We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of charm, character and "5 Star" for self catering accommodations! :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amsterdam Jewel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lots of charm, character and "5 Star" for self catering accommodations! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

My husband and I were in Amsterdam for 3 nights. I did a lot of research online and just really wanted to find a good quality, clean, accommodation. I did not want the typical Hotel style but something with character. We travel a lot and have stayed in many stylish hotels and some that were just disappointing. The Amsterdam Jewell - Amber is everything I had imagined it would be...(and more) charming, loads of character, beautiful historic construction, great location and wonderful hosts.

We stayed in the Amber Suite, which is on the 3rd/4th level. Quiet area and street. Loft was a beautiful open wooden beam construction. Built sometime in the 1600's. This warm and cosy loft was spotless. Fridge, Stove, Dishwasher. Free Wi-Fi and cable tv on a flatscreen. Breathtaking views of the Signal Canal from Living room area. The main level is kitchen, living room and washroom, (toilet-sink-shower) there are step stairs to bedroom. When arriving at Flat, once you are in the front door - there are 3 flights of Amsterdam traditional stairs (enclosed spiral staircase) so I would recomend small suitcase...we had 4 Large suitcases - between Marten (Flat Owner) and my Husband they got them up. (do not try to multi-task while carrying suitcases up very steep stairs. ie. answering cell phones...ha ha)

We wanted to stay close to Dam Square so we could walk to most attractions. Great grocery store 1min walk away, restaurant downstairs next door. The Palace and Dam Square was literally a 2 minute walk away. We also walked to the Heineken Brewery, however it is about a 40 min walk but the train is easily accessible. 9 Streets shopping district is minutes away. Central Station and Red Light District was about 10 minutes away. We recommend this flat for couples who want a great location but a romantic aura.

When we return to Amsterdam we will definitely be staying at the Amsterdam Jewel again.
Thank you very much Marten for making our stay so wonderful. :)
Sylvia & Adrian

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaBeachBumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
70
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Amsterdam Jewel - in the Amber Apartment - for three days/nights over Thanksgiving weekend in November 2009. It is perfectly situated: located near Dam Square heading toward the Jordaan, right across the Nine Little Streets; about a 10 minute walk from the train station, 15 min walk from the Red Light District, and 15 mins from the museum area. While the apartment is situated in an old canal house (and up several, winding sets of steep stairs!), it is modern, very clean, recently renovated, and has a great setup. We enjoyed the great view from the apartment, which looked out onto the canal and the bridge below, across from other canal apartments, and out toward the Westerkerk Church tower. Jojo, one of the owners, was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions.
Although our stay was short, we loved the city of Amsterdam and highly recommend the Amsterdam Jewel!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kzakrzew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Amber apartment a few weeks ago and it was a completely enchanted experience. The interior of this very carefully restored 17th century canal house is beautifully done... the perfect mix between historical architectural details and clean, contemporary design. The place is spotless and cosy and of course, there is nothing quite like waking up in a loft bed overlooking the Singel canal. Located right along the edge of the lovely 9 Streets district, with its beautiful cafés and curious boutiques, the location is ideal- just around the corner from Dam Square (and Central Station) yet perfectly away from the crowds. Bicycles (rental place next door) and croquettes (great cafe on the corner) are close at hand. We were totally well taken care of by Marten and Jojo, the owners of the canal house. They were exceptionally kind and helpful. I have travelled to Amsterdam before on business and the hotel experience really cannot compare. With these apartments (and also their vintage-style dinner cruise- very great) Martin and Jojo have created something totally unique to the city. We will absolutely be coming back, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed in the Pearl Apartment and it was absolutely perfect. It is a clean, modern, well-equiped apartment in a safe and convenient neighborhood within walking distance of, well, everything! Marten and Jojo were great hosts, available to help us with any needs or recommendations. We will stay here every time we come to Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

The location of this place is ideal. About a ten minute walk from central station. The room is impeccable, we stayed on the second floor and we had great night sleeps all three nights we stayed. The room has a nice modern feel to it, which I really like. Marten and JoJo did all they could to make our welcome as easy as possible. The stairs are a little steep as previously mentioned but easy to get used to, may be tough for someone who is older and has trouble climbing stairs. There is a grocery store about two minutes away, also on the same street as Jewel, think it is Sengal st. there is a great lunch spot Broodie something, great little deli with fresh baked apple pie. The red light district is about a 8-12 minute walk. We also walked to the Van Gogh Musuem and Heinekin Brewery from Jewel, the walks were not bad don't know exactly how long maybe 15-25 minutes. Amsterdam is a cool place, I had a little apprenhension with the mystique of the "coffe shops" and the red light, but I felt safe at all times in Amsterdam. This apt./hotel is a great place to call home while in Amsterdam!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GregRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Our 15 day stay in March/April was fantastic. The owners Marten and Jo Jo were delightful and absolutely helpful in every way. The apartment was cozy, romantic and so close to everything you can think of. Central and on the canal, it was all just so picturesque and the place was all abuzz. The stay was made all that more comfortable with the cleanliness and the cooking facilities. There is a supermarket just around the corner as is the post office and main shopping areas. A few steps from the main Dam Square and all the other attractions. The location was just so great. Trams running in all directions if you wanted to wander out further and also bike hire just next door. The train is also close by as we walked from and to the central train station when we arrived and left. If we ever return to Amsterdam we would definitely stay again.

Grant and Dina (Australia)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiesilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ont
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

We spent our honeymoon in the top apartment, and it was amazing! The hosts are fantastic, you feel like its your own private home. The stairs are a little steep, but you get used to it. You are centrally located in a safe corner, and you can walk to the market for food. Lots of great shops and resturants within walking distance. There is a bike rental place right behind the appartment. There are also plenty of "Coffee" shops around. I have never had a better vacation. We have even discussed moving to Holland because our experience was so life changing. Stop looking for other places to stay. Book this loft. It has everything you need and more.

  • Liked — The kitchen was awesome!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Toronto_TV_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#222 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#96 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#162 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#138 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel

Property: Amsterdam Jewel
Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing