We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Ranked #250 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My first visit to Amsterdam. I booked originally through Booking.com for 4 adults (friends) and 2 teens (my dtr and her best friend) in a suite and prepaid. Upon arrival, it seemed as though the Hotel, being fairly new, was advertised incorrectly on Booking.com and there was no such thing as a family room for 6 people! We were now only 3 adults and 2 children, so at first the manager, Van (I believe that's how to spell her name), wanted to "squeeze" the fifth person into the 4 person "suite". I was extremely upset.
She made it right and immediately gave us the suite we originally booked with a balcony (very important) double bed, TV/sitting area with fold out comfy bed, and also gave us a second room with double bed free. New, clean, comfy and trendy boutique style.
The regular double rooms are very small, as typical of Europe, so flip for the few extra bucks and get the suite with the Balcony it's sooooooo worth it!

The location is AMAZING! Starbucks downstairs, cafe's, restaurants, shops, banks, transportation (trams), everything at your fingertips and within walking distance. The convenience comes with a little noise outside so if you are looking for TOTAL quiet... don't get a room in the front, although my daughter and her friend said they didn't hear anything, I did.

Van and all of the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable of Amsterdam. I will definitely stay next year again.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms are really awesome for people watching and just to sit and have a drink but a li...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CMARIANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

First time to Amsterdam for my 30th and 3rd head wedding Anniversary and what an experience , as a travel agent myself feels I should write an honest review to advise others before staying, firstly we where over charges buy booking.com advertising and invoicing the wrong price by 120euro the hotel did NOTHING about it! After driving for 4 hours in the blistering heat to b greater by the parking instructions which where not clearly advised and therefore cost more money, a parking service come and take your car and park it out of the city provided by the hotel at 50euros but on having the car back one day it's now making a funny noise but that's another matter, the room was suppose to b an upgrade but small and dingy and very noisey , no toilet roll had to ask twice, dusty, no room service booklet or info, the breakfast in the mornin was disgusting, uncooked, cold and STALE bread avoid eating unless you want to get ill, everything was empty they wernt filling it up so there was nothing to eat again has to ask twice to fill the beans up. On leaving the hotel there where 5 people complaining when checking out 5!!! Iv never seen anything like it and two of them
Also been over charged, after arguing with a disgusting reception her attitude stank we where offered 20euro so we are now out of pocket and couldn't wait any longer I will do everything I can to spread the word that this hotel is a disgrace there where people congregating outside waiting for the manager and as for him well I have no words what to disprove him as! They have no care for their customers at all!!! Avoid please

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marsh24j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. Everything was closeby and I head a great view over the rembrandtsquare. Staff was extremely helpfull and were willing to do anything to make my stay worth while. Decided to have dinner in their restaurant, since i liked the view from my room i sat at a table on the outside terracce. Had the most amazing Mojito. Food was perfect. Weather was nice. Couldn't wish for more :) This hotel is recommended to all!

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony! best view of amsterdam ;)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramez R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JosepOlesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Seba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank brainjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#119 of 371 in Amsterdam
985 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#150 of 371 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#185 of 371 in Amsterdam
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Rembrandtplein 44, 1017 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £95 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Amsterdam Hotel is on the Rembrandt Square in the center of the city of Amsterdam. It has non-smoking rooms with free Wi-Fi access. Each room here includes cable TV and air conditioning. The private bathroom has a bathtub or shower and a hairdryer. At Royal Amsterdam Hotel, there is an airport shuttle, a 24-hour front desk and a terrace. Other facilities at the property include meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing