We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kirill I
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia

Xaviera Hollander's Happy House...IT'S AWESOME HEAVEN

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jul 2013
GOOD PLACEMENT..vintage interior...NO COMMENTS....HEAVEN IN AMSTERDAM...staying in this place was very very wonderful...just happy mood...city views from balcon

GOOD PLACEMENT..vintage interior...NO COMMENTS....HEAVEN IN AMSTERDAM...staying in this place was very very wonderful...just happy mood...city views from balcon
Date of stay: July 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£225
  • Expedia.com
    £254
  • Vio.com
    £188
  • Hotels.com
    £215
1.9 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£108
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Priceline
    £108
2.2 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£167
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    £141
  • Agoda.com
    £139
  • Priceline
    £167
1.5 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£107
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £107
  • ZenHotels.com
    £104
  • Hotels.com
    £106
1.4 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£126
  • Booking.com
    £126
  • travelup.com
    £124
  • Expedia.com
    £126
2.3 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£113
  • Vio.com
    £113
  • Expedia.com
    £125
  • Hotels.com
    £113
2.1 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
£67
  • Expedia.com
    £74
  • Vio.com
    £67
  • Hotels.com
    £67
3.0 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
£64
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £64
  • Expedia.com
    £56
  • Vio.com
    £95
3.1 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Twin Room at the New West Inn Amsterdam
£57
  • Priceline
    £54
  • Agoda.com
    £51
  • Vio.com
    £56
3.8 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Free parking
£334
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £363
  • Agoda.com
    £237
  • Hotels.com
    £363
1.6 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
56
37
8
2
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
56
37
8
2
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

You will feel at home at The Happy House in Amsterdam. I was so relaxed that I enjoyed breakfast, while still in my PJs. Also, they serve breakfast up to 11 AM, so sleeping late isn't an issue. The garden is a delight and filled with interesting exotic foliage. Every room has a personality and style that has a 70s groovy feel to it. You will be very well-connected to anything in the city, but you won't have to put up with the hoots and hollers of roving stag parties. The hosts are attentive to your every need, without being intrusive. And buy the book and get it signed! The Happy Hooker by Xaviera Hollander is a historic piece of literature that was part of what led the sexual revolution of the 70s.

Room tip: If you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway, pick the garden shed! The Golaith room was great for two friends, and has a small balcony onto the roof.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked and paid for a 2 bedroom smoking apartment via another website (Wimdu) and what Xaveria (the lady who took the booking) neglected to tell us was that she was giving us ONE ROOM IN SOMEONE'S NONE SMOKING SHARED APARTMENT. The apartment owner lives in the apartment and confirmed she acts as an overflow for Xaveria! She was mortified when we explained what we had paid for and understood how disappointed we were, When we said we wouldn't sleep in the same bed, a mattress was put on a floor for one of us to sleep on and Xaviera thinks it appropriate to keep the £150 she charged me for this ridiculous situation (for one night)!! The apartment owner looked at the information on the Internet for her apartment and contacted Xaveria to remove her details immediately. Needless to say we had to source alternative suitable accomodation and I would NEVER EVER use this lady again!!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SuefromMadchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Staying in the home of Xaviera Hollander while in Amsterdam was a delightful experience and one of my favourite parts of my visit to Amsterdam. I enjoyed Xaviera's book, The Happy Hooker, as I came of age in the 1970s. She is an inspiring human being. Staying in her home was an honour. Xaviera and I did not get to meet as she was in Spain during my time in Amsterdam. However, we did speak on the phone. I love that she lives life fully and on her own terms. People who appreciate the body of work Xaviera shared with the world will enjoy this B&B. I stayed in the Chalet. It was lovely. The staff, Adrian and Stefano, are spectacular hosts and interesting people. They made me feel at home. They were inspiring conversationalists with excellent english. This is now my preferred place to stay in Amsterdam.You may also wish to pick up some autographed copies of Xaveria's books for yourself and as gifts for friends. Enjoy!!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2013

One of the things on "my List" in life to do was stay at the legenday Happy House in Amsterdam, and meet Xaviera herself. After contacting her about my request to book a stay I was fortunate to exchange a few emails with her and also spend an evening with her and Philip over dinner on my stay.
The B&B is definitely comfortable with all amenities needed, great location in a safe and upscale part of Amsterdam. Great hosts and Philip is a great cook as well! The charm and warmth you expect will be delivered ten fold! I will definitely be back!

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildkat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2013

A safe, welcoming, comfortable place to stay. Xaviera is a force of nature, if you are lucky enough to run around the city with her you will see what its like to be treated like a celebrity. Philip is just the coolest host you could meet as well, easy to talk to, intelligent, down to earth, friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the food is great. The city is right there for you at their doorstep. You are 1 train stop from the airport, only a short tram ride from the city center, shopping, and museums district. You can just walk out the front door and find tons of good food and things to do within walking distance. Their local advice will help you make the most of your time in Amsterdam, whether you are looking for high culture or just a great time. This was its been almost 20 years now since my first trip, whenever i go to Amsterdam, thats where I stay.

Room tip: Rooms in Holland are small. The bigger rooms or chalet may suit travelers accustomed to larger rooms better.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews