We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a cheap place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed in a dorm type room. It was comfortable enough, I have no issues with the room. It was one of the better hostel style places we stayed in around Europe. But the food was very plain. I would probably recommended you eat out at restaurants. Don't bother getting breakfast there.

Also, please be careful when walking around in that area. Don't go out alone. My female friend went for a walk during the day by herself, and was approached by a man offering to get her a job. He would not leave her alone, kept following her, touching her and trying to get her to get in his car. I'm not sure about the area but our experience is that it is not a safe place to walk around alone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Shell,

Thank you for your review and your compliment: it is really appreciated!

I am sorry to read about what your friend experienced. We hardly ever hear about experiences like this. The hostel is located in a residental area and rather busy during the day, which provides a lot of social safety. Unfortunately your friend experienced something unusual in this area.

Hopefully we can welcome you again some other time!

Kind regards,

Joost

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Overall, very happy. The room was clean, spacey (more so than expected), maintained and had own shower/toilet - always a bonus in a hostel. Service was great, friendly, helpful and recommended a few attractions and had loads of vouchers for activities. Rented bikes, again, good for value, bikes are reliable and safe.
Breakfast a plenty. Loads of choice, we filled up before heading out both days and it held us til lunch. The bar is really cheap, and we were here for a good hour before heading out, could do with a little more atmosphere but to be fair, they're not trying to be a nightclub.
Check in/out was easily and simple. Location wise, yes out of town but easy to get to on public transport/bikes and it just meant we saw more of the town as a whole. Would stay again no issues!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here in August 2013 with my Top Deck group.

The room I was in with some of my fellow travellers was comfortable.

The lighting in the bathroom area was a bit dim, but otherwise standard bathroom.

Not far from the centre of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmed1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very good hostel, good prices, little bit far away from the centre. The Service was very good and the staff very friendly. Room was fantastic and breakfast also good! In a very good area close to Amsterdam zoo

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Louis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Would suggest this place to anyone! 5* customer service, spotlessly clean, great location, Cheap prices and lovely decor!!!
If I had to find one negative I'd say I wish I had a double bed as I was sharing with my partner!

Room Tip: Buy a tram pass at the reception as you use trams more then expected!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chappy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I am on a low-budget but Amsterdam is an expensive city. Stayokay is an ideal solution for the budget traveler. The rooms are modern and all have their own toilet and shower. The price is reasonable and the staff is really helpful, they like helping you find your way or recommend a nice place. The basic but complete breakfast is included in the price of the stay. The stayokay concept was a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkeVDVoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Seemed very hotel-ish, not super homely but that's ok. Rooms were clean and had a bathroom, but no wifi in rooms. Food from the bar was pretty bad, but breakfast in the morning was great, lots to choose from. Located right outside beautiful vondel park and so close to Leidseplein, the shopping district. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nbk18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Hostelle
#39 of 238 in Amsterdam
259 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 238 in Amsterdam
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#47 of 238 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Generator Hostel Amsterdam
#8 of 238 in Amsterdam
578 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 238 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £25 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing