We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The 'black'est 'green' hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 9 days (including two weekends) on a study visit to Amsterdam. Although the location was good the hotel management and service was way too poor.

We had to pay an average of around 48 euros a day for a shared bed room for 6 people including breakfast and dinner, but strangely the dinner was not included for the day we checked in. The room itself was too small and poorly laid with 3 bunk beds, each for 2 persons and had not enough space to store our entire luggage. The toilet had poor ventilation and insulation and the separate bath room was too narrow, with a flat floor that always resulted in water spreading to the room. Moreover, the Wi-Fi was too slow and seldom worked in the rooms.

Although the breakfast was good and appeared to be fresh, the dinner served was hugely inconsistent in quality and made me feel whether they are using old material or taking leftovers from previous days. However, the kitchen staffs were relatively well behaved and friendly than the totally rude and carefree reception staff. The general negligence seems to be a failure from the part of management team.

Generally, it is way below the average in quality and service and is too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Avoid this place for there are cheaper options with better quality within the city or in an extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JITIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed there for almost 9 nights with 5 other guys in a room also the dinner and breakfast was included. There are lot of problems I can think about:
1. Wifi is very slow and does not work in room.
2. Always repeated the dinner on second day and used old stuff.
3. Never cleaned the room in those 9 days of my stay there.
4. Wash basin is a part of room and no one could relax at all.
5. The wash room and shower room were separated but with out any insulation inside the wall so the noise was really terrible and no cross ventilation in the room.
6. Shower water pops out in the room and no one fixed it.
7. All the people are very proud of themselves and they don't help you much.
8. Very little performance from their side and its really expensive to live on the outskirts of amsterdam.

I am not being paid to write all these problem but I am honest with you. They are getting some awards from some websites and its really pathetic to see how the hostel really functions and they were making some kind of movie of their hostel to promote it but it really sucks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jas20114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had 9 nights at the hostel and paid about 450 euros. Breakfast was ok but the dinner was always the same. In addition, the soup or the menu was several times already finished befor 8 clock. Unfortunately the food was not varied. We were 6 people in the same room which was very small. The staff especially at the reception were rude and not very helpful. Unfortunately, the hostel is too far from the center.

Positive was the bar area and the Happy Houre. Generally, it was just too expensive for the performance.

Christian / Austria

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pfister C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Christian,

Thank you for your valuable feedback!
As I recall you requested to cancel the dinner when you checked in, what, due to regulations, was not possible. I will talk to our Food and Beverage Manager to inform him about the quantity of soup and the variation in meal possibilities.

I am happy that you enjoyed our bar.

Once again: thank you for your feedback and we will make sure it does not happen again.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Overpriced, filthy, uniform food, cranky staff, mean supervisors, crowded, noisy .... sum it up: stay away - this stay is NOT okay. I have not once seen a cleaner in this place, the rooms are dank and tiny, crammed. It is also too far from the inner city - a tram and subway ride mean that you waste precious time getting there and back. And to top it all off: I was charged an exorbitant amount, far more than others I met. Find a place in the inner city - cheaper, walkable, exciting - you'll be happier all around!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Vasco,

I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
We aim to provide as much service and kindness as possible, but unfortunately we have not been able to fulfill your needs in this matter.

Once again my apologies and I hope you enjoyed Amsterdam nonetheless.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hostel was a great choice. It is by far one of the cleanest and well run places I have been to. I spent five nights here and enjoyed every night. It has a good breakfast and common area. It is also a rather large hostel with over 500 beds. That means there are a ton of different people there. The downside of that though is most of the people are on pre-planned trips. They are not your traditional backpackers, so they stay with their groups for the most part. I did enjoy having a nice bathroom in my room though, which was a 6 person room. The location is actually rather decent. It is a little ways away from the downtown area, but it is right by line 14 which will take you to and from the city. It is also by the turkish area of the city so be sure to get your Donner Kebabs there! They are delicious! The bar at the hostel is decent as well. I would recommend this place for a stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: They only have wi-fi in the main common area, so it will not be available in your room. You are in A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 17Kearney17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Well wo booked one night in this hotel, first of all when we entered the room we found the windows open and by January the room was so cold even after closing them and turning on the conditionner, we took a city tour and we came back and the room still cold, no towels for the shower but anyway for the money that we paid it's ok, generally not bad for backpackers and group travellers !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maghreb_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for four nights (Feb 2014) and had the best time!! Firstly, when we arived at Schipol airport, we were able to get a direct train to muiderpoort station, which is a ten minute walk to the hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival offering advice on the transport around the city. The room was much better than what you would expect of a hostel, we had a private room, with a private bathroom!! Getting into the centre is VERY easy... Jump on the number 14 tram which you can catch (literally) 1 minute from the hostel and that will take you straight to the center (Dam Square) in 15 minutes. Breakfast was also very good. and the best part is after a long day of checking out the city, you can return here for the cheapest beers in town Especially at happy hour), music, play pool etc. Thouroughly, an enjoyable place to stay!!

Room Tip: There is no real difference between private and shared room prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDGoodman90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Hostelle
#39 of 237 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 237 in Amsterdam
1,275 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#55 of 237 in Amsterdam
505 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £13 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing