We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% disappointed on our third and definitely LAST visit to this hotel. Room smelled strongly of urine!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #203 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed here on Mon 23rd Dec to Thurs 26th Dec. We had stayed in this hotel twice previously and having been happy with the service all-round, we chose this hotel again for our festive trip to the city. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, we checked in, we were given codes to use the free WIFI service and we were shown to our room. We were given a room on the basement floor and the staircase leading to the room was very tight to move around in especially with our luggage.
The room was fine at first, just the same type we had been in before: twin beds and en-suite shower room. The first problem we had was the internet as we quickly discovered that despite being given codes for our devices, there was no connection in the room and we could not access the internet at all.
Second issue was the small flat TV in our room which was practically hidden at the side of the wardrobe and difficult to view. So far poor TV viewing and no internet connection.
The next problem was the real big issue. The shower room with toilet is positioned in the room. The unit is quite small but easy to use, however the entire cubicle smelled very strongly of urine. We thought it might have been the toilet bowl but despite flushing several times the disgusting smell would not leave. We then noticed that the mirror behind the toilet had dried in spray marks all over it and that the spare loo roll in the cubicle looked like it had been dropped in the toilet pan and left to dry. When I picked the loo roll up the smell of urine coming from it almost made me sick. I then noticed that the ledge behind the toilet pan was filthy and had a dried in substance all over it. It was then clear to see that the mirror, the ledge and the spare loo roll were soaked in urine. I immediately threw the spare loo roll in the bin and wiped down the mirror. I had to use shampoo and a hand towel to soak down the ledge and wash it off. I cleaned it myself because the smell was so strong I couldn't wait for a member of staff to be asked to come and do it.
The next problem came the very next morning with the complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We knew from our previous visits that guests need to ask for these facilities to be brought to the room. I couldn't call reception to order this to our room because there was no telephone number for reception listed on the phone in the room, it was not on our check in card or in any of the hotel literature in the room. So my friend got dressed and went up to reception to ask for the facilities. About 15 mins later she returned carrying a tray with a senseo coffee machine, paper cups and milk portions etc. When I asked why she'd had to bring the tray down herself she said that staff up stairs had told her they were busy serving breakfast and no-one could deliver it! I then noticed that the two paper cups we had been given were both used and dirty inside with remnants of someone else's coffee in one of them and there was a used coffee pad in the machine. Basically we had been given dirty facilities!
The final insult came when we asked asked to check out late, as it was Boxing Day and our flight was not until 8pm that evening. Standard check out time at this hotel is 11am and after reading the hotel room brochure we discovered that we could check out up to 5pm on the day of leaving at a charge of 25 euros. We decided to do this but when asked at reception we were told that the charge for late check out was 10 euros per hour. We said that we'd read the brochure that advertised a price of 25 euros up to 5pm and we were simply told that the brochure was wrong. We were not given an explanation or an apology for the incorrect advertising, just simply told that the brochure was wrong. As we had already pre-paid for our room and we wanted to have the late check out as we had planned for our trip, we had to pay the cost that the receptionist told us. So we arranged to leave at 2pm on the check out day. We spoke to 2 separate receptionists about this arrangement on 2 different occasions, however on the day of our check out while we were still in bed there was a loud knock at the door, which woke us, by a confused member of staff asking if we were checking out that day. It was only 11.30 and our long lie in had been ruined.
I am thoroughly disappointed with my stay at the Apollo Museum Hotel this time and I will definitely not be returning.

Room Tip: There is no internet reception on the ground floor despite this being one of the facilities advertis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missannenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,971)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 2,971 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after previously having lived in Amsterdam. The place is conveniently located near Rijksmuseum, public transport (trams 2,5, 7, 10) all within 500 meters. The staff at the reception were friendly but easily overwhelmed. The rooms was on the 4th floor and in a corner with view of Rijksmuseum, it was quit as we requested. The room was in 'Amsterdam style' very small (17m2) with an equally small bathroom but it was all well appointed for the size. Modern appliances and comfyish bed.
We had breakfast twice and the buffet was ok, not very varied and sometimes crowded. However the value for amsterdam is good at around 110 euros give and take. For what you pay you get good enough value. We liked the location which is quiet but still central.

Room Tip: We had 414, good view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martijn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Martijn,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor. It`s Always great to read feedback from our guests. I am glad you have enjoyed Amsterdam again. Hopefully we will meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

next morning I realized the window was not well closed. I asked at the front desk to check it. after I came back to the room, it was already fixed! Thank you. I could have well sleep after words. The room was clean and shower room is correct for me.
It was bery confortable!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fumiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs Fumiyo,

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad to read that you have been pleased with the prompt service in the hotel. Your feedback is much appreciated and I will share this with the team and the maintenance department.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location in Amsterdam, close to the Museums, shopping stores, the casino, nice restaurants to eat and good bars to hangout. The place is comfy, clean, warm (especially for winter time!) and the staff are attentive! And above all, is not super expensive!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank fleurverte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjoerdverkooijen, Front office manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that the staff was pleasant. Our location is indeed one of the best.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived with a small child in a pram and we were given a room on the 5th floor, inaccessible by elevator and with a very dangerous, steep staircase. There is no porter so we had to climb the stairs with the pram, child and 4 suitcases by ourselves. We came down for something to eat late at night but were told there is no kitchen in the hotel. Drinks not served past 1am, and even by 10pm it was hard to find someone to serve you drinks, you had to request a bartender at the reception (!?), the bathroom basin made it impossible to wash your face, the room was tiny, no electrical outlets, our room did not have a single bedside table or lamp (it was either 6 bright spotlights directly on the bed or lights out) and there is a slant to the floor at the top of the steep staircase to the 5th floor. It caused my daughter to fall, thankfully she stopped rolling down the stairs at the 4th step, it could have been much, much worse. We informed reception about how incredibly dangerous the stairs are and they did not even pretend to care.

Pros:Good location, clean and OK price
Cons: Rude reception staff, poor design, poor amenities

Gets marked down for a very near miss at badly injuring, possibly killing my daughter!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steewynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed two nights as part of a 9 day tour with Gate 1 Travel. Located in a great, safe neighborhood, right next door to the Rijksmuseum. Easy walk to other popular parts of Amsterdam such as the Anne Frank museum etc. Very nice and helpful staff, we arrived at 6:30 am lol so our room, or course, was not ready (plus the Europe MTV video awards were taking place so there were no empty rooms anywhere in the city) but they happily stored our luggage and invited us to stay in the breakfast room and have coffee, etc. Our breakfast was included and it was very good, coffee was excellent. Breakfast room turns into a bar in the afternoon/evening. Room was very clean but very, very small. It's an older building so you have to expect it but just a forewarning if you are expecting a huge Best Western US-style hotel room. But it was fine for us, who spends anytime in your room when you have all of Amsterdam to explore? All in all a lovely, well located hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finnatic1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjoerdverkooijen, Front office manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your comment here.It is nice to hear you enjoyed our hotel and city and I hope you enjoyed your entire trip.


With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#143 of 376 in Amsterdam
571 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#127 of 376 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#130 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £76 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing