We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREAM Honeymoon:)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel Apartments
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We spent our honeymoon in the top apartment, and it was amazing! The hosts are fantastic, you feel like its your own private home. The stairs are a little steep, but you get used to it. You are centrally located in a safe corner, and you can walk to the market for food. Lots of great shops and resturants within walking distance. There is a bike rental place right behind the appartment. There are also plenty of "Coffee" shops around. I have never had a better vacation. We have even discussed moving to Holland because our experience was so life changing. Stop looking for other places to stay. Book this loft. It has everything you need and more.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Toronto_TV_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2008

My husband and I had our honeymoon here. I've been to Amsterdam On a number of occasions and love to be in the heart of the enviroment...... This was the most amazing stay I've had, we had all the privacy we needed, but only had to knock on the door and anything we needed was sorted for us. The accomadation was imaculate, warm and cosy and the view from the apartment, was like looking at a row of dutch dolls houses, you couldn't experience Amsterdam any other way.

I can't tell you enough how luxurious the accomadation is for the price. The bed doesn't look very special in the website photo's, but we named it the bed of clouds...it's like floating on air due to the spring base built into a frame. We intend to have every aniversary we can here........so don't think about booking the 16th January !!!!!!

Sophie and Matthew Fleming
Melbourne, Australia

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Sophie008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Everything about Aloft is perfect. We stayed in the top floor suite, the one with the lofted bed, and it was an amazing stay. The location is ideal. The space is beautifully outfitted. The hosts were VERY gracious. I would recommend to ANYONE, except maybe those that would have trouble navigating the steep staircase up to the room. It is a typically dutch staircase, almost dizzyingly steep.

We will definitely make Aloft our home for future Amsterdam stays.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank ribbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2008

My thirteen year old niece and I have just returned from a three night stay at Aloft (apartment 1) and are now in the process of saving up for our return visit! Our stay was quite simply fantastic. How wonderful it was to wake in the morning and sit looking out at the most beautiful canal view and watch the world go by. Our studio apartment had everything we required and the local area had a supermarket two minutes away and lots of wonderful bars and restaurants to choose from. Our hosts Jojo and Marten were very friendly and helpful, they live in the same building and although they are very non intrusive, if they are around they are always there to answer any questions.

If you decide to choose to stay here, we know you won't be disappointed - have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2008

This is an outstanding place to experience Amsterdam. I stayed while in Amsterdam on business. It was great to stay in an actual canal home and not an antiseptic hotel room.

You have a great view of one of the main canals and are very close to transit, cafes, ATM machine, and a grocery store.

The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to accomodate my needs.

I visited in business, but it would be great for a couple.

The web site accurately reflects the accomodations.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NCSUTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2008

The location of the flat is perfect for walking and sightseeing. It is very quiet yet turn the corner and you are literally four minutes from Dam Square (Three from the Irish Bar which has live football and good food)
The flat itself is perfect for two people and is of of a very high standard .The view over the canal from the three large windows is the icing on the cake. I have just rebooked for next year.
Marten and Jojo are excellent hosts and you rarely see them unless you need to ask something. The flat itself is immaculately clean which is a big selling point for Anne and I. We went for a week in Feb and it was great walking weather. It was a joy to return to the flat after a walk as it was cosy and warm. All in all it is excellent value for money especially compared to hotels. If you got this accommodation in a hotel you wouldn't believe your luck.
PS If you do visit I would recommend the evening supper boat tour. My wife and I thought it was excellent.
Robert McPherson

Stayed: February 2007
Thank denislaw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2008

We have been to Amsterdam many times over the years & our stay at Marten & JoJo's Aloft Apartment was by far the BEST ! We will now consider it our home away from home.
Everything was perfect - the apartment, the design, the view, the location... and of course the hosts !
We were celebrating our anniversary & birthday & there were even flowers in our room upon our arrival. The week we spent there was fabulous. We felt as though we lived there, as opposed to staying in a typical hotel or B & B.
Continued success & much luck to Marten & JoJo.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyc2vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,026 reviews
Plantage & the East
Zoku Amsterdam
Zoku Amsterdam
#1 of 242 in Amsterdam
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#36 of 242 in Amsterdam
270 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,281 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel Apartments

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £142 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing