We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Il Giardino Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Giardino Hotel
Ranked #329 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location, very close to everything.

As for the room....the view was of a wall and an air conditioner, the walls had loads of marks on them, no wardrobe to put your clothes....just a bed a table and a chair.
The beds were brilliant though...very soft and comfortable...clean linen, and a very clean and nice bathroom with a good shower.
Would recommend if you're on a budget and but want to be close to town centre.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Popa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    49
    76
    70
    123
See reviews for
40
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place was terrible!! Even the lady at reception advised us to rather look at the place first before we commit to staying!
The outside was terrible, and although we were in Amsterdam, the floors were so smokey with weed that it was difficult to breathe, the balcony had never been cleaned
Location was the only plus as it was close to the central station
We didn't stay there, which led us to having to go hunting for an alternative on our 1 day there on a week that everywhere was fully booked!!! Probably won't use your site again to book a hotel. The hotel was misrepresented by your site!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked the hotel for a friend and myself after reading the hotels website and the fact it was in an excellent location. Firstly the pictures are fake the reception is not a homely restaurant but a kebab shop. The staff were rude and hardly gave us a warm welcome.
The stairs are a lethal death-trap. We had a massive suitcase and of course they gave us a room on the first floor!
When we eventually arrived there was a cable plugged in across our door. The corridor stank of a mixture of sweat and musky cheap aftershave.
The room was dark and dingy the view was of a brick wall and if you looked out of the window you could quite clearly see the guy in the next room in bed so he could probably see us as well. The window didn't shut properly so every night we had a mosquito. The bed was comfortable but bedding was dirty my duvet wasn't even in the cover properly. Light switches didn't work and there was a mini bar type fridge just dumped next to the bed. The chairs round the table had some questionable stains on them.
The noise was horrific every night you could hear doors slamming, people walking up the stairs. Don't even get me started on the person upstairs moving furniture about every night for about four hours!
Was told there was a hairdryer in the room description there wasn’t one. One towel to last us four days. I'll give them props for the shower which was amazing but it flooded the wet room which would have been fine had the toilet been separate but you had to virtually dive in and swim to use the toilet if someone had just showered. Toilet seat was broken which meant when you sat on it you got flung off to the other side of the room. and the radiator was leaking. I was bitten something stupid (probably by bed bugs) and now have bites all over my arms
Oh you may have guessed from other reviews it was room number 25!
We cut our trip short by a day and changed our flights to come home early because we couldn't bare staying there another night!
We showed them the same courtesy they showed us and made sure we left the room in a bigger mess and slammed every single door possible at 6am in the morning!!
Avoid this hotel at all costs I’d rather have slept in one of the windows on the red light district than here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinnieB1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

my room was horrible, really dirty. Linen dirty, dirty walls and nuts walls. Would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. The bathroom was flooded after the first bath. The breakfast is very expensive and not made ​​you want to try. It had a refrigerator but not worked. The floor was littered with garbage, it seemed that not cleaned the room the previous guest. that horrible experience, I tried to not go there almost no time, just sleep.

Room Tip: Quadruple for 4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Helder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nothing special to say. It is just average place to stay in Amsterdam if you have no other options at the moment. However, location is excellent. I am not really sure, I would like to stay at the hotel one more time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Катерина С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Going for a city break, I'm not usually bothered about where I stay so long as it is clean, comfortable and in a good location. This hotel is located within walking distance of everything you would need and makes it easy to get around Amsterdam. Unfortunately that's the only good thing I have to say about this place.

The hotel is above a 24 hour kebab shop (no problem), however most of the staff we encountered seemed to have no interest or knowledge of the hotel at all. There was building work going on as we were there ('painting' apparently, although it needs more than a lick of paint!), so a member of staff had to let us in through a side door which was annoying. Being woken up from 7:30 by building work was also a pain.

The room, well... Looked ok at first, until you actually go to use something. Fancy flat screen TV on wall, just a shame it has no aerial and the plug doesn't reach any socket! Nowhere to hang clothes. The bathroom looked newly decorated, however the toilet seat didn't fit the toilet and there was only one plug in the bathroom, covered in sealant so no plug could fit in it. It was more like a wet room where everything gets flooded when you have a shower. The most disgusting thing was the cleanliness. Blonde long hairs on the floor, hair clips on the floor (?), dust everywhere. The room wasn't cleaned once in four days, nor did we ever see a cleaner go into other rooms. We had the same towels and bedding this entire time.

Breakfast was OK. Just two slices of bread (I think it was supposed to be toast), one slice of ham and cheese, a fried egg and jam with coffee or tea. Nothing to shout home about but enough to put us on.

The hotel asks for a 10 Euro deposit too, which we didn't see when booking.

Since we have returned home, both me and my friend who was staying with me in the room have developed nasty bites on our bodies. Not sure if it's bed bugs but its enough to make me write this review and vow never to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25. Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#226 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
France Hotel Amsterdam
France Hotel Amsterdam
#211 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Fine Seasons Hotel
Fine Seasons Hotel
#180 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Prins Hendrik
Hotel Prins Hendrik
#188 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Hotel

Property: Il Giardino Hotel
Address: Prins Hendrikkade 97/98, 1011 AG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing