We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful visit”

Prinsengracht Canal House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prinsengracht Canal House
Ranked #172 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We were frequent visitors to The Canal House many years ago when the hotel was under the original ownership. We decided to return this year to celebrate a special anniversary. It was a real joy. The new owners have refurbished the hotel with exquisite taste while retaining all the original charm. The service was excellent, the staff very helpful. Despite the extra years, we managed the stairs! However, the hotel now has a lift and guests who have difficulty with stairs can request rooms which are accessible via the lift. I have frequently recommended this hotel for its charm, perfect location and great service. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
There are newer reviews for Prinsengracht Canal House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

I can't say enough nice things about this hotel. It is the "real" Amsterdam: friendly Dutch family-owned, on the prettiest canal in the city, and the real canal-house experience. We had a room on the top floor which was very warm (there is no air conditioning) but we opened the windows and were just find. The bathroom was right down the hall and we never had to wait for it. The rooms are cozy and charming and clean. The beds are comfortable. The only even slightly negative thing about this hotel is its breakfast - basically, a few different types of bread and a toaster - but it's included in the price of the room, so you're getting what you pay for there. Go down the street to a "brown cafe" and have a real meal on the cheap.

The location is one of its greatest assets - you can walk to and from everywhere here, including the train station, the Red Light District, Anne Frank House, the Rijksmuseum, etc. Amsterdam is just a beautiful city and there's no better value than the Hotel Prinsengracht.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PicadillyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Apartment information is inaccurate as it mentions that only
1 flight of stairs when in actual, it's 2 flights. it is crucial to describe with precision on stairs as some of your occupants may well have health issues that causes them to either not be able to climb or carry luggage for so many stairs. The staircases in the Canal Apartments are very very steep and carrying luggages up and down can hurt one's back.
Also, you need to travel to the office to get hte keys before going again the apartment which is a big hassle if you have luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wschoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

My wife and I (mid 30's) stayed at the Prinsengracht Canal house at the beginning of August 2007, and were overall quite happy. The area is very quiet and seemingly safe residential area out of any main tourist zone, so you have the feeling of being with local Amsterdamers.
Fabulous cafes, Michelin recommended restaurants, bars and a couple of superb bakeries and a delicatessen are just around the corner.
We had a Type D room which is very pleasant and has plenty of space for 2 people. We'd say slightly overpriced for what you get.
Be sure to ask for a canal view if that is what you want, as half the apartments within the building face out over neighbours to the rear. Noise from apartments above can be a problem if you have a group of late night partiers on top of your head - (thumping feet and bass from the massively overpowered subwoofer supplied in every room).
Be warned the stairs are incredibly steep (they should be called ladders really - no joke!), so big suitcases could case problems for anyone with strength/back/knee problems.
The bathroom is very small with a lack of any shelves for putting toiletries, - a pity when making it another half metre wider would have had no effect on the main room - it does the job but is far from enjoyable being in there.

The room has most things you need to be self contained:
- Expresso coffee machine and kettle
- Microwave/oven
- Gas stovetop/burners
- Plates, pots, pans, etc
- HD flat screen TV (but terrible reception from the aerial) and DVD/hifi system
- Dining table, chairs, etc
- The fold down double bed is made from 2 single inner spring mattresses - quite firm
- Sheets, pillows, towels, etc are all good quality
- Some cupboard storage for clothes and open rack for hanging clothes

What it doesn't have:
- No phone or internet connectivity. (and we failed to find an internet cafe within easy walking distance. Nearest public phone seemed to be about a 10 minute walk away)
- No clothes washing/drying machine (kitchen sink is OK for hand washing)
- No clothes drying line - fixed or pull-out rope type
- No full length mirror (just the small vanity mirror in the bathroom)
- No ironing board (but an iron is supplied)
- (Not) Enough clothes hangers (we only had 6 between 2 people)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tokyoshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2006

We stayed in the Prinsengracht canal house. The house in general isn't at all as pretty as it looks on the website. Our second set of keys didn't work on the outside door, the dishwasher didn't work and a door next to the bed on the top floor bedroom wouldn't close properly and had a sheer drop of about two meters without any warning on the door! We did inform a member of stayamsterdam staff about the dishwasher not working and about some bites received by a member of our party which we suspected at the time to be bedbug bites and she said she would try to get the dishwasher fixed but couldn't guarantee anything, which was the last we heard from her.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pault8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,191 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
746 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#54 of 371 in Amsterdam
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
Bij Tijn op de Gracht
#102 of 337 in Amsterdam
26 reviews
Jordaan
AMS Suites
AMS Suites
#65 of 337 in Amsterdam
108 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#34 of 238 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prinsengracht Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinsengracht Canal House

Address: Prinsengracht, 1074 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £153 - £453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Prinsengracht Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Prinsengracht Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinsengracht Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing