We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Monk”

The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
Ranked #244 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Stay at the Monk”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I have been traveling to Amsterdam for many years. On this family trip (no children) I wanted to ensure my Auntie, Wife, and friend could see everything the RLD has to offer, but in a safe and comfortable setting. That’s truly The Monk Apartments in a nutshell, "you are in the heart of the RLD in a safe and secure environment."

We booked through a travel service who messed up our reservation. When we arrived to the bad news, soaked in the rain and tired, the owner (Hank) took the time to sort everything out, and actually upgraded us to a 3BR for the same price!! Thanks Hank!

Hank was such a gentleman, he showed us some of the preferred restaurants close to his place, and was running up and down the stairs cleaning, and keeping the place looking great.

People who don’t know Amsterdam should understand this: These apartments are the nicest I've ever seen in 6 years of Amsterdam travels. Amsterdam is full of Hostels, and crummy run down hotels that are full of sketchy people who can have access to your things. But this is your very own clean, modern, private, safe, apartment smack-dab in the heart of all the action. When we travel we like to live with and like the locals, not in some smug hotel miles away from the action. There are security cameras everywhere... Intercom and buzzer systems, oh and lightning fast internet! There is a grocery store just around the corner.... Speaking of groceries, on the 2nd day of our stay, Hank comes upstairs and tops-off all the little things you need... Paper towels, toilet paper, sugar, ect... All the flats are fully furnished, and have full kitchens and pans, bowls, cups, and cutlery. There was a nice woman who came to clean and did a great job (we left her a little tip) There is a Laundromat directly across the street, and a bar beneath it to wait in. The place has absolutely everything. We can’t wait to return to stay with Hank at the Monk Apartments again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ddocimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
6
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We have stayed at the monk apartments for many years always seven times a year ,Jan,March.April.June.Aug.October and November.all the staff we have encountered have been friendly and helpful. we have stayed in most of the apartments over the years and found that they were all quiet ,very spacious and extremely clean. The area itself is vibrant. with a genuine feeling of being part of a safe community.I find it difficult to comprehend that the owner would place mousetraps on view for his clients to see! In all the times we have stayed there i have never seen a mousetrap or a mouse and as I live on a farm in rural Shropshire Im sure I would recognise one or have noticed mouse droppings!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roseaxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

I am in Amsterdam on a project between 9th May and 13th June.

i did not experience what you said in your comment. but we all need to understand these apartments are very old, about 400 to 500 years old. also considering garbage collectors in Amsterdam where on strike recently and these unit are in one of the busiest / dirtiest part of the city, such a experience is possible.

to me any issue i had i just notice the staff and every thing fixed smoothly. I agree they may need to clean the units more frequently but this not a hotel, this is a serviced apartment.

i think the rat, the noise and ... are a result of being in red light district rather than this specific apartments.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I stayed here with friends and our initial reaction was that it was very spacious and nice. That was until we spotted mouse traps in the kitchen..and then later that night we spotted the mice!there were about 5 altogether running around the kitchen which stayed for most of the weekend. Its a self catering apartment but could defo not eat out of it as it was a bit filthy.
The morning we were to fly home i woke up with little red lumps all over me. Im told they are bed bug bites. Disgusting but true!! Im back three days now and they still havent cleared up.
The only good things about it was the fact that there was a balcony so that we could smoke as it is not allowed in the apartment and the location was also good.
I would defo go back to amsterdam again but will certainly not be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summer068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

we liked the apartment..nicely done up.We took the 2 bed apartment so it was not too small jus perfect size for us as we were 5.the bedrooms were cozy n the living area was good size too.kitchen was hooked up .the apt was jus a lil dusty but they sent a cleaning lady and got it done 4 us immediately.Its bang in the rld.we din have a problem with that tho...u can jus walk to dam and all the coffeeshops.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yumsweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I have been travelling to Amsterdam for over 10 years now, and this has was one of the better places I have stayed. The apartment was huge, with a bedroom space, living room, kitchen, and 2 patios. The location is unbeatable, right in Nieuwmarkt Sq, though it can get loud at night, it wasn't too bad. Price was a bit high(1000 Euros for 8 nights), but for what you get, not bad at all. Having been used to very small hotel rooms for about the same price, I highly reccommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pongo1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

We stayed at the Monk Apartments in September as a group of six friends.

We booked and the stay over the internet and booked an apartment sleeping two in a double bed and an apartment sleeping 4 in a double and twin bedroom. We were told we had the Penthouse with a roof terrace (some of our party smoke and smoking in the apartments is not permitted - E500 fine for setting the fire alarms off!)

When we arrived check-in was slow but the people in the office were very friendly.

We were shown to our apartments but both were in separate buildings as it turned out some other guests had been given the Penthouse. A two-hour wait later they had been asked to move and we were shown to the top of the building.

(A note on the first apartment - it was filthy, grot in the fridge, the only access to an outside area was through a bedroom and there is a chinese restaurant opposite that handles a lot of fish - not pleasant with the windows open)

The 'Penthouse' was clean enough but I wouldn't recommend walking around with no shoes on! The contents of more than one emptied ashtray were strewn across the rooftop terrace, only half of the lightbulbs worked (don't try and change them - trust me - you'd need gloves to avoid the nasties) and the 'master bedroom' had a door that was too small for the door hole! Hence no privacy AT all. The twin bedroom also connected to the master room which is not ideal.

I wouldn't recommend these apartments for people with mobility difficulties or families with children as the steps are very narrow and very steep. There are six or seven flights to the top floor.

The building itself is very attractive and the decor in the penthouse is modern but with original features like the wooden floor and exposed beams. There is a fantastic view over the rooftops on the roof terrace and it is a great suntrap during the afternoon / early evening.

The problem was that for a self-catering apartment the place just didn't feel clean enough to want to eat in it and for a property billed as 'luxury' we expected a lot more.

I did email the apartments to suggest they consider adding doors that fit or have more than only 30% of lightbulbs working but have had no response.

With a tiny bit more TLC the apartments could be stunning and might be worth the price we paid, but at the moment they are a little disappointing.

PHOTOS - I didn't take many of inside the apartment but there are a few which give you an idea of what the terrace is like...

  • Liked — The location, the rooftop terrace, the modern decor.
  • Disliked — The 'half-a-door' on the master bedroom, the lightbulb situation, the level of cleanliness.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachlikesrhythm2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
#236 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#246 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#252 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#193 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
misc eatdrinksleep
misc eatdrinksleep
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monk Amsterdam Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monk Amsterdam Apartments

Property: The Monk Amsterdam Apartments
Address: Monnikenstraat 19 | 1012 BP, 1012 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Monk Amsterdam Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Monk Amsterdam Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Monk Amsterdam Apartments Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing