We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Mirror - best meal in Amsterdam”

De Silveren Spiegel
Ranked #2 of 4,047 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$77 - US$106
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Description: Elegance, tradition and hospitality are the core traits of one of Amsterdam’s finest restaurants, de Silveren Spiegel (the Silver Mirror). The restaurant dates from the Dutch Golden Age, the 17th century, so you can experience the ambiance of this time period. Breathtaking surroundings and a lovely diner. Private rooms for special occasions, parties or business meetings available. AT THIS MOMENT THE RESTAURANT IS CLOSED FOR EXTENDED RENOVATIONS. WE ARE HAPPY TO WELCOME YOU AGAIN IN THE SPRING OF 2017.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We dined at the Silver Mirror located in a small old house - a charming space. The food matched the surroundings and the service was excellent. Without a doubt the best meal we had during our stay in Amsterdam.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank saybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Saybrook,

Thank you very much for your review.
This is the feedback we are striving for and we are really pleased that you enjoyed our Dutch concept.
We hope we will have the opportunity to be welcoming you again soon.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

384 - 388 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had high expectations for a great dinner in a unique intimate restaurant. The first floor has two rooms with a bar and another connecting room. Both rooms are attractive but relatively small with quite a few tables. We selected the connecting room because it had a table for two away from the front door which has access to the second floor which seats large groups (50+) upstairs. Unfortunately as we found out the connecting room has a pantry pass-thru window for collecting the dirty dishes which occurred throughout our meal. During the course of our dinner a large group entered and went upstairs and both the first floor rooms were filled. In short, while the restaurant is unique, the environment is not intimate.
We selected a bottle of wine after discussing the choices with our server and ordered off the menu rather than selecting the 3 or 5 course meal. The wine was good , the bread was good, and the first course salads were very good. For our main course I had the Signature Seafood bouillabaisse and my spouse choose the Suckling Pig. My Signature Seafood dish was a big disappointment as the fish was mackerel (with the skin) and the rest of the seafood was nondescript. The Suckling Pig dish was very dry and almost non editable. Perhaps, we just made poor choices, however the menu is somewhat limited. We spent $250 and left very disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RWC15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleAlmere, Manager at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear RWC15,

Your review is important to us and I can assure you that we are already working upon the necessary improvements about the Fish-selection..

I am really sorry you didn’t enjoy the food and table only the buildings are from anno 1614 (Fourhundred Years) and we will do our best to provide you a very good experience in de Silveren Spiegel for your next visit


Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a classy restaurant in Amsterdam and is a must visit for a memorable evening together in Amsterdam. One of the most oldest buildings in Amsterdam.
Service is professional. The Food & Wine outstanding! A personal advice would be to take the 3 or 5 course meal with a special chosen glass of wine per course.
Take your time to eat and enjoy the atmosphere that has been created and the very professional hosts. Keep in mind that you are in Amsterdam and your are in a Historical Monument so make the most of it!
It would be a great pity if you missed this so book in advance - A must!
Would be back tomorrow .......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bronwyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Bronwyn69,

We were pleased to have welcomed you in de Silveren Spiegel and we would like to thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated!
Cannot wait to having you again.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a business dinner with quiet a large group of people on the first floor of these two small houses. Going up there was a challenge using narrow and steep stairs (but that was part of the fun!). Once on the first floor you realise how old is the building by the fact it is not flat at all: you feel like being on a sailing boat! Food was delicious, and the maitre d'hotel told us various stories about the building and its history. Very entertaining.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleAlmere, Manager at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Bruno L,

All the team is much obliged for your excellent review.
We are striving for feedback like yours and we are so pleased that you appreciated our efforts to provide you memorable experience for a Large Business Group.
For us it is a great pleasure providing our Dutch Experience
We hope we would meet your high expectations if we had the chance to be welcoming you again.

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff



Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This place is directly across the street from the Renaissance Hotel and it is well worth a visit. We booked a table for 6 the day before and were very glad we did because it became packed, which legitimized our choice. The history of the restaurant I see has been detailed in other posts. It is charming and historic. The food was excellent and the service was superb. This place is about 3 blocks from Central Station so it is easy to find and worth the visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gunflint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleAlmere, Eigenaar at De Silveren Spiegel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear gunflint1,

Thank you for your excellent review and we are really happy that we have met your expectations and you had an enjoyable time with us.
We hope we will have the chance to welcoming you again next time you are in Amsterdam

Dutch Regards,
Family van der Hoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Silveren Spiegel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De Silveren Spiegel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing