We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good in any sense”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel Apartments
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Best people, perfect location and great service. Thank you guys we will come back for sure. We spend 4 days and combined both leisure and buisiness. That was the best accomondation in any sense even the steep stairs...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panosdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Amber was a wonderful place for our recent stay in Amsterdam. It has a great location with a beautiful view of the canal. Although it is small for an apartment, the room is larger than a hotel room and offers the amenities of a suite. Plus, the cost is about equivalent to a hotel room, but without the hassle of other loud guests, paying for WiFi, etc. It is truly like you are at home on vacation. Management is very nice and non-intrusive. A word of caution for those with mobility issues: the stairs are very steep. You will be out of breath after climbing them... and carrying the suitcases up and down them is not for the faint of heart.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in Amsterdam Jewel for 7 nights and it was wonderful, we'll definitely be back. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the location is ideal (among other things, it's a 1-minute walk to a large supermarket, 2-minutes to Dam Square) ... really, I can't say enough nice things about the place. A little home away from home. Thank you, Marten and Jojo!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanFranJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Amber suite for a seven-night stay in May 2011. Amsterdam in general is a wonderful city, with everything in easy walking distance. We wanted a more "local" experience by staying in an apartment instead of a hotel and the Amsterdam Jewel Apartments fit the bill perfectly!
The owners were extremely helpful, and were waiting in the office for our expected arrival and greeted us by name. The apartment is a perfect size for two and had beautiful large windows overlooking the canal. We both enjoyed opening the windows and sitting on the bench in front of them to take in the views. The apartment is modern, clean, and in a great location!
All attractions are an easy walk away and the apartment served as home base for us.
During the month of May, the weather was slightly on the chilly side....high 60's, low 70's, but it was was perfect sleeping weather and the breeze through the windows felt nice. My husband and I both like it cooler when we sleep, and I can imagine if the temperature was hot outside, it would be a little warm in the apartment. Keep in mind there is no air conditioning, and it is located on the top floor.

Martin and JoJo are the owners and it was great speaking with them about the history of the building and surrounding areas. They were so helpful when I came down with a horrible case of Poison Ivy (brought from the states, and first appeared after arriving in Amsterdam). Martin called his own doctor's office and was able to get me an appointment that same day, which was VEry appreciated, because if you have every had poison ivy, it is miserable, and I had it everywhere!.
I would most certainly return to the Amsterdam Jewel apartments on my next visit and this time try the dinner cruise they offer. The dinner is highly rated and apparently more than 50% of the customers are locals, which says a lot about the quality of the experience.
Thank you Martin and JoJo, we will be back one day!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travellovers512010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Me and boyfriend stayed in the Pearl Apartment. It is exactly what it looks like in the pictures, just better! The view of the Canal is amazing and lovely during the day and night. We were provided with all the kitchen equipment we needed which was wonderful and the owners were friendly and helpful too. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. Just make sure you remember to take DVDs as a lot of the T.V was in Dutch!! The location is also perfect, right behind a large supermarket, where we did all our shopping as well as being close to many of the good coffee shops! I would really recommend these apartments and will definitely be returning later this year as I haven't found anything better!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

to begin the location is the best of the 5 places i have stayed in amsterdam. it is located in a neighborhood with a nice mix of cafes shops and residential buildings. the museums and leidesplein are a modest walk or tram away.the anne frank house is even closer. the red light district is also close to the apartment but far enough away that if that is not your cup of tea you could go the whole trip and not know that area exists. being the cultured degenerate that i am i spent time in all the worlds of amsterdam . this centrally located apartment made that a breeze. i stayed in the amber which was essentially perfect inside. clean , modern and uniquely structured with the bed upstairs by itself in the loft area. the view of the canal below is simply stunning and is accentuated by the fact that essentially you are looking out a wall of windows. stairs up to apt are steep but that only adds to the charm of the aptly named amber of the amsterdam JEWEL apartments. the owners Jojo and Marten are consummate class. very friendly and went the extra mile to make my trip a happy one. I really liked them. If you want to create a memory of Amsterdam that you will savor for the rest of your life, you must first buy a ticket . the second step is booking this jewel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fanofthedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Great place, great hosts and fantastic location. Very comfortable and you have a good feeling while staying here. I am 63 and I had no problem with stairs - so no whining about steep stairs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packandgoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
#49 of 253 in Amsterdam
112 reviews
Centrum
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments Amsterdam Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Yays Oostenburgergracht Concierged Boutique Apartments
Hostelle
#34 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel Apartments

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £141 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing