We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!”

Museum of Bags and Purses
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.79*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #35 of 518 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 4000 bags, purses, trunks, pouches, cases and accessories dating from the late Middle Ages until today, the Museum of Bags and Purses in Amsterdam is the largest of its kind in the world.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Love this museum, undestanding the history behind these useful lifesaver for us women was a great experience. The inside is beautifully and gracefully decorated. You will see the diferent kind of materials and designs used over time. I started on the third floor and made my way down to each exhibition. There was a nice coffe shop, elevators, staircases and lockers to keep your belongins.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcardenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    794
    530
    137
    31
    6
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I did not know this museum existed until I was actually in Amsterdam. Since I like purses and bags, this was a great place to go. The collection was fun to peruse. The videos could have been better and not everything was well labeled, but it was still enjoyable. The building itself is gorgeous. They offer afternoon tea and I would have done that had I had enough time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun and unique museum. A must for fashionistas”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a fun way to get out of weather that is too cold/too hot/rainy. One can view purses from the 1600's into the present. There were dozens of examples of Art Deco styles from the 1930-1940's. Less fun were the top-end designer bags. One thing i really liked was that like an art museum, there were printed narratives that explained the evolution of handbags as a practical way to carry money, then cards/gaming accessories, then love letters, ladies' sewing/crafts, morphing into an accessory in an of themselves.

You can get through in about an hour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“For my wife..”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Not really my kind of place, but my wife LOVES handbags, and I didn't complain once, so I was looking good that day !!! All in all, I guess as far as a museum of purses goes, this one was OK

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grateful908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A museum for the ladies”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I'd like to say that obviously ladies will appreciate this museum. But actually its informative and us men can enjoy it as well!. It gives a good insight into the historical development of bags, right up to the present day. If you get a chance, its different from the norm and well worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidofWatford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Bags and Purses also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Bags and Purses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing