We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Friendly staff, Great Location and Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #183 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly staff, Great Location and Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

WE booked this hotel from Canada based on reviews and location, as we had never been to Amsterdam before. Arrived at the airport, found our bus which dropped us off about about a 8 min walk from hotel. Staff were fantastic, let us check in early and out room was clean, warm and the beds were comfortable. We decided to purchase breakfast for the following morning which was a very good value and convenient. Staff made suggestions for dinner, which was very helpful. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    698
    364
    104
    62
See reviews for
243
670
78
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed in a three bed room over a long weekend. Great location, near the square and within walking distance to all the sights - or right near a tram stop, if you don't want to walk. Check in was quick and easy, the staff very friendly and helpful (with directions and booking taxis etc.) and all spoke excellent English. Happy hour in the bar is 5-6pm - half price beer and wine!

The room was just big enough and the beds VERY comfy, with two large pillows (such a rarity in hotels!) and our towels etc were refreshed even when we did not get the full maid service. Overall a great choice, especially for the bargain price we paid, and we loved the local area.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed there with my partner. I asked for a great view if poss and i got it! Well done thank you! :-) It is a great spot in central Amsterdam just minutes walking everywhere such as Rijksmuseum. The Hotel is very nice, especially reception team such a great help. Once very nice receptionist helped me to log off my gmail on pc which is always terribly difficult to me. very nice little gift shop on the side as well.

Room Tip: lift a bit slow but top floor always nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muru777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahía Blanca, Argentina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very good hotel. Good relation between price and service. Location is very good, a little appart
from the historical zone but in a quiet area and yet in walking distance from everywhere.
If you don't feel like walking, there are tram connections to the most important sites in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica053_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. Very quiet , off the main roads, very easy reach to everywhere , room only , but would stay again lovely comfy beds . Rooms are dated but very clean , towels , toiletries provided , hair dryer , pack and go . Staff helpful .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Rooms are maybe a little tired, but are clean. The street is quiet and I didn't have problems falling asleep. Staff is friendly and helpful. The best part of staying here was being only a 5 minute walk from the Rijk Museum, as well as the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums. The Liedseplein area itself is a little touristy, but it's definitely fun to walk around or grab dinner in one of the many restaurants. If you're wanting to stay closer to the Central Station, this probably isn't your place. It's about a 30 min. walk away. That being said, the tram is only one street over.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and would consider staying here again if I return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed in February for 4 nights room only. The room was on the 1st floor as there is currently renovations on the ground floor. The room was spacious and clean and well maintained by the staff. The only downside is that at night when people were waking through the corridors they were loud (not the hotels fault) and the main corridor door banged and it was very loud. The staff at reception were very friendly and all spoke English. They were always helpful, giving me a map of Amsterdam and telling me where things were as well as giving me more tea bags when requested. The price was very good, we booked breakfast for the 1st morning for a price of 10e which seemed ok. The breakfast itself was ok there was cereal, toast, fruit, croissants and muffins as well as hot and cold drinks. The hotels location was excellent and is a short walk from Leidesplein where there is a tram stop and plenty of restaurants. Would stay again and defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraftDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#120 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#135 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#163 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 ET Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Leidse Square Hotel)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing