We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #203 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
285 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Me and my friend won a competition to visit Amsterdam and this hotel was picked. Obviously not having your own choice means you have no clue what to expect. What a lovely surprise this hotel was. It is right in the museum district, so if museums are your thing it is perfect! It is also as close to one of the canals as you can get, which meant we had no struggle to locate a canal boat cruise. Also very nearby is a supermarket, an "I AMSTERDAM" statue/sign, the hard rock cafe, vondelpark, club paradiso and an irish pub.
The hotel itself is very nice and quite posh. The staff were SOOO friendly! Not being able to speak a foreign language is always a problem, but the staff spoke perfect english and were really really helpful, they solved every query we had. We didn't eat there so I cannot comment on food. However, we bought snacks and drinks out of a fridge in the reception, The room itself was modern and had everything that we needed for the one night stay.
Overall, I enjoyed staying in this hotel. But the staff made it particularly special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SparklinDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. What a compliment you were over the moon with our hotel. We are always happy to help you with all your questions and requests during your stay, we are glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff.

In addition we would like to express our gratitude for complementing our staff. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service every day again and guest compliments are the best motivation to strive to improve continuously.

Yours sincerely,
Stan Straver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    947
    664
    310
    233
See reviews for
312
1,154
207
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Bearing in mind I booked this hotel for my husbands 60th birthday, and because of this was offered a free upgrade, imagine our surprise when we were told that to get to our Room we had to go outside, along the street to the neighbouring building, up a typically steep set of steps with no handrail, only to be greeted by another set of very steep ( almost a ladder ) stairs to get to our room! It's worse getting back down. As the room was an upgrade, albeit a free one, there were no tea or coffee making facilities, the room was small, overlooking a flat roof and other hotel rooms. My husband went back to the reception and was given a coffee making machine which he had to carry back to the room only to discover there were no coffee sachets !! There were two lifts in the main hotel but non in the upgrade ?
The bathroom was indeed tiny with a glass door, but the worst bit was the designer tap that stuck out from the wall at 90* and so made washing and cleaning teeth rather difficult. However, the bed was a king size and very comfortable.
Next morning, down the ladders, down the street, through the cigarette smoke, in for breakfast. Which was fine except there were no bowls, no cups, and if you dared asked for some were greeted with a very irate ' I am doing my best, I can do no more. ' and ' see her, it is not my responsibility !!' Not pleasant. There was no fire escape from our room, and as previously mentioned we are not young ( we are in our heads!) and getting down such steep stairs with no hand rail was difficult at the best of times.
Good points? A comfortable bed, a convenient location.

Room Tip: Sorry, there is no pool ! Can't delete the selection. Tip, just be fit to take the upgrade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenminitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Greenminitraveller,

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. I take your comments as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

I’m extremely sorry for your experience in our breakfast restaurant and the inconvenience this has caused you as a result. This is not the level of service that we try to offer, so I appreciate your feedback so I know what areas of improvement we have to work on.

Thank you for drawing your concerns to our attention as such feedback enables us to improve the quality of our facilities and service we provide.

Yours sincerely,
Stan Straver
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for four nights and didn't not have a pleasant experience at all. Breakfast was ridiculously over priced for what was provided, no mineral water in rooms on arrival, forced to pay €4.00 for a small bottle in reception, staff completely inattentive and quite rude when asked for service in the bar area. I actually waited half an hour at the bar for a drink!!! When you are paying over €200 per night for a hotel room you expect much more, I feel totally let down, this place is a disgrace to Best Western. The only saving grace was a lady called Linda who worked on reception, she was fantastic, if you were to employ a couple of people like her your ratings would go up. Other than that avoid this place!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulDron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Amsterdam is a real lottery when it comes to hotels, as they tend to reflect a city with little space, steep staircases and tiny rooms. This is a place where the difference between one and four stars can be Grand Canyon in terms of quality. The Apollo Museum is three stars but it depends a lot on what room you get. As I was there with many colleagues I got an inside view on the range of accommodation available. A few of the rooms were so small it was difficult to get around the bed. And even the beds varied in size. Some were like narrow coffins, others standard size. The bathrooms were invariably tiny but, even worse, a number were fitted with long handled taps, which made face washing impossible. Our double room was petit but adequate for four days. With more luggage it would have been difficult because the storage just wasn’t there. But then other rooms were larger than ours. The location of the rooms is also important. Book on Hooftstraat street, as opposed to the main drag on the other side, unless you don't mind noise. At the back, go for the upper floors or you could end up with an air conditioning unit outside your window, as my friend experienced. They did move him but only after some argument. And this brings me onto the staff, which were a mixed bag. Some very helpful, others not so much. Although customer service is something of an occupational hazard in Holland, it shouldn’t be, particularly in a three star hotel. Compared to some places I have stayed in in Amsterdam over the years this is not the worst by any means but proceed with caution and try to be as descriptive as possible when booking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, and the en suite is a decent size. If you are in Amsterdam to see the city then you really don't need anything bigger than this. The beds were comfortable and the rooms cosy.

The location is excellent, very close to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum, away from the busier city centre. There's a good selection of restaurants very close by. Trams stop close to the hotel, but they work out quite expensive for a family of 4 so we avoided using them.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all so can't comment on the food, but the reception staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The only negative point is that we asked for adjacent rooms but were given rooms at opposite ends of a corridor. It didn't really matter so we didn't ask to change.

I'd certainly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are below street level - probably a good idea to ask to be higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The location is great in the museum district, with tramlines close by and very near the Leidseplein which has a bustling night life. Restaurants open late into the night , Hard Rock Café and Aran's Irish bar a stone throw away.
The exterior of the hotel is great with an ethereal old Europe charm - all in white.
The rooms are painfully small, the bathrooms are tiny - the smallest I have seen with no visual or auditory privacy .
Some rooms are accessible only by a narrow long staircase and can be extremely difficult to manoeuvre with luggage.
Breakfast is pricy at Euro 12.50 - 10.5 - if you book early through the reception. Massive pillows and they offer nothing else. later we noticed that the two pillows in our room were of different sizes. So they could have easily replaced my 'grande' one with something more wieldy.
The narrow mattress/cot is covered with a mattress pad which kept slipping out of place - confess I am a restless sleeper.
Altogether not worth the money but I am not sure other hotels are that great.
Our staircase only room was changed for a elevator operated one the second night. Grateful for that.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an elevator access and if you are lucky may land with a room facing the road/cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swapna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel rooms were clean and fresh and lots of room. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpfully showed us how to get around the city. Would stay again as is also reasonably priced. Good location too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nini233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#159 of 368 in Amsterdam
506 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#118 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,043 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#157 of 368 in Amsterdam
944 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
857 reviews
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Property: Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing