We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Ranked #203 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very good location near parks, museums and upscale shopping...however our room was not good. Very very small and not clean. No breakfast included. We were only there one night, or we would have asked to change rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merrilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonulUyanik, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the world on Tripadvisor.com.

We take all of our reviews very seriously and I would like to apologize for the cleanliness of the room. Your point is in contrast with the level of service you may expect from us. I will make sure to share your comment with the rest of the team and the housekeeping supervisor to prevent situations like this in the future. If you have any specific points regarding the cleanliness I will encourage you to contact me directly.

Unfortunately I cannot see in which room category you stayed in. Just for your information I would like to let you know that for only 10 euros extra per night per room you may change a single room into a twin room which is bigger. We also have double rooms and deluxe rooms. Deluxe rooms have beautiful views over the canals and the famous Rijksmuseum.

I would like to thank you once more for taking the time to writing us a review and I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel upon a future visit to Amsterdam. Please do not hesitate to contact me in person if you have any questions or remarks.

Yours sincerely,

Gönül Uyanik,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,869 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Frendly and helpful staff, ok cleaning. We had a room facing away from the road, and in 4th floor, so this was probably one of the best rooms. The only negative experience for me was that the curtains was not fully covering the window, made it too bright to sleep long in the morning. The hotel is close to museums and canal boat stops.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonulUyanik, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time writing a review. What a compliment you were satisfied with the room and I am glad you have enjoyed the service from our staff.

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the curtains. It is only with your feedback that we can constantly improve our services and I will definitely look into this.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable in a positive manner.

Kind Regards,
Gönül Uyanik,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Well, this might be one of my harsher reviews...but this one deserves it.
It's away from the city centre (of course we selected it...so that's not their fault) but it's important that you know.
It's also pricey...and parking is a big hassle if you're there in your own/ rented vehicle.
More importantly, the rooms are cramped. We were pretty much dumped in the basement for the two days there. First, we were in a corner room which was claustrophobic...then moved to this just about reasonable room.
Pay while checking into this one...and check before checking in.
Cheers...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ShipSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonulUyanik, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to wirte your experiences with us on TripAdvisor. I am terribly sorry to learn that your stay was not what you expected it to be. Your feedback means a lot to us and we will use it to improve our product and services.

With the hotel located right next to Rembrandts Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and the Leidse Plein just around the corner we actually are on an A1 location in the heart of the centre of Amsterdam.

Parking in the city centre of Amsterdam can indeed be a hassle. We indeed do not have our own parking garage but do offer a valet service to our guests. There are more options we are happy to explain to our guests up on arrival.

Once more thank you for taking the time to write about us. I hope you will allow us a second chance to restore your faith in us. You can always contact me directly.

Yours sincerely,
Gönül Uyank,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

A pleasant, budget-friendly tourist hotel in a fantastic location, half block from Rijksmuseum. Walk to the outermost ring canal, Van Gogh Museum, Diamond Museum, Concertgebouw, Vondelpark, the Holland Casino, Leidesplein's restaurant scene, high end shopping, canal cruise tickets, tram stops. (12€ 48-hour tram pass includes trams, buses, local ferries.)

The room was tiny (perhaps better for a single), barely room for a queen bed, desk, and armoire. But it was cheerfully decorated, immaculate, the bed comfy. The minuscule bathroom had been newly redone with granite and glass. No frills here but for location and price, a find. Room coffee maker and supplies gratis for the asking. Breakfast is offered, we did not sample.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MSmith338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GonulUyanik, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We actually checked into this hotel on the day of our arrival after being so disappointed with the hotel we had originally booked. As such, we had to pay slightly more than we would have had to if we had pre-booked online (which is to be expected). The rooms are great value for money if you book in advance! Newly renovated bathrooms, and clean, well presented rooms. Not particularly central but still a good location, lots of restaurants, coffee shops and bars nearby! You can pre-book taxis to the airport, and they let you leave your luggage in a secure room behind the front desk if your flight is after your check out time. Breakfast was not included with our room, so I wouldn't be able to comment on the food. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabel1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Was very shocked after checking to realize the "classic single room" was actually below street-level. I would describe the actual level of the room as casket-level. When I lay down on the bed my head was exactly 4-5 feet below street level. I could see the soles of people's feet as they walked past. In fairness the hotel website describes this as an economy room. That was not clear from the booking on hotels.com.
On the other hand, the hotel is ideally situated for any kind of shopping excursion, canal cruise, and the best cafés and food Amsterdam has to offer.

The room was fairly clean (except the half empty water bottle I found on the nightstand).

Breakfast was ok. You get what you pay for. Staff was very helpful for the most part.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyz-nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GonulUyanik, General Manager at Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on tripadvisor.com.

Thank you for pointing out our great location and for describing the staff as ‘very helpful’. It is our passion to strive for excellent customer service. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the near future. Please get in touch with me upon arrival and I make sure so that we can ensure you are looked after.

Kind regards,
Gönül Uyanik,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#138 of 373 in Amsterdam
557 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#115 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,897 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre

Address: P.C. Hooftstraat 2, 1071 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £67 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are looking for a hotel in the city centre. Apollo Museumhotel is located in the heart of Amsterdam. Our hotel is located right next to the Rijksmuseum and is ideal for a city trip, or if you are attending meetings in the centre. Everything is within walking distance. World-class museums close to the hotel are the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Heineken Experience. We are located in Pieter Cornelisz Hooftstraat where you will find the special window displays of all large international fashion houses. A feast for the eyes: glass door handles, marble floors, anything is possible in this street. For anyone wanting a good night out, Leidseplein is just 500 metres from the hotel; here you will find student bars, but also well-known clubs, such as De Melkweg and Paradiso. If you wish to escape the hustle and bustle of the city, the Vondelpark is just around the corner. This famous Amsterdam park is the place to go for culture, recreation and sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing