We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel in a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hostel in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Rooms are spacious, neat and tidy. Great cheap bar & friendly staff made our stay very good fun. Was very clean & good value for the money. Nice and quiet neighbourhood. Tram and bus stain is right outside the hostel. The only thing that bugged me was the shower - it's a push button shower that stays running for about 10 seconds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    366
    145
    32
    24
See reviews for
66
100
128
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2-4 may & had an amazing time. Good cheap bar & friendly staff made our stay very good fun. Was very clean & good value for the money. Need to get tram into city but one of out friends did walk home one night. Also zen bar just round the corner was excellent. A taxi from here into the city costs about 20 euros.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Woorty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Feel lucky to choose this hostel which is far from the bustling city centre. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, but with convenient facilities. The tram and bus stations are just beside the door. Breakfast is good with sandwich packages, so you can save the rest for lunch, too. The rooms are spacious and with female dorm, and the staff are friendly and helpful. An enjoyable experience in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Breakfast time can be very busy. Ask for female-only dorm if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We knew this hostel was not close to the city centre but we booked it because it was the only reasonably priced one available for our dates. In actuality, it was very far from the city centre (40 min walk) and if we factor in the price of the public transportation pass, it was probably more expensive than hostels closer to the city centre. There were no in-room lockers and the only ones offered were paying lockers. Check-in was fast and the staff at the reception were okay. They did not offer free maps however and we had to pay for a map of the city. We were there during King's Day and public transportation to the city centre was suspended for the day. We did not know this and bought the day pass from the reception. The receptionist should have told us that we would not need it but she did not. For the first two nights we were there, there was a huge group (possibly a whole school) of kids who were very noisy early in the morning and late at night. Breakfast in the morning was horrible and we had to wait 25 minutes in line because it was too crowded. The quality of the breakfast was comparable to what you find in most hostels. The room was decent but the mattresses (they should not even be called mattresses) were very uncomfortable. They looked like what you bring out when you have guests staying over for 1 night. There were no fitted sheets so we had to use flat sheets instead. The duvets were very dirty and had obviously never been washed. There was no soap in the room but we already knew about it so we brought our own soap. There was no wifi in the rooms and even in the lobby, it was spotty at best.

The shower was the kind of shower that you find in gyms (the kind that shut off after 10 seconds) and it was not clean. The room itself was okay but could have been cleaner. Overall, we would definitely not come back to the Stayokay Zeeburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationtriptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A girl in my hall began having a seizure, so I ran down to the front desk to ask them for a doctor or to call for paramedics. Instead they asked me if I had a group leader, and to let him know what was happening. They just stared at me and wouldn't call or offer any help to the girl that was obviously in need of medical care. I didn't even know this girl, but it shouldn't matter who she is! She needed help and the staff didn't even care. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriennelliotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the experience you had concerning this situation.

Could you please inform me about the details of your stay (preferably the reservation number and the dates)? This way we can figure out what happened and can prevent this from happening again.

Please email to banqueting@zeeburg.stayokay.com

Kind regards,

Joost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Me and three other female friends stayed in StayOkay Hostel last year and it was far from ideal.

The hostel dormitory we stayed in was clean and spacious and there was a nice bar downstairs but we did NOT like the look of the food and cafeteria, but as we did not try it I can't comment. The staff were helpful on our arrival and gave us a brief description on the best way to get into Amsterdam.

When we arrived we felt a little bit out the way and did end up spending a fair amount on taxis throughout our stay. It was a large hostel with a dreary looking entrance and a lot of younger people around. The location didn't particularly excite us. Also - no alcohol in the rooms which they have their reasons for but I'd of liked a drink whilst getting ready to go out.

The shower wasn't nice and you'd have to push a button to get about 20 seconds of water - we all learned to lean on it when showering.

I did feel it was a little bit expensive for what we got and even if you are just looking for somewhere with a bed and a roof over your head it might be worth finding somewhere closer to Amsterdam centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wheycharl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Big super-hostel, lots of (noisy) school/sports groups.


GOOD:

- Fine breakfast

- Helpful Staff

- Bike storage (of sorts)

- Lamp and socket next to each bed


BAD:

- Pricey - 140 EUROS for 4 nights in a dorm!

- Shower dirty, rarely cleaned - push button for 24 seconds of water of varying temperature!

- Very slow wifi (and only available in lobby)

- No option to rent towels - only buy

- Pay-for lockers only

- Elevator broken for 5 days

- Very few hooks in room for towel/jacket etc

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runningaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#145 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#13 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#40 of 225 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing