We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$352
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$445
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$315
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
103
16
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
16
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony roomde pijpb btrendy neighborhoodgreat balconydutch breakfaststay there againcoffee makeramsterdam tripcomfortable bedrestaurants and barswithin walking distancegreat place to staymini fridgeminute tram rideshort walkperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This is a great B&B with big rooms, nicely furnished with everything you need. Walking distance to museums, markets, and easy trams to center of town or RAI or university. Jasper is a great host, full of helpful advice re: trams, taxis, restaurants. It was like staying in an apartment, with the well stocked refrigerator, computer and internet access.. Nice neighborhood feel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bozotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

This is a great place! The owner (Jasper) is a really great guy, helpfull and friendly. We really feld at home. They give you your own keys, so you can access the apartment whenever you want, and the breakfast hours are between 6 and 12! In the livingroom is a computer with free internet access and skype which we used a lot. The livingroom is shared with another room, but most of the time we had the livingroom for ourselves.
Our room was a spacious quiet room with very comfortable beds and a nice sunny balcony. In the room is a fridge filled with wine (rose) , cola, orangejuice and beer, all without charge. Wifi is also available in the room, but we didnot have a laptop with us, so that's why we used the computer upstairs. There is also a coffee machine in the room, a hairdryer, airco , etc. Nothing I can think off was missing. Only disadvantage I can think of would be the steep stairs (there is no elivator), so this place is not ideal for older or disabled people. (But the staff was very helpfull carrying our suitcases upstairs).

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ButterflyBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2008

My husband and I recently stayed in the balcony room at Adriaen Van Ostade. We loved it. There was a refrigerator, iron/ironing board, flat screen TV, coffee/tea maker, cups/plates, and alarm clock in our room. On the top level, there is a lounge and kitchen area with free access to internet and kitchen facilities. Jasper Van Capelle, one of the owners, was extemely helpful and polite. He had a guide to the neighborhood printed for us with recommendations on local restaurants, the nearest laundry, grocery store, and post office. There was even a book called the "Undutchables" there for us to become acquainted with Nederlands culture.

There are only two units in the whole bed and breakfast and each unit has a floor to itself. This makes it very quiet and cozy. The rooms are a great size with large windows. The balcony room has a great place to sit out when the weather is warm.

This is a great place to stay if you want to live in Amsterdam like the locals. The area of De Pijp is not very touristy. It's an area where everyday people live and work. Many of the local restaurants do not have English menus but most people speak English and are very helpful if your Dutch is not so good. There are good local cafes and and great places to eat.

In terms of tourist attractions, the Museumpleine, where the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museums are located are in walking distance. You simply follow Ceinturbaan around to Van Baerlestraat to get there. There are trams that go through there regularly and its easy to get around the city from there.

I would recomned this place to anyone going to Amsterdam. Any drawbacks? I tend to prefer my rooms to be a little warm so I found it a little chilly in there. Other than that, it's awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrownBeauty0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

The accomodations were very very good. It is a charming B&B. The Breakfast is good, and the room was clean and bright. It is a little out of the way from the centre but the hosts were really helpful in getting us oriented. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2008

This B & B has two rooms, one on the top floor and one on the floor below that. The top floor room does not have a balcony, but the other room does. We stayed 3 nights in the top room and 2 nights in the balcony room. Both rooms were fabulous, however the top room actually has more room and the shower is a little bigger. For some reason the shower in the balcony room is very small and hard to move around in. That would be my only complaint, other than the steep stairs, which are everywhere in Amsterdam. The neighborhood was great, there were good restaurants and bars around. The rooms have a fridge in them so we went to the Albert Hein market (which is a short walk) and stocked up on beer, which is very cheap there. The neigborhood is quiet and we had some of the best nights of sleep in this B & B than we've had in a lot of hotels. Transportation is very easy, there are trams everywhere to take you where you want to go. We walked from the hotel to Dam Square quite a few times, but it is a long walk. Yet a very pleasant one, because the weather is perfect there. And if you need any help or directions, the owners, Jasper and Tom, are very helpful. Most people speak English and are willing to give you directions if you ask. We just returned from our trip last week, and we all ready want to go back. I would highly recommend this B & B, it is a great price for really great rooms and hospitality. In Amsterdam you are never very far from anything.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snwh252016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews