We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Hotel Not Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Not Hotel
Ranked #32 of 328 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I felt I was in some magical movie or a Beatles St. Pepper song! I loved this place sooooo much and it was like the best place I ever stayed! I travel all the time, it's sort of my job, and have never stayed at such an interesting place with such a friendly staff and so well connected to everywhere you want to go! I wish I could add more exclamation marks but i don't want anyone to think I'm yelling! If you are in Amsterdam and want a real Amsterdam experience! Look no further!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CO m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    94
    42
    18
    9
See reviews for
26
148
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We found the place to have a great and accessible location within the city of Amsterdam, which was great for our family weekend getaway. We mostly enjoyed the unique style of the hotel since it brought a refreshing vibe to a city we had already been in. Not only did the bar had a great vibe but the staff was very friendly. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veroacevedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Three guys stayed in the crows nest, super clean, real comfortable bed, staff were helpful had a great vibe, they knew heaps of different non-touristy places to check out in Amsterdam. Would happily return, gotta love A-dam

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel has it all, friendly beautiful staff who will talk your ear off and look like they weight as much as a photograph of themselves. It was clean, welcoming and didn't even have that corruption that comes with normal hotel room where you instantly want to steal everything.
The marmite pots on the pillows was an excellent take on the chocolates also. HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 112Scottdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#30 of 328 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 328 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Not Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Not Hotel

Property: Hotel Not Hotel
Address: Piri Reisplein 34, 1057 KH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Not Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Not Hotel is a place in the centre of Amsterdam where a room isn't just a room, but a work of art with its own creator, story, and identity. Most of them designed and specially made by Collaboration-O, a group of young designers that originated from the Eindhoven Design Academy, and one by Arno Coenen and his partner IRIS.When you wake up, you step into an art-filled, exhibition-like space instead of an anonymous lobby or hallway. The entire hotel is one big living room, with cosy seating areas between the cottages. Combined with our luxury beds and other facilities, Hotel Not Hotel offers an unrivalled experience.. Besides all this, we feel that the value of a city lies in experiencing its local day-to-day life. As we are closely connected to Amsterdam and its numerous creative entrepreneurs, we know where to send you for a night on the town, a hidden culinary gem, or an upcoming artist's exhibition. The hotel can also be the perfect background for your own event, and we take group reservations, giving you the opportunity to have the hotel all to yourself. The bar connected to Hotel Not Hotel is called Kevin Bacon. Just like the actor, the bar has zero pretention, it always delivers, and it makes sure everybody has a good time. Kevin Bacon is not your typical hotel bar. It's where locals get their morning coffee or a quick breakfast. It's where friends meet for a cocktail or a beer before diving into the nightlife, and where hotel guests let their hair down after a long day in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Not Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing