We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place - extremely dirty”
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Croydon
Ranked #364 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have never seen a place this dirty. The room in which i stayed wasn't cleaned for a week "because the persons in the room did not change". Not to mention the bugs and mice that were wondering around.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ileana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Hostel in center of Amsterdam. All location are closer. But rooms 8 and 9 on the 3rd floor are very far.
Discount in Irish Pub 20% and Waffels 10%. Hot water. Good tv, but without remote control. Very qaute place. The best location in Amsterdam.





  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alexey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A bunk in a room of 8 for €30: ok, a big football match in town so hotel prices were ridiculous. Lady on the desk was nice when I arrived but at 10 am some rude little man prodded me and asked if I was checking out.

Out of interest I asked the man on the desk how much the beds were the next nights: €45 at the weekend! That night I stayed in an en suite twin room in a proper hotel on the Herengracht for the same price per head.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Adcock A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The location is perfect, in the middle of the red light district, but in contrast, the facilities of the Hotel are above any other hotel I have seen in my life before. It is impossible to go upstairs without crawling, and there is nothing appart from dirty and abandoned rooms (no living room, no public toilet, etc..). And all of that lack of comfort for a rip off. I paid 40 euros per night for sleeping in a shack. The only positive aspect, the location, for the rest, the worst Hotel ever.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Manuelmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you're the lone traveler like me, you're probably gonna try to find the cheapest place to live. "It's all about what you do in the city, not where you sleep...cause after all, you'll be spending most of your time outside, right?" Trust me, this place may be cheap, but heed my advice, and DO NOT STAY HERE!

It is not only the worst dwelling i have ever had the misfortune of staying at but probably one of the worst in the world!

If you have a suitcase with you, good luck getting it upstairs. The staircase is the MOST NARROWEST AND STEEPEST staircase I have ever witnessed. You'll be carrying your suitcase upwards of about an 80 degree angle. It's plain ridiculous!

The moment you step into the hostel, you'll no doubt smell the scent of pot. It is Amsterdam after all, but you'd think you'd at least be able to sleep without the smell of marijuana lingering the room trying to get up your nostrils. Well, if you're as unfortunate as me, you'll probably have a jobless obese pothead in your room who just watches tv and smokes all day.

The showers are just as bad. I'm not usually too picky with where I live but this bathroom was like showering in a utility room. Disgusting stuff, trust me!

The experience I had here was absolutely horrible! If you're a traveler, I highly recommend you maybe just fork up a little bit extra for a better more social hostel. This one is just not worth the time or toil. The only benefit of it is that you're close to the Red Light District.

Just avoid it! Please! Or better...Couchsurf!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonoAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

The place is only 1 street behind red light district, so we try to go back hotel before 7pm as after that, the street very noisy n felt unsafe. In the hotel, we facing difficulty moving our luggage as the staircase is very narrow. If those bringing big luggage, I have no idea how they r taking the luggage in. The toilet also not so clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szehwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
XO Hotels City Centre Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,119 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#331 of 376 in Amsterdam
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#126 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,401 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#268 of 376 in Amsterdam
215 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#64 of 376 in Amsterdam
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Address: Warmoes Straat 75, 1012 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £21 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing