We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Jewel Apartments
Reviewed 12 May 2010

My husband and I spent the second week of our honeymoon in Amsterdam, and stayed in the Amber apartment. People have commented on the stairs and they are quite unbelievably steep, but this is mentioned on the website, and if you take it slow, it's worth the effort. Marten and Jojo were both absolutely lovely - very welcoming and friendly, even helping me to organise a surprise birthday cake for my husband upon our arrival.

The location is perfect - a short walk from Centraal station and Dam square, and right next door to Orange Bikes if you want to hire a bicycle for the day. There's a supermarket round the corner too, so you can stock up the little flat and make it your home!

The flat itself was gorgeous - roomy enough, bright with lots of windows, and a great view of the Singel canal and the gabled rooftops. It was very clean and had all the amenities needed to feel at home. The free WiFi was handy. There was a nice little coffee maker, a toaster, dishwasher, and proper oven and hob. There was a hairdryer, iron and board, everything. There were even teabags! Marten and Jojo also let me use their laundry room - very handy when you're living out of a bag for a fortnight - and supplied powder, fabric softener, the works! The loft/mezzanine bed area was extremely comfortable and we slept well - there was some noise from the street below but it wasn't excessive. The bathroom was quite ingenious - a tiny area but perfectly functional (though it took me a while to figure out what was making a sound like a mechanical crow - turns out it was the air freshener!). If I could find one thing I'd change, I'd say a little more storage for hanging clothes, but that's being very picky!

We definitely plan to stay here again when we visit Amsterdam. Thanks so much, Marten and Jojo!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABookishBeaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2010

A very well decorated/furnished one bedroom apartment (Amber), with nice view, and great central (but relatively quiet) location. The bed is confortable, and the facilities in the room (oven, hotplates, dishwasher, fridge) are all new and of good quality. The shower room/toilet makes the best of a small space, and the fittings there too are of a very high quality. The welcome by the manager/owner was friendly and helpful (he dashed off to get us a map and guide, as mine was 12 years old!).
It is not cheap, but that may be standard for Amsterdam, and one word of warning: the steps to get to the apartment are vert steep and narrow so this is not recommendable to those who have mobility issues. I would recommend bringing earplugs, as the streets outside can get noisy at night, as revellers return home.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We stayed at the Pearl Apartment, as we didn't like having to climb up stairs to the bed/loft. It was perfect. The winter rate was great, Marten was very helpful and the place was very clean and appeared to have been recently renovated. The Pearl has three great windows overlooking the Singel. Only warning: can be a bit noisy in the early mornings and late nights as you listen to late night revelers and early morning commuters. But it wasn't bad at all.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agpguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My husband and I were in Amsterdam for 3 nights. I did a lot of research online and just really wanted to find a good quality, clean, accommodation. I did not want the typical Hotel style but something with character. We travel a lot and have stayed in many stylish hotels and some that were just disappointing. The Amsterdam Jewell - Amber is everything I had imagined it would be...(and more) charming, loads of character, beautiful historic construction, great location and wonderful hosts.

We stayed in the Amber Suite, which is on the 3rd/4th level. Quiet area and street. Loft was a beautiful open wooden beam construction. Built sometime in the 1600's. This warm and cosy loft was spotless. Fridge, Stove, Dishwasher. Free Wi-Fi and cable tv on a flatscreen. Breathtaking views of the Signal Canal from Living room area. The main level is kitchen, living room and washroom, (toilet-sink-shower) there are step stairs to bedroom. When arriving at Flat, once you are in the front door - there are 3 flights of Amsterdam traditional stairs (enclosed spiral staircase) so I would recomend small suitcase...we had 4 Large suitcases - between Marten (Flat Owner) and my Husband they got them up. (do not try to multi-task while carrying suitcases up very steep stairs. ie. answering cell phones...ha ha)

We wanted to stay close to Dam Square so we could walk to most attractions. Great grocery store 1min walk away, restaurant downstairs next door. The Palace and Dam Square was literally a 2 minute walk away. We also walked to the Heineken Brewery, however it is about a 40 min walk but the train is easily accessible. 9 Streets shopping district is minutes away. Central Station and Red Light District was about 10 minutes away. We recommend this flat for couples who want a great location but a romantic aura.

When we return to Amsterdam we will definitely be staying at the Amsterdam Jewel again.
Thank you very much Marten for making our stay so wonderful. :)
Sylvia & Adrian

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovaScotiaBeachBumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Amsterdam Jewel - in the Amber Apartment - for three days/nights over Thanksgiving weekend in November 2009. It is perfectly situated: located near Dam Square heading toward the Jordaan, right across the Nine Little Streets; about a 10 minute walk from the train station, 15 min walk from the Red Light District, and 15 mins from the museum area. While the apartment is situated in an old canal house (and up several, winding sets of steep stairs!), it is modern, very clean, recently renovated, and has a great setup. We enjoyed the great view from the apartment, which looked out onto the canal and the bridge below, across from other canal apartments, and out toward the Westerkerk Church tower. Jojo, one of the owners, was very friendly and helpful in answering our questions.
Although our stay was short, we loved the city of Amsterdam and highly recommend the Amsterdam Jewel!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Amber apartment a few weeks ago and it was a completely enchanted experience. The interior of this very carefully restored 17th century canal house is beautifully done... the perfect mix between historical architectural details and clean, contemporary design. The place is spotless and cosy and of course, there is nothing quite like waking up in a loft bed overlooking the Singel canal. Located right along the edge of the lovely 9 Streets district, with its beautiful cafés and curious boutiques, the location is ideal- just around the corner from Dam Square (and Central Station) yet perfectly away from the crowds. Bicycles (rental place next door) and croquettes (great cafe on the corner) are close at hand. We were totally well taken care of by Marten and Jojo, the owners of the canal house. They were exceptionally kind and helpful. I have travelled to Amsterdam before on business and the hotel experience really cannot compare. With these apartments (and also their vintage-style dinner cruise- very great) Martin and Jojo have created something totally unique to the city. We will absolutely be coming back, I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We stayed in the Pearl Apartment and it was absolutely perfect. It is a clean, modern, well-equiped apartment in a safe and convenient neighborhood within walking distance of, well, everything! Marten and Jojo were great hosts, available to help us with any needs or recommendations. We will stay here every time we come to Amsterdam!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Anonymous622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Centrum
W Amsterdam
W Amsterdam
#89 of 373 in Amsterdam
810 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#176 of 373 in Amsterdam
464 reviews
Centrum
MNQUE Bed & Breakfast
MNQUE Bed & Breakfast
#130 of 338 in Amsterdam
28 reviews
Centrum
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
Amsterdam Boutique Apartments
#42 of 237 in Amsterdam
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Jewel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Jewel Apartments

Address: Singel 235, 1012 WE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Aloft Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 237 Speciality Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: £158 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beautiful canal view apartments in a monumental canal house located in the center of Amsterdam, just behind the Dam Square at walking distance (10 to 15 min) from the central station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Amsterdam Jewel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing