We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodating, clean rooms, friendly staff... Great hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Accommodating, clean rooms, friendly staff... Great hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We showed up without any reservations after leaving disgusted from hans brinker hostel, although very full the very friendly staff managed to fit us in. Quite expensive but the rooms were clean, internet semi reliable, breakfast buffet was REALLY good and staff were friendly. Great location. Only downside would be that we had to move rooms each day due to bed availability... Meaning we had to leave our luggage in storage from checkout time (10am) until check in time (2pm) which was a pain but wasn't to bad.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbirchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    366
    145
    32
    24
See reviews for
66
100
128
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I was at Amsterdam to enjoy my vacation and the city as a backpacker. The hostel was perfect! It is not so far from the downtown (train station around) and in a very calm and silent neighbourhood. As Marijuana is allowed in Amsterdam, it was ver important the hostel is non-smokers. The bathroom ins in the room, very clean and there are inviduals lights in the beds. The breakfast is very completed and you find many things (soap, battery, water, umbrella, etc) for a low price. I strongly recommend this hostel

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lyo1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khabarovsk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very good hostel in calm area about 10 minutes by bicycle. I rented the bicycle in the hostel. Near the hostel are bus and tram stops. The hostel is huge, with big reception, in the historical bilding. There are many groups stay in hostel. The bathroom and toilet in every room, very comfortable, rooms and bed linen are clean. The breakfast is included, good healthy breakfast buffet style. I Highly recommend this hostel for people who like to live in respectful area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Rooms are spacious, neat and tidy. Great cheap bar & friendly staff made our stay very good fun. Was very clean & good value for the money. Nice and quiet neighbourhood. Tram and bus stain is right outside the hostel. The only thing that bugged me was the shower - it's a push button shower that stays running for about 10 seconds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2-4 may & had an amazing time. Good cheap bar & friendly staff made our stay very good fun. Was very clean & good value for the money. Need to get tram into city but one of out friends did walk home one night. Also zen bar just round the corner was excellent. A taxi from here into the city costs about 20 euros.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Woorty8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Feel lucky to choose this hostel which is far from the bustling city centre. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, but with convenient facilities. The tram and bus stations are just beside the door. Breakfast is good with sandwich packages, so you can save the rest for lunch, too. The rooms are spacious and with female dorm, and the staff are friendly and helpful. An enjoyable experience in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Breakfast time can be very busy. Ask for female-only dorm if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We knew this hostel was not close to the city centre but we booked it because it was the only reasonably priced one available for our dates. In actuality, it was very far from the city centre (40 min walk) and if we factor in the price of the public transportation pass, it was probably more expensive than hostels closer to the city centre. There were no in-room lockers and the only ones offered were paying lockers. Check-in was fast and the staff at the reception were okay. They did not offer free maps however and we had to pay for a map of the city. We were there during King's Day and public transportation to the city centre was suspended for the day. We did not know this and bought the day pass from the reception. The receptionist should have told us that we would not need it but she did not. For the first two nights we were there, there was a huge group (possibly a whole school) of kids who were very noisy early in the morning and late at night. Breakfast in the morning was horrible and we had to wait 25 minutes in line because it was too crowded. The quality of the breakfast was comparable to what you find in most hostels. The room was decent but the mattresses (they should not even be called mattresses) were very uncomfortable. They looked like what you bring out when you have guests staying over for 1 night. There were no fitted sheets so we had to use flat sheets instead. The duvets were very dirty and had obviously never been washed. There was no soap in the room but we already knew about it so we brought our own soap. There was no wifi in the rooms and even in the lobby, it was spotty at best.

The shower was the kind of shower that you find in gyms (the kind that shut off after 10 seconds) and it was not clean. The room itself was okay but could have been cleaner. Overall, we would definitely not come back to the Stayokay Zeeburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationtriptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#14 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#40 of 226 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Flying Pig Uptown
Flying Pig Uptown
#8 of 226 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing