We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Ranked #36 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Jasper is just a lovely guy, so helpful and sociable and generous. We had self-service breakfast and Jasper provided varied, good quality food. He also tidied away all the dishes and food afterwards. The bedroom and sitting room were clean and comfortable and the fridge in our room was kept well-stocked with complimentary juice, beer, wine, tea, coffee and snacks. We really enjoyed this luxury B and B! Jasper was an excellent host!

Room Tip: The balcony room and hte top room were both very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaynemwalker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

I loved our little (2 rooms) bed and breakfast, but it was about 45 narrow, steep steps up to the first room. Not for those with any conditions that impair you. However; I enjoyed the true Dutch flavor of the building. Ours was the lower room and when the weather is warm, the balcony would be wonderful. Also, our bath and shower had just been remodeled and I loved the shower. We had plenty of room to spread out luggage for 2. but Jaspher needs to install more hooks near the hand basin for wet face towels. Everything was either within walking distance or a short bus ride away. We had a choice of local restaurants ( Bazar was close) and a grocery was just around the corner. The computer was a blessing since I don't really like reading and sending e-mail off my Kindle. I'd stay there again if I get to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsd1399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for few nights in December and had a very enjoyable time. We had a choice of the upper or lower apartment We chose the upper as it was larger and brighter and when nobody occupied the lower apartment you had the whole upper floor to yourself. The lower has opening doors to a balcony which is south facing and suitable for smokers . Very nice and clean.Breakfast consisted of cereals, breads and meats and cheeses and plenty of tea/coffee served in the upstairstairs apartment kitchen. More than adequate breakfast but not American style excess. Close to out door markets for food No hobs in kitchen just microwaveComputer with free wi-fi . Jasper is very friendly, helpful and health conscious and it is like a home from home. Walked everywhere No need for trams Highly reccommend this little 'home'

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank labrador499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

While the guesthouse is not situated in the centre of Amsterdam, the reality is that it is within walking distance of the museum quarter, and the city centre is a short tram ride away.

What's great about the location is that you're not in the middle of the tourist area, so the chances of finding a restaurant where the locals eat is much better! We had some great eating & drinking experiences at the local pubs and restaurants.

The facilities were perfect: good sized rooms with great bedding, a kitchen with everything you need, free wifi (a huge bonus for the last minute research you want to do), and enough TV channels to keep most TV addicts satisfied.

Jasper was a great host that really looked after us and made sure we had everything we needed.

Just a word of caution: the rooms are up 3 flights of stairs (up a very narrow staircase), so be prepared to climb. Jasper was however quick to offer to carry our cases!

Room Tip: The top room is great as it is on the same level as the kitchen in case you feel like a midnight sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TakiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This B&B is a hidden gem. There are only 2 rooms, but the facilities are more than adequate as the rooms are comfortable and you have access to a fully-equipped kitchen/lounge with a computer that is connected to the internet. You also get free wi-fi and complimentary snacks/drinks from the little fridge in the room.

The only downside is probably the fact that the rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floors, up a narrow staircase but this is really not a problem (unless you're morbidly obese or are dragging up very full suitcases).

The main asset of the place though is the host, who was very friendly and helpful to us. He went out of his way to ensure that we were very well looked after, and this included coming over at 0630 in the morning when our taxi arrived just in case we needed help with the luggage!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enidan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights after leaving Spain where we'd been for 6 weeks and then France, where we stayed about 2 weeks. We were a little travel weary but felt like this place was an oasis. Jasper greeted us warmly, helped us carry ALL of our luggage (full of books and travel gear for our long stay in Europe) up to our 3rd floor room and gave us a tour of the place. His sense of humor is fantastic and he is very bright; we got to know a little about the country's social history just chatting with him, which enriched our stay. He got us maps, pointed out markets and other things to do and even showed us how to use the coffee pot in our room. First class but personal service!
We walked everywhere from the B&B without using cabs and we saw a lot in our short stay because the location was so good.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a lot of amenities, including wonderful Dutch chocolate left daily. What a treat! We had a nice balcony but it was quiet. We had friends over and they liked it so much they said they'd try to stay there on their return trip.
The breakfast was self-serve but generous. Fruit, breads, various kinds of protein (sausage, eggs, cheese) and great coffee. The upstairs breakfast and sitting area is cozy and clean.
Note: when you ring the bell for the B&B, Jasper gets a call on his cellphone so that even if he's not in the building, you can reach him. Very handy. We would stay at this B&B again -- indeed, we have been talking about going back this coming May. Thanks Jasper!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TLH_Mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I’m a bit late with my review (I stayed there for 10 days in September 2010) but since my stay was a pleasant experience I’d like to share it. First of all, the B&B is situated in a quiet area with a couple of supermarkets (including Albert Heijn), pharmacies and several cafes within a quarter. A 5-10 minute walk and you’ll find even more cafes and restaurants in De Pijp area. Rijksmuseum is about 15 minutes on foot from the B&B. For those who’d like to make a trip to Ajax football stadium, Utrecht and other towns south and southwest of Amsterdam – use Amsterdam Zuid station near the World Trade Center (20 minutes from the B&B).
Now back to the building: it’s renovated, clean and cosy but be aware of infamous Amsterdam staircases. Once you climb onto the fourth floor (I occupied the top room) you’ll discover a rather big and sunny dining room next to your apartment. The top room is bigger than it looks on the pictures and equipped with everything you may need during a long stay, I particularly liked a tea/coffee making machine. WiFi connection is excellent, even in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom: it consists of a shower cabin (not too big but not too small either) and toilet but the sink is situated separately – in the room’s corner along with fridge, tea/coffee machine and a big mirror (it sounds more inconvenient than it is in reality). Overall, the room is so home-like and has so much air you may actually like the idea of spending there the whole day.
Thumbs up to the hosts who keep the apartments so functional, clean and stylish.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olezhek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#23 of 338 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#31 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
NINE-T-TEEN B&B
#72 of 338 in Amsterdam
42 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#26 of 338 in Amsterdam
778 reviews
Breitner House
#14 of 338 in Amsterdam
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1072 TA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £113 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing