We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a pearler.”
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's a pearler.”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We totally enjoyed our 3rd floor spacious studio apartment overlooking the canal as the sun streamed in through the enormous windows each afternoon.Everything you need has been thought of and Marten the owner is very helpful and unobtrusive.The place is warm, the cleaning lady attentive and location perfect.Two minutes to supermarket and The Dam, there is a great little cafe next door or book a canal dinner cruise with Marten. Flower and flea markets and numerous cafes and restaurants all within walking distance, just watch out for the bicyclists! Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aprilmermaid20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
73
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Have just spent 3 nights at Amsterdam Jewel in Pearl apartment, very cosy and a great location. Lovely setting and close to everything you need. Supermarket just behind for all your needs but generous supply of coffee by the hosts, which is much needed as you arrive!. I have visited Amsterdam before but have always been in a hotel, this is much nicer as you can relax looking out of the window whenever you please and dont feel like you are stuck in a hotel room, although this is not much bigger, it is great to be able to do your own bit of breakfast and even supper if you dont wish to go out. Looking forward to coming again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Best people, perfect location and great service. Thank you guys we will come back for sure. We spend 4 days and combined both leisure and buisiness. That was the best accomondation in any sense even the steep stairs...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panosdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Amber was a wonderful place for our recent stay in Amsterdam. It has a great location with a beautiful view of the canal. Although it is small for an apartment, the room is larger than a hotel room and offers the amenities of a suite. Plus, the cost is about equivalent to a hotel room, but without the hassle of other loud guests, paying for WiFi, etc. It is truly like you are at home on vacation. Management is very nice and non-intrusive. A word of caution for those with mobility issues: the stairs are very steep. You will be out of breath after climbing them... and carrying the suitcases up and down them is not for the faint of heart.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed in Amsterdam Jewel for 7 nights and it was wonderful, we'll definitely be back. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the location is ideal (among other things, it's a 1-minute walk to a large supermarket, 2-minutes to Dam Square) ... really, I can't say enough nice things about the place. A little home away from home. Thank you, Marten and Jojo!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranJohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Amber suite for a seven-night stay in May 2011. Amsterdam in general is a wonderful city, with everything in easy walking distance. We wanted a more "local" experience by staying in an apartment instead of a hotel and the Amsterdam Jewel Apartments fit the bill perfectly!
The owners were extremely helpful, and were waiting in the office for our expected arrival and greeted us by name. The apartment is a perfect size for two and had beautiful large windows overlooking the canal. We both enjoyed opening the windows and sitting on the bench in front of them to take in the views. The apartment is modern, clean, and in a great location!
All attractions are an easy walk away and the apartment served as home base for us.
During the month of May, the weather was slightly on the chilly side....high 60's, low 70's, but it was was perfect sleeping weather and the breeze through the windows felt nice. My husband and I both like it cooler when we sleep, and I can imagine if the temperature was hot outside, it would be a little warm in the apartment. Keep in mind there is no air conditioning, and it is located on the top floor.

Martin and JoJo are the owners and it was great speaking with them about the history of the building and surrounding areas. They were so helpful when I came down with a horrible case of Poison Ivy (brought from the states, and first appeared after arriving in Amsterdam). Martin called his own doctor's office and was able to get me an appointment that same day, which was VEry appreciated, because if you have every had poison ivy, it is miserable, and I had it everywhere!.
I would most certainly return to the Amsterdam Jewel apartments on my next visit and this time try the dinner cruise they offer. The dinner is highly rated and apparently more than 50% of the customers are locals, which says a lot about the quality of the experience.
Thank you Martin and JoJo, we will be back one day!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travellovers512010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Me and boyfriend stayed in the Pearl Apartment. It is exactly what it looks like in the pictures, just better! The view of the Canal is amazing and lovely during the day and night. We were provided with all the kitchen equipment we needed which was wonderful and the owners were friendly and helpful too. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. Just make sure you remember to take DVDs as a lot of the T.V was in Dutch!! The location is also perfect, right behind a large supermarket, where we did all our shopping as well as being close to many of the good coffee shops! I would really recommend these apartments and will definitely be returning later this year as I haven't found anything better!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaygirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#175 of 367 in Amsterdam
442 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,110 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal Boutique Apartments
Canal Boutique Apartments
#32 of 230 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Suites aan de Singel by Vera
Suites aan de Singel by Vera
#117 of 230 in Amsterdam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Property: Amsterdam Jewel
Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing