We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming houseboat in Central Amsterdam”
Review of B&B Le Maroxidien

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B Le Maroxidien
Ranked #262 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed 2 nights while visiting Amsterdam for a concert. The reason because we chose Le Maroxidien was because we heard that Kathrin would serve a lovely organic breakfast in the morning. We did not get dissapointed - the breakfast was fantastic!
Kathrin made us feel very welcome and helped us getting the most out of our stay in Amsterdam. Good location. Clean rooms. Charming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANDREASH0LM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

We spent 2 nights on this re-furbished riverboat using all 3 bedrooms for 5 adults. It was comfortable, but there was not much of a common area. Seating was huge floor cushions outside the doors of our individual rooms. I would have liked a chair or sofa somewhere, but it wouldn't have matched the "theme." Tea and cookies were awaiting us on arrival, which was a nice touch because we were tired from flying and lugging suitcases from the Central Station. Online it says a "10 minute walk" from the train but that must be with a backpack. We had wheeled suitcases, for the cruise we were joining, and the cobbled streets and road repairs made the walk a challenge. On arrival at the boat, it is necessary to carry the luggage across the deck of another boat (there are several moored together) and then down a ship's ladder in the hold to reach the 3 bedroom/ 2 bath area. Online it says "steep stairs" but it is actually a ladder. The owner was most helpful in getting us and our luggage aboard. Each room is decorated in a different country's motiff as you will see on the website. My daughter used the term funky to describe the decor. All except the single room with a bed with head and foot boards, we had beds that were built-in and you had to crawl in from the bottom. They were comfortable once you got in. We had red sheets and towels in our room. The whole interior was colorful, but not garish. The two bathrooms each had a nice shower which made it easy for the 5 of us to share facilities. There was no television or radio in our area of the ship. The breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit, yogurts, breads and jam, meats and cheeses and great coffee in the kitchen in the owner's part of the ship. On our last day, we needed to leave early for the airport and take away bags were packed for us. Excellent service. As for value for the money, the 5 of us could have had 3 rooms in a hotel for less, but it was an interesting experience. I would not want to try it in winter with icy sidewalks or ship decks. Speaking of ice, there wasn't any, even in the owner's area. No microwave either.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Le Maroxidien. The boat is beautifully decorated and well presented throughout. The lovely Kathrin is a charming woman who made us feel welcomed as her guests.

The organic breakfast was a great start to set us up for a day's exploring of the wonderful city of Amsterdam. We always started breakfast with some laughs over our coffee as I tried to convince Kathrin that I was an old sea dog and well versed in the language of the sea.

We told Kathrin that we wanted a holiday that would be unique and with a soul. And that is what we got. Her houseboat has a soul and a gentle character. We will never forget our time here.

Do not expect spacious rooms. You are on a boat. Our room (India - the rooms are all themed on different countries) was perfect for us. The bathrooms are very good - Kathrin has stamped her own special and unique style on the accomodation.

I expect we will return to Amsterdam in the future and we will definitely return to our boat.

Decent location - short walk from Central Station - and well positioned for access to the city.

We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank higuain1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lilipedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Hanneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Suso F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#136 of 372 in Amsterdam
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,306 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Le Maroxidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Maroxidien

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 36a, 1015 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £89 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in my organic bed and breakfast LE MAROXIDIEN in the very charming upper house with terrace in the heart of Jordaan! In an absolutely unique setting, nearby Central Station, my B&B LE MAROXIDIEN will provide you an unforgettable stay: Not only the location and the interior, but also the service will enchant and inspire you. The B&B is located in the vibrant Jordaan, but at a quiet canal. At the front with view over the Lijnbaansgracht and at the rear side you look over the courtyards. Within walking distance you will find many restaurants, cafes and coffee bars and a wide variety of authentic shops. The mix of 'old' and 'new' residents makes the neighborhood very special. My aim is to provide you with an unforgettable stay. Not only the location and atmosphere should create this, but the service will enchant you. In the morning I will serve you a divine (as much as possible) organic breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing