We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in the Flipper Hotel..”
Review of Hotel Flipper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flipper
Ranked #314 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    64
    62
    36
    79
See reviews for
25
68
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The only cleaning done in the room was the bedsheets.

I walked in a couple of times and asked for Room 11's key, and they just handed it to me without security checking.

Toilets dirty.

Some staff unfriendly.




  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2013

after having the worst hotel stay of my life i thought id write this review to save people from the same experence we had. started with a large room then got told we had to move to a box room with no window or toilet. none english speeking staff, dirty, cold, and run down. please please do yrselfs a favour and spend a little bit more on somewhere else. did have a lovly time in the city when out just a shame to come back to the hotel at the end of the night!

Room Tip: antwhere but there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I booked then read Tripadvisor reviews, so we were pleasantly surprised. Bit hard to find, and steep stairs but it's an Amsterdam townhouse! Room very small but clean and a double bed. Rain pattering on the skylight lulled us to sleep. Shared bathroom fine, and shampoo/shower gel provided. Great for overnight stay, and the central station is a leisurely walk away....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

this was a terrible hotel its different in.the picture...We reserved two bed rooms but when we enter our room theres a 3 bed rooms..and its hot in the room so we need to open the window.The room is so small the arrangent was not good.The firsy night was a nightmare we cant sleep because we was scracthing until in the morning.I woke up in.the morning i.had 10 bites over my face..my neck all.over my body.When we ask the reception*chinese girl*if we can changed our room the reception said that the hotel.is full and you will be leaving tomorrow morning.)so.we dont have choice..we sleep again.that room.but we have coverd in our face with a small towel..we dont use again the bedsheet.the chinese girl is not totally helpful..we ask if there's a near pharmcy and she said the yes and she give the direction.but she dont tell.us that the pharmacy is already closed.

The stairs is very tiny and dangerous.
the payment of extra person is.so expensive eventhough she stay 3 hours you must pay 33€..and breakfast its depends of types of room..The breakfast in this hotel.is so simple. its totally different in the picture.in.their site.
The street was dark...and scary.


Better to look other hotel..and i dont recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jereomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed there with friends earlier this month. The rooms were very very small with only a skylight. We felt like prisoners, but paying for the privilege!! The rooms are very shabby with no space to place your luggage (without blocking the doorway!)

They tried to charge for breakfast, even though we each said we didnt intend to dine in the hotel. The walls are wafer thin so you can hear your neighbours very well! The hotel reception cannot speak English very well.. or Dutch for that matter!!

Oh, and they wanted 5% surcharge when paying by credit card!!! I could not believe how a so-called 'hotel' can get away with that! These Chinese owners obviously strongly prefer cash in the hand!

There are so many other choices in Amsterdam. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE look elsewhere!! I realised afterwards they dont have a cancellation policy on most of their rooms - I'm sure alot of people change their minds after booking, but tied in at that point to the 'Flipper Prison'

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abc776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I'm a student so I'm used to low cost accommodation and so I wasn't expexcting much when we paid 100 each for the hotel for 3 nights..
The receptionist was beyond rude and so unhelpful it wasn't even funny- we paid online via Booking.com and when we got to the hotel the receptionist told us (rudely) we had to pay 136Euro deposit on a credit card to ensure the room- which we were not told when we booked. She assured us we would get this back when we left the hotel- which we haven't and are still waiting for!
-You have to leave the key at reception whenever you leave the building which is a pain when there's a queue at reception.
-The rooms were tiny and the bathroom door wouldn't shut properly until we moved the beds around!

The hotel itself is in a pretty good location with the tram station just at the end of the road..However I'd have rather paid an extra £30 and stayed more in centre and at a better hotel.
Overall- good location but the reception staff and the overall state of the hotel/b&b ruined it!
Wouldn't stay here again

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olachickennuggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#207 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,056 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#294 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,885 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#167 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#271 of 367 in Amsterdam
571 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#324 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#267 of 367 in Amsterdam
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flipper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flipper

Property: Hotel Flipper
Address: Borssenburgstraat 1-5, 1078 VA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Flipper 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flipper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flipper Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing