We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Hegde_n
london

Brilliant Experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2012
Booked the master bedroom - it was a last minute booking and had no time to review what other's had written.
Spent 2 nights, the room we stayed in was Xaviera & her partner's room - spacious with a balcony. The only drawback was that the wardrobes were full up with her clothes :-)
The house is like a museum, really liked it + all the pictures !

The care taker (sorry forgot his name) was very friendly & helpful. Xaviera/partner were away, would have loved to meet them, may be next time! Amsterdam centre is a good 20 mins+ walk.

Highly recommend this place, there is parking as well....for an extra charge.
Date of stay: August 2012
Room Tip: Master bedroom if it's available !
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£159
  • Expedia.com
    £161
  • Agoda.com
    £133
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£134
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £134
  • Agoda.com
    £116
  • Priceline
1.4 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£240
  • Tripadvisor
    £240
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £240
2.1 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Exterior
£231
  • Booking.com
    £232
  • travelup.com
    £201
  • Expedia.com
    £231
2.3 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£143
  • Expedia.com
    £143
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Vio.com
3.0 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
£108
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    £91
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£444
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £408
  • Expedia.com
    £482
1.9 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£433
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    £433
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £432
1.5 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Site
    £289
  • Agoda.com
    £274
  • travelup.com
    £332
1.5 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £92
  • Agoda.com
    £82
  • Expedia.com
    £92
3.8 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
56
37
8
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
37
8
2
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We booked this bed and breakfast with a little speculation. However when we got to Amsterdam we were pleasantly surprised at the apartment that we were given for our short stay. It belonged to a local artist and we had his place all to ourselves. It was a great way to be able to get up at our leisure and make our own breakfast with a fully stocked refrigerator. It was close to the main city centre and in a nice neighborhood. Its a 30 minute walk to the main attractions and we like to walk! The owner of the apartment was very nice and we recommend to anyone when booking here to request The Artist as the room to reserve. It was well worth the money and the experience!!

Room tip: Choose The Artist room. This way you will have the whole place to yourself and you can make your own breakfast and be able to enjoy yourself from a local point of view.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I spent three nights at the B&B with my boyfriend and two friends. We all enjoyed iving there, and found the location good, the people friendly and carring. However, this place is very special so I would prob not recommend it to families. But friends and couples who want to experience the core of Amsterdam - this is the place, and I would go there again. Note that they have animals, so if you are allergic or don't like cats and dogs running around, this place is not for you.

The breakfast was okay
It is always clean
the location is not far from the center of Amsterdam

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thea2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2012

If you are looking for an amazing B&B with superb hosts you should definitely try the Happy House. Xaviera (world famous) and her husband Philip (should be world famous as well because of his better than best cooking skills) are great, full of interesting stories, and warmly welcoming you in their own house. If you want to escape from boring (all the same) hotel chains, and experience being part of the day-to-day life of the bestseller author, don’t hesitate to book a room. We had a normal size room in the house with shared bathroom. There is also a chalet in the garden with own bathroom. The location is very convenient, close to RAI and one minute walk from public transport connections. The breakfast was delicious and last but not least there is a garden that you can use as well.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is a lovely little property, in a nice quiet part of town within 20 minutes or so walk from the city centre. I was a bit perturbed at being asked to pay the full amount up front but Xaviera an Phillip are good hosts, and their young man (Albert I think?) prepared a great breakfast too. I loved the cats as well!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Hello

A year ago, our family has vacationed at your hotel. But we still

can not forget our vacation. And every time we rest in other hotels, we remember you.

We want to tell you our gratitude. Our vacation was memorable.

The staff was very considerate and friendly to our children and

us. The rooms and bathroom were are always clean and very nice. . All our

requests were carried out immediately. And the atmosphere is very

artistic



. Our youngest son did not want to leave, and now all the time

asking, or we have once again come to you. He seemed to have fallen in love with your

sweet dog Dida … is she still alive???

I did not know that the world still has such kind, sympathetic and good people who love their work.

You have conquered our hearts and souls.

Now we recommend your hotel to all our friends. I can confidently

say that this was the best holiday we ever had and even the weather was great . I wish prosperity to your B&B and grateful guests.

The only thing that darkened our trip, is that our luggage was

lost in airport, and with it all of our purchases and gifts.

We would be grateful if you could send us some gifts for me and

my children with the symbol of your hotel, like the lovely key hanger you gave us with the laser light on it

We will be most appreciative and definitely will plan another trip to Amsterdam again.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews