cappacinos. What more could you want!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WaywardWander9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Aromas, tastes, sounds - bags of fun”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Noordemarkt is fairly central in Amsterdam, on the Prinsengracht. There's a great buzz about the place and for good reason. Locals and tourists gather here for the great atmosphere and fantastic range of quality food and other items for sale. You will probably be well entertained by excellent musicians, too.

Whether it's vegetables, breads and cakes, cheeses, fruit, or even clothes, antique porcelain or bric-a-brac, I heartily recommend a visit. We were staying on a canal boat nearby and purchased a great variety of superb food for breakfasts and dinners.

There are loads of cafes and bars right there, as well as another market just around the corner (the Lindengracht).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank longbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome if you're looking to cook”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in Jordaan in a rented apartment. We were originally thinking of going out because it was my boyfriend's birthday, but were so thrilled with the fantastic selection (especially of fresh fish) that we decided to cook. There was a stand with the freshest oysters I've ever had and razor clams that were still alive. Fantastic food!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Noordermarkt also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Noordermarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing