We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful oasis”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Joanna190...
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“too far from the centre and still expensive”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this apartment because of the excellent reviews. The distance of the apartment from the centre is much greater than described, it certainly is not 6 minutes from the centre! The walk from the apartment to the bus stop takes about 8 minutes, then there is the waiting for the bus, the bus journey - about 6 - 8 minutes (yes, three stops and 2.90EUR per person!, not cheap - we ended up buying ticket for 4 days, which is valid on all public transport and this was much better value for money), then the waiting for the ferry and the ferry crossing (sometimes even 10 minutes) - altogether it's much more like 30 - 40 minutes before you set foot at the Central Station. This journey is a little shorter normally as the bus will go directly to the station (the tunnel is closed at present) - but it still will never be 6 minutes!! More like 20 - 30 minutes. We had a very early flight to catch and had to walk to the ferry at 4am as no buses run at this time - this would not be such a problem on the other side of the water.
The apartment itself is very comfortable, the bed is good and the bathroom large. Inside it was all very clean. The patio however has not been swept up for ages and incessant old and new cobwebs were everywhere. The garden is also much smaller than we expected and shared with the owners and other guests (there are designated tiny areas in the garden for the use the different occupiers) - the privacy we expected was somehow disturbed by this.
All in all my low score is mainly because of the distance and the very small garden - the apartment might be slightly cheaper but paying for the public transport or having the inconvenience of walking the distance through the park (30 - 40 minutes) is not worth it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Dear Yoanna,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you liked the apartment, the beds, the bathroom and the cleaniness.

We are sorry the garden was to small for you liking. For Amsterdam standards it is a very large garden, 200m2.

It is not true that you had to share the garden with other guests. The only persons you have to share the garden with are us, the owners.
We have our terrace in the back. The rest of the garden is for your use.

We are sorry you had to walk at 4AM with heavy luggage to the central station. It might have been a better option to get a taxi. We would have been happy to book one for you.

You are right about a slightly longer travel time to the city due to the fact that the tunnel was temporarily closed. Busses went straight to the ferry (5 minutes) and the ferry accross takes 2 minutes. Ferries run day and night every 5/8 minutes.

Normally the bus takes 6 minutes from our bus stop to the central station. The bus stop (KAMPERFOELIEWEG) is 400m from our house.
Bus lines 34 and 35 run every 5 minutes. At night every 8 minutes.

If you prefer walking to the ferry, the distance is 2km.

We agree with you, a one way fare of €3 is expensive. You are better of getting multiple day tickets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
124Bears2
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful oasis”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Owner Rene was very supportive and helpful. Property very clean and had everything we needed. The garden was lovely, we were able to sit out beside the water till late and enjoy the peace and quiet.
A short walk to the local shop and to good bus links to centre and other attractions, also a lovely park to walk through by the canal to get to the free ferry ,which takes you across to the centre.
A newly built indoor/outdoor swimming pool is only a minutes walk away.
An ideal place to stay if you want to be close to the centre yet in a quiet residential area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and garden
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmbailey5...
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent base for easy exploration of Amsterdam”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely studio flat with kitchen and bathroom with all the amenities including a sauna. The patio looked out on to a beautiful garden. The TV had some English channels.
The big bonus to us was that we could park our car right outside.
We hired bikes for the whole of our 3 night stay and this proved to be a master stroke. We used them all the time. The free ferry to Amsterdam was only a short but pleasant bike ride along the canal, and from there we were able to access all the sites of Amsterdam.
Our host, Rene, was most helpful when we needed him but otherwise left us to ourselves.
We would look to stay here again, should we return to Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to park outside
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula3142
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay close to the city yet with a country feel.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable studio apartment. It was close to the city by public transport and the owner gave us very clear instructions about how to get there. The flat is in a very nice traditional house with an outlook to a lovely garden. Nice to look over when having breakfast. We hope to come back here again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and comfy bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellstrav...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice apartment and helpful owners”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Walk to ferry along the canal very nice, takes about 35 easy mins. Bus also convenient if weather closes in.
Very nice garden outlook.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSW29
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Countryside setting yet very close to Amsterdam centre”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a lovely basement apartment in a row of very old houses right on a canal. The main room is big enough for sleeping area, dining and comfy sitting area, with all facilities provided. The kitchen and bathroom are modern and stylish. You can sit out in the garden and listen to the birds - perfect for a relaxing break.

The walk to the free ferry is a good 20-25 mins but much less by bike. There is a bus going straight to the centre as well (about 5 mins walk from the house and we never had to wait long for a bus to come. 2.9 euros per person each way).

We parked the car outside the house - there is no charge. Host Rene is very helpful and offers plenty of information. I would definitely recommend this accommodation and would choose it again if we return to Amsterdam.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful back garden on a canal
Liked least: Long walk to ferry
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty R
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The apartment was lovel . Very comfortable and quiet. The owner Rene was very accommodating, getting us some milk for our tea when we arrived late on Friday evening! We really appreciated it after our travel from the UK

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;