We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hot chocolate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abraxas Coffeeshop

Abraxas Coffeeshop
Ranked #6 of 277 Nightlife in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hot chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

It was hot frothed milk with a cube of dark chocolate on a stick stirred in. Even though it was a very hot day and I was already sweating I found it fantastic. The coffee shop itself is clearly divided into the bit selling weed, and the conventional tea and coffee. The bit upstairs which used to be plants is now seating too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dh2119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    147
    35
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice coffee shop, not so full of tourists. The vibe at the place is pretty mellow. Prices are fair and the brownie tastes great. Great spot to visit and try something different without breaking the law.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A friend recommended this coffee shop and I can see why. The place is hidden down a dodgy looking alleyway, but don't let that put you off.

Inside everyone was friendly and there was a really nice vibe. Some coffee shops can seem a bit intimidating on the outside.

They do some nice and reasonably priced juices and their brownies and muffins are delicious, although not as strong as I was expecting. Other things they sold were exactly as strong as I was expecting and very reasonably priced.

We visited a few times and we'd go back next time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FatalException
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“When in Rome.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visiting a Coffee Shop in Amsterdam isn't like stopping at your local Starbucks.
Drop into this futuristic shop and check out the menu....you will be pleasantly surprised!
There is quite a variety of herbal pleasures for your enjoyment. They have a gift shop so you can take back a souvenir to the unlucky person that didn't get to visit Amsterdam with you. located far enough away from Dam Square, but a short walk, it's down a narrow street, so don't miss it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Discovered this in an alley on my first visit to Amsterdam. Great vibe, dim lights and chill music. Great menu, they also have tea and brownies. Great friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Renzo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abraxas Coffeeshop also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Abraxas Coffeeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing